We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Quebec City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Saint-Antoine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Saint-Antoine to your Saves list
Auberge Saint-Antoine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel in Quebec City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Unless you like staying in an enormous hotel with a lobby not unlike a busy train station (the Chateau Frontenac) then your best choice for a romantic getaway would be the Auberge St. Antoine. It's rooms are spacious for a boutique hotel and the service and food (Panache is supposed to be the best restaurant in Quebec City) are as you would expect for a true luxury boutique hotel. It's in a particularly beautiful and convenient part of town (the Old Port) with complete access to both the old and the newer neighborhoods.

Room Tip: The best rooms have a view of the St. Lawrence River
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    109
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
141
650
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Auberge Saint-Antoine is truly a diamond in the rough. This elegant and lively small hotel is a wonderful retreat from the sea of tourists on the streets outside. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and well trained. The rooms are large and well appointed. The lobby bar is fun with excellent drinks and food. Panach, the hotel's signature restaurant is very good as well, but expensive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Our original room was very nice but did not have the view I had asked for. They were able to give me another room which turned out to be great. It was a little more money but worth it. The room was 007 the JamesBond suite excellent. Huge over the top with its own private entrance outside.
Overall it was exquisite. You must stay here.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We keep returning to this special hotel whenever we visit Quebec. During our recent visit, we were delighted to see that this is still the best hotel experience in the whole Province of Quebec. The welcome is simply superb. The entire staff is most friendly and eager to ensure that their guests are happy and comfortable. The rooms are ultra comfortable, beds are sooooo comfortable, everything is as it should be in a top notch hotel. The restaurant, Le Panache, is beautiful, the menu different and interesting, the food delicious and nicely presented and the service is as good as it gets in quality restaurants, The location is unbeatable, so close to all of the interesting sights and activity yet the hotel itself is quiet and relaxing. Breakfast outside in the morning is memorable, from the freshly squeezed juices to the main courses. This hotel, a Relais & Chateau, ranks among the very best in the country. Don't miss the opportunity to experience this fabulous spot.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Great rooms and service too. Weekend jazz at the bar and berries was terrific. Restaurant is a bit overpriced and probably not worth it for dinner. Breakfast is a better bet. Concierge were extremely helpful in planning our itinerary. Near trendy shops and eateries as well as cruise boat and ferry to Levis

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville,Ontario Can
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed four nights recently to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Mentioned that to the hotel and expected they might welcome us with something celebratory but nothing. Oh well…on to the room. This is one of the most expensive hotels in Quebec City. You would therefore expect to enjoy impeccable service and luxurious accommodation. Well, our room had a sitting area and the coffee table had seen better days. Scratched and old and tired and not what one would expect in a five star hotel. The double sinks were chipped and scratched as well. Our shower head broke the first time we used it. All these things can be overlooked if perhaps the price was much much lower but when you are paying these prices, one demands better. The good things about the hotel: An ironing board which pulls out of the closet. Noir bath products, a very long counter to put all those things you gather while travelling, two comfy chairs and a sofa, comfy bed, lots of big fluffy towels in the bathroom and the heated floor is nice. (but why hang the bathrobes less than two feet from the toilet! Euwwww! ) We like that you can press a button and notify the cleaning staff to either clean the room or leave it. No more hanging signs on the doors. While we were there we asked to take out the bikes supplied to guests. There are only TWO bikes for all the guests so it's just by luck they were available. Forget the bikes unless you are 90 and want to slowly bike the cobbled streets. One of the seats was broken and could not be repaired and we were told they were hoping to get it fixed "soon." That too is unacceptable. Get some good bikers for cyclists and ensure there are more than two. We appeared to have won the lottery when we found them available but disappointed guests who wanted bikes were left to rent them down the street. We recommend doing just that as these bikes were inappropriate for a ride to Montmorency Falls for sure! Our check in was not good; we came early and were told they'd call us in a half hour to get into the room. No call; after two hours we simply went to the hotel and by then got checked in but only after repeating everything we'd already done with the first check in clerk. A second round of the same questions when all we wanted to do was get into the room and start exploring this amazing city. Dinner at Panache Rest was nice however our bill for two people without a bottle of wine came to $294.00. Yikes. It is a beautiful romantic restaurant attached to the hotel so it is very convenient however we found many other great restaurants for less money just around the corner. Our view was of the museum so little light and nothing to look at. We were disappointed as when making the reservation we mentioned our anniversary and asked for a nice room. The cleaning staff wasn't great; didn't vacuum our carpet and left dirt on the bathroom counter. Once again I have to say that I had wanted to visit this hotel for years and finally had the opportunity but was underwhelmed. If the price had been half what we paid I might have been more content however at these inflated prices one wants luxury, great service and facilities. We didn't find that and would likely not come back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with relics of old Quebec displayed in museum style throughout the building. The staff was extremely helpful, polite, friendly and it seems like everyone we met spoke impeccable English. There's a lovely bar downstairs and the owners were there for a night of wine and cocktails-free to the guests. There is also a first class restaurant connected to the hotel which makes eating meals so easy. The hotel is in a perfect locations for exploring old Quebec and is also an easy walk to get to the upper and newer Quebec.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony and a view of the river. I wouldn't worry about that because your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Splendia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Venere, Otel, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Saint-Antoine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.