We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a tour of the chambers in Parlement & have lunch at their restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Parlementaire

La Parlementaire
1045 Rue Des Parliamentaires, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
418-643-6640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 1,171 Restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Take a tour of the chambers in Parlement & have lunch at their restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton across from th Parlement & had intended to eat lunch at the restaurant within in the building. We had talked to the hotel concierge & he had also recommended it, but suggested that we not wear shorts or anything very casual.
My wife & I walked over to the Parlement building to eat breakfast at the Parlementair restaurant & found that, contrary to the writeup in our tourist book, that they do not serve breakfast. However, the timing was great since we were 5 minutes away from the next tour of the government chambers which was right before lunch time. We took the tour which was quick, but interesting to see where Quebec's government conducts it business. Our son walked over from the hotel & we had lunch. The dining room is actually a separate building built within the open square of the Parlement building. It is pretty formal so we were glad we were not in shorts.
For lunch, our son had a game meat appetizer as well as potato leek soup. I had the same soup which was very good & an appropriate warming food for a rainy day. My wife had a sald that she enjoyed.
As you might expect, service was formal, but satisfactory.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Superb and affordable restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This wonderful restaurant, open for breakfast and lunch in summer, is at other times, the restaurant of the Quebec members of the National Assembly. The entry is subject to security checks but once through security, you enter a world of linen tablecloths, polished cutlery, monogrammed crockery. quiet comfortable surroundings, efficient liveried wait staff, and of course a stunningly beautiful dining room
The menu was relatively restricted about 5 to 8 main dishes, but every meal was presented with distinction. Local (Quebec) provisions are used wherever possible. After a well executed pea soup (where else but in Quebec?) I took the veal liver. It was perfectly prepared and served excellent potato purée and also a carrot purée. My wife took the vegetable soup and the smoked trout and a glass of the house wine. We finished with coffee, which again was to our taste.
The meals are on a Table d'Hôte basis and were extremely good value when compared with other restaurants in the city. Our meal including tax and tip cost $75.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“worth of visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The service was really good. The food is not bad.
I ordered the vegetable soup, pork and the crepe with maple syrup and caramel.
The vegetable soup is average, the pork is ok but the vegetable side dish with the sauce is amazing and as well the crepe. The crepe is the second best i've tasted since the one i had in Bregtagne.
But the food wasn't the real reason we went to dine in the parliament, the real reason we went is for experiencing the ambiance of the dining hall.
We paid around 30 each for 3 plats and i think it totally worth it.
if you dont feel like waiting in line for a tourist-swarmed restaurant, then parliament could be a good choice to go.
And after the meal, you could attend the parliament free tour.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Mississippi
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Elegant ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Le Parlementaire offers an elegant dining experience. The dining hall is grand with its tall ceilings and beautiful moldings and trim work in calming blues, whites and golds. The staff were reserved yet friendly and helpful. The courses were served on lovely white china which had a dark blue band with gold fleur de lis and rimmed in gold.
Each meal comes with a small salad – a mixed green salad topped with chopped vegetables and served in a glass; I really liked the presentation of the salad – and a sweet treat – a flaky cookie with slivered almonds and chocolate drizzles. I ordered the mushroom stuffed chicken breast which was covered in cheese and served with roasted potato wedges and a puree of carrots, I believe. My husband ordered the steak frites and grilled shrimp and also received a larger salad with his lunch. The food was good, although the draw is really the atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

What a gorgeous building, each floor has a different shape window, and the crown on top is divine!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parlementaire also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to La Parlementaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Parlementaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.