We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, unexpected quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal William

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal William to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal William
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   360 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #33 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great find, unexpected quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We picked this hotel by accident (don't ask) but we were pleasantly surprised by how upscale it was, at Choice Hotels prices. Great value for money in an expensive town! Parking truly sucked, though: they have a parking garage across the street, and no service to handle your bags. Do the math. and you have to pay for that, to add injury to insult. That part needs some attention. The interior of the hotel and the rooms are flawless, though. We had a room with a jacuzzi bath. One night only, but a good one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    71
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
35
70
10
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The hotel is located in downtown Quebec, close to many restaurants and shopping. It's a bit of a walk to the old part of the city; be prepared to climb quite a hill. (The sidewalk up the hill is very slippery in winter; look for the stairs going up the hill. They are cleared regularly.)

The hotel itself is very comfortable. My room was cozy and quiet. Service was excellent. I always like maids who don't rap but observe to learn when rooms will be available for cleaning, as these did. The front desk people helped with everything I needed,

Free breakfast is continental, served in the restaurant. For a very nominal extra charge, one can get a cooked hot breakfast. Mine came very prettily arranged every morning.

Everyone at the hotel speaks English, but were very glad to help me with my sketchy French.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The hotel is in an excellent location being close to the Old Town (about a 15 minute walk - up hill). The rooms are excellent with a great bathroom. It is very clean with very helpful staff. If you are driving they have underground, secure parking right across the street for $26 a day which is one of Quebecs best bargains. We booked on the hotels website and the rate was very reasonable. There are quite a few bistros or pubs within a couple of blocks. It has to one of the best value hotels in Quebec.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is a small hotel with decent size rooms and a pleasant atmosphere. It is in a great area to go out and walk at night. Plenty of places nearby to eat from a wide variety of choices. In the three nights we stayed there, we found the hotel to be quiet and peaceful, the staff charming and helpful, and all our needs met. They do have a restaurant on-site and we did eat there for one breakfast and a supper. Both were enjoyable. Parking was in an underground garage across the street, but you could stop in front of the hotel to check-in, unload or load the car.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

This is a comfortable and clean hotel. Good beds and shower. Breakfast is a bit ordinary but the service is good. Try not to stay near the soda machine as this can be noisy. Also if your room shares a wall with the gym you'll also get some noise from the Lycra brigade when they start at 7am. Having said that it was good value and the late 80's decor was quite retro.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid- Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This place is a jewel. It is NOT in Vieux Quebec, but about a 20 minute walk -- uphill, but safe and well lighted. The hotel staff is wonderful. This is a small boutique hotel with only 44 rooms. The rooms are wonderful, clean, a deluxe bathroom that's almost roomy. Fluffy towels and nice bath amenities. A continental breakfast is included, but you can upgrade to a much large, made to order breakfast for $3 per person more. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We even took a city bus tour and were promptly pick up at the front door.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms were very nice. Our faced the street --#308 and we heard little noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

We've stayed for one night in this hotel cause there was nothing else availiable in the city.The location is ok and rooms are nice and big. But opposite to our room there was a room full of kids having a party. It was noisy all the time and I called the reception to complain,but they didn't care. So we couldn't sleep at all,and other people as well,were knocking and shouting the whole night trying to stop the party. The staff didn't even apologize the next day,the said it's not their problem. Never had this kind of rude service in Quebec before!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Royal William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal William

Address: 360 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#32 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal William 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Choice Canada, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Royal William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal William Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.