We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Saint-Antoine

Save Saved
You added Auberge Saint-Antoine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“We Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We loved it here. This small, luxury hotel is in the ideal location for us... not smack in the middle of the tourist zone, but within easy walking distance to everything. Auberge Saint-Antoine is located in Vieux-Port, right beside Vieux-Quebec but closer to the water. We did the obligatory walk through of Chateau Frontenac a couple of times, and definitely felt that we had made a better choice of places to stay.

The hotel itself is beautiful... very well done... nice mix of the old and new, with many exhibits of artifacts from the digging when the hotel and restaurant and hotel were constructed. These are nicely presented in back-lit, wall mounted cases... and fit nicely the overall modern style of the hotel.

We followed the guidance of other Trip Advisors and reserved a room with a terrace. I also requested a view of the St. Lawrence River so we could sit and watch the occasional freighter go by. We got both a terrace and river view in Room 604, on the top floor of the building (also good for us). The room had a gas fireplace, which we actually used one rainy evening in late August (!), heated tile floor in the bathroom, a rainfall shower head, separate bathtub, flatscreen TV, a hidden fold-down ironing board, bathrobes, slippers, etc. - very nicely furnished. Maybe a bit small for two, but we managed nicely. I loved the terrace... although ours was separated by a skimpy partition from the terrace for the adjacent room, which might have been a little awkward if they had ever been out on their deck.

The staff was all very nice and helpful except for one older woman who, unfortunately, was usually at the concierge desk on the two weekdays we were there. We frankly felt like we were bothering her. That was the ONLY flaw in the hotel in my opinion. Turndown service was done every night, unlike some places we've stayed, and well done - including personalized weather forecasts for the next day left on the bed. Housekeeping in general was accommodating and competent.

There's a nice comfortable bar area near the lobby, also with fireplaces. We ate a splurge dinner at Panache - expensive, but good food and relaxed, pleasant service. Since it's difficult to get my wife started in the mornings, we also had room service for breakfast most days... also from Panache, I believe... crepes, lots of fruit, cappucino, etc. Good stuff, albeit pricey.

Two suggestions: If you have a rental car, go to Parc de la Chute-Montmorency and see the waterfall, but then continue on to Canyon Ste-Anne for a prettier, more interesting waterfall in a forested area. Second, go see the Image Mill. It sounds gimmicky, but it's really spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    795
    93
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
124
570
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Second time staying here. A truly great hotel. Comfortable rooms with amazing bathrooms. The rooms are all different. The first one we were given felt a little small for us and our teenage son, but the second was perfect. If you stay over on a Wednesday night, they have a cocktail reception with the owner, which was not as well publicized as on our previous stay--so ask about it.

Breakfast on the outdoor terrace of Panache restaurant is glorious in good weather. The food is fresh and lovingly prepared. I've never stayed at the Frontenac, but would never dream of staying anywhere else in Quebec city than Auberge Saint-Antoine

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Auberge Saint-Antoine is located at the corner of rue Saint-Antoine and rue Saint Pierre in the heart of Vieux (Old) Quebec. It is near the harbour where you can watch the cruise ships come and go. This auberge is a Relais & Chateau, making it one of the top hotels in the world for its service, charm, ambiance and attention to detail.

The auberge is located over part of the old city wall and some of the buildings that were destroyed during a seige when the British eventually forced the French to surrender the city. As a result, you will find many artifacts throughout the auberge. These items were rescued during the excavation and put on display everywhere you turn.

Each room is modern within this landmark auberge, but different. So make sure you explain what you are looking for when booking, be it a room with a queen-size bed and a small terrasse, or a larger room with a king-size bed. Do you want a view of the harbour or the city? The auberge also has in-door valet parking at $23/day. Check in is 4:00pm and check out is 12:00 noon.

The Panache restaurant occupies one of the two buildings making up Auberge Saint-Antoine. ("Panache" means "antlers"). The food was excellent and so well presented, but you've got to make dinner reservations early or you'll miss out on a wonderful dining experience! Panache is open for breakfast every morning and you can simply charge the meals to your room.

As for dining in other places, we found the concierge service very helpful. There are so many great restaurants within a very short walk from the auberge, but again, book early!

Don't bother trying "Initials" Restaurant around the corner from the auberge. Although it is a "Relais Gourmand", it had all the ambiance of a funeral parlor and the food was not memorable.

You must try a bistro called "Echaudee", meaning "burnt"... this bistro is within a very short walk from the auberge. The atmosphere and food made us believe that we were transported to France.

We also highly recommend "aux Anciens Canadiens" for lunch where you will be able to try real French food from Quebec. This restaurant is in a house built in 1675! It is located within a very short walk from Chateau Frontenac on rue Saint-Louis.

Over all you will find Quebec City (particularly) Vieux Quebec a beautiful and interesting place to visit with many shops, restaurants, bistros and art galleries. The people are friendly and will slip into English the moment they notice that you are having even the slightest bit of difficulty understanding French. The city is extremely clean (with very little, if any graffiti).

We were able to walk to every spot within Vieux Quebec, including the Citadel (with the help of the Funiculaire which is sort of a gondola on a track to get up and down the steep cliff near Chateau Frontenac). The cost was only $1.75 CDN per person each way.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I can't say enough wonderful adjectives about the Saint Antoine. I took my husband there as a surprise for his 65th birthday. We had never been to Quebec City..so I knew nothing about the area or it's hotels. From the moment we drove up to the hotel until the morning we left, it was a wonderful experience. Wish we hadn't had to leave. The staff are not only professional..more importantly..they are warm and gracious in all the ways they serve their guests. Our package included breakfast each morning in the Panache and dinner one evening...the food was so delicious! Our room..I COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW BEAUTIFUL AND SPECIAL!! It was room 322..the Jardin Suite. Wow..we were blessed and surprised...they have done a beautiful job in this room that was once the attic of a home that I think was built in the 1800's (?)..anyway..they kept the integrity of space w/the wide plank wood floors and the ceiling..and still have the modern amenities. I'm unable to give it justice..suffice it to say..it was a lovely suite that made it hard to leave it's beauty and go out to enjoy the sights and sounds and tastes of Quebec City. It's a great location!! We loved it...Thank you Saint-Antoine!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Terrific hotel in lower city......charming restoration with archeological finds encased throughout.....
Phenomenal restaurant and lovely staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Everything about this hotel was excellent -- wonderful staff, great location, teriific decor and amazing lounge areas and an outstanding restaurant (pricy for dinner, but reasonable for breakfast)-- with one exception. Our bath room had a very powerful musty smell presumbly caused by water overflowing from the jacuzzi.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Rooms were beautiful, well appointed, and relatively large (stayed in a Luxe room; 411). Bathrooms were huge with very nice soaking oversized tub and separate rain shower. The gym was more than adequate with new machines which were well maintained. Not a single complaint all weekend. To top it off, when the cap told the hotel it would take over 2 hours to get to the airport because of traffic (New France Festival clogging up the roads) the bellhop drove us to the airport in the hotel car (Honda Element) in less than 30 minutes taking backroads etc. Fantastic service!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Saint-Antoine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.