We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel is a Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Saint-Antoine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Saint-Antoine to your Saves list
Auberge Saint-Antoine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This Hotel is a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for a stay in this vibrant city. The modern building is beautifully designed in boutique style. It was built on an archeological site next to the museum of Civilisation and on the walls many of the artefacts are displayed with great artistry. The excellent Panache restaurant is in located in an adjoining restored historic building with a nice terrace for summer dining.

The Price family who own the hotel have put considerable thought into the design of the bedrooms and bathrooms. The beds are very comfortable, the linen good quality and there are many other useful features including heated bathroom floors. The service is faultless and everyone has a cheerful genuinely friendly attitude. We will certainly return and we love everything about this part of the lower town.

Room Tip: Try to have a room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    110
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
141
660
23
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This charming boutique hotel is ideally located in the lower part of Old Quebec and was walking distance from the entirety of the historic district of the city. We did not set foot in a vehicle except to get from and to the airport. The room was immaculate and the bed as comfortable as any we've experienced. The closet setup was extremely functional, with two entirely separate compartments as well as adequate drawer space. The room was very user friendly, including an electronic system to request or discourage housekeeping service, and separate pod coffeemaker and electric kettle. The espresso from the pods was excellent.

The hotel itself is situated on an archeological site and there are numerous artifacts tastefully displayed in lighted compartments throughout the hotel and even in the bedroom side tables, adding to the charm.

The staff was friendly and always helpful, especially the concierges. We were left wanting for nothing. The main restaurant, Panache, was pricey, but superb. We had one dinner there and then sampled other fare in the area, but none surpassed the quality. Breakfasts were sumptuous and a reasonable value. They were very accommodating about dietary restrictions and provided not only gluten free bread, but gluten free french toast.

A couple of tourist tips: When you go to the upper city, walking is preferable to the funicular. There is lots to see on the way up the street that you would miss on the funicular, which is a bit claustrophobic. It's not a bad climb if you take it slowly. The Museum of Civilization across the street from the hotel is vast and fascinating. We left it to the last day and had only a couple of hours. It's definitely worth at least half a day and could easily justify a day. Lots of history, both of Canada.Quebec and of other parts of the world. A 3-4 day stay would be ideal for this location.

Room Tip: We had the "Room of Dreams" on the second floor, which looked out onto the upper patio of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My amazing boyfriend sure knows how to choose hotels. If you want a hotel of Disneyworld proportions, then please go to the 600 room Fairmont (which is a must see while you are there) but if you want exquisite service, impeccable breakfasts and the quiet elegance of a well run hotel, look no further.
-beautifully appointed rooms
-Terrace room leading outside where we could sip champagne and watch a woman across the way try to catch her escape artist cat.
-great massages and nice fitness center, although you will be walking everywhere
-best proximity to restaurants and bars
-HUGE soaking tub
-Panache has fabulous breakfasts - don't miss it!

The concierge service was incredible and thank goodness we biked every day or we would have gained weight - the restaurants in town were wonderful.

Room Tip: Terrace room was a bonus to enjoy the crisp air
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was treated to a wonderful weekend in Quebec City and we opted for Auberge Saint-Antoine for this visit. We were not disappointed! The rooms are not large, but they are extremely functional. Every inch of space is designed to offer maximum usefulness. The bed is comfortable, the linens are fresh and clean. The washroom offers plenty of space by the sink to store your products.
The staff are attentive and professional. Several artefacts are displayed throughout the hotel, giving a peak at what was unearthed during construction of the addition to this hotel.
The Café Artefacts is a cozy space with plenty of nooks to sit, chat, enjoy a fresh cocktail and, on weekends, enjoy some live jazz.
Valet service is offered for the hotel's parking lot. Staff here are also friendly and helpful.
There is also a spa in the hotel where guests can work out in the gym, get a massage, or even enjoy some yoga.
The hotel is just 2 minutes walk from the popular Quartier Petit Champlain in the Old City and, depending on the room, can offer some view of the river.
The rates are on the high side, but this is a hotel you go to to splurge on yourself.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We spent 4 nights here in July 2014. Great location for walking to the waterfront, Petit Champlain, the old city. Despite being so close to so many great places to shop and dine, it is a very quiet hotel. We had a terrace room overlooking the river and it was worth the extra cost even if it did rain 2 of the 4 days we were there. The room was spacious, clean and pretty. Two minor complaints - the pillows were too firm for us and there were only 2 small drawers to store our clothes. The remaining drawers were taken up by the room safe, extra pillows (also firm) and extra blankets. And the service in the hotel lobby bar is somewhat slow. But we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Panache Restaurant in the hotel is very pretty and cozy and the food quite good. After a long day of walking and shopping, the hotel was an oasis of graciousness and elegance. The owners (who are from Texas!) had a lovely cocktail reception for guests on Wed night - very nice!

Room Tip: A terrace room on the 5th floor overlooking the river is divine. There is nothing obstructing your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

On our second trip to Quebec in the past two years, we've stayed at Auberge Saint-Antoine both times. Fell in love in 2012, and continued the love affair in 2014. Truly a gem in this elegant city. Our cozy, beautiful suite, the meals in Panache and the breakfasts were outstanding. Service was over the top. Would return just to stay in this hotel again...as well as to play in Quebec, of course!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetersville, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had fallen in love with this city two years ago. Loved the quaint hotel with breakfast basket hanging on the door each morning the personnel, location etc.
But then---- we enter Saint Antoine's and the past was, well; the past. From the gorgeous museum/artifact decor to the service and food in both the restaurant , Panache and the lobby area bar/grill ( with live entertainment ), we were swept along on a wave of incredible service and amenities.
I am on a diet that would make most chefs moan, especially French ones. Raw juice, veggies, no sauces, breads, dairy or meats. No problem. They would respond with a smile and say, "Excellent!" with each request or suggestion.
The rooms are luxurious, though not palatial. With a touch of a button and maybe a two minute wait, a maid would arrive at the door ready to serve. The lovely con siege assisted us with excursions and identifying eateries that would be appropriate for our needs. Amazing experience from registering to check out.

Room Tip: Both of the parties we travelled with were more than satisfied with their rooms and not having toure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Saint-Antoine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.