We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel at Foot of the Hills.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Saint-Antoine

Save Saved
You added Auberge Saint-Antoine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
Garrison, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel at Foot of the Hills.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very nice, modern design and location near the water and close to some great restaurants and bars. If you like to walk, this place is great because everything is up hill or several blocks away. We really enjoyed our stay here for it's nice proximity to major attractions by foot.

We traveled well before April of 2012, but they don't offer early dates.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nice views of the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    105
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
137
628
23
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haliburton ontario
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Have you ever imagined that you could design a hotel room to be everything you ever imagined? well someone here did just that! I warn you know this is going to be a very in depth review. we were here because of a business meeting for three days... we were given room 324 " the Captions "room...I am not sure really where to begin..with the room or with the service of the hotel staff...our room and I so advise anyone looking for that "unique" experience to look no further than room 324..We had two bathrooms plus a separate shower room...one bathroom was designed with the absolute luxury of a Stirling silver claw soak-er tub and plush bathrooms and slippers and towels with all the finest creams and soaps at your disposal in mind...just run your bath and slip into a world of luxury at your finger tips...the second bathroom is more of a pick up a newspaper and do your "business" so to speak...the Shower room was designed to make you feel like you had a rainforest at your finger tips...amazing!.. We had 30 foot cathedral ceilings and cozy nooks for cuddling up and watching Tv or reading a book. There wasn't a detail missed in the designing of this incredible room.. the light fixtures were beautiful and were so antique in their design...Our bed was tucked into a beautiful alcove with a Tv and telephone and Bose stereo for our enjoyment...in the evening while you were enjoying the 1st class dining experience the room service people where making your room to be as inviting as you could possibly imagine...they would come in and turn on your amazing stereo with a c/d of Dianne Krall or another easy listening composer .. There was nothing over looked in this room .. we cant wait to come back here and experience what Quebec has to offer..We went to so many art galleries and leanred so much about the history and passion of the Quebec people..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Listen, the quality of this hotel--a concatenation of 3 different buildings--is very high. Not as high as the world's finest, but high. Small rooms, outdated fixtures, sticky pocket doors, sexy arched windows that leak air...these are realities. But the staff is young, enthusiastic and extremely helpful, the feeling is a mixture of kitsch and old world, the location great and the restaurant (Panache) fantastic. At the heart of the Old Port in Canada's most European City and North America's most romantic, this gem of a hotel is a great weekend get-away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cart_Toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Travelled with our kids aged 11 and 9 and we all loved it. Perhaps the nicest hotel that we have ever stayed at and we've been to many. No attention to detail is lacking. Breakfast was included in our room price and it was fabulous. Beautiful lobby bar with inventive drinks and irresistable desserts. Central location. Excellent concierge. Greta value for money - you would easily pay 2 - 3 times this rate for comparable rooms in other cities.

Would probably book adjoining rooms next time if travelling with this kids again. The 2 beds in our room were a little tight to share - we prefer king sized beds.

Thisnwas a great family vacation and we look forward to returning again - with or withoutnthe kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

In the true spirit of a Relais & Châteaux property, the Auberge in Quebec City's old port is beautiful. The way they've blended the old with the new, the artifacts embedded in the walls on display, it's definitely the nicest museum I've ever slept at :) Very cozy rooms, all amenities you'd expect from a hotel of this calibre are there, and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Do not hesitate to stay here!

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 301, great premium river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

What a great stay. The room was clean, comfortable, we loved the dimming lights and the heated floors. The spa services were great and although it was a bit pricey, it was worth the money. The location is extremely convenient. We walked everywhere and didn't need a car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at Auberge St-Antoine, the first about 5 years go. This time, I stayed 5 nights in a "Comfort" room.

On the positive side, the front desk staff and bellhops are very friendly, and the cleaning staff efficient, attentive, and effective (ie, the room was very clean and well-attended throughout my entire stay). The hotel itself is quite pretty, located in the old city of Quebec (yes, this means you'll be hiking it up the mountain if you want to head to the more commercial Haute Ville), has a few fireplaces in the public areas to lounge around in and read, and has really beautiful bathrooms in the rooms. It's also within a stone's throw of a few great restaurants (Il Matto not being one of those, for the record).

On the negative side, the room was cold (it wasn't terribly cold outside) despite turning up the heat, the sheets are VERY noisy - any sort of movement in the bed during the quiet hours was amplified, the bed far too soft, the pillows too high, the cafe staff seemingly oblivious to the idea of service, and, perhaps this is a one-off, but on my final night there, I was woken at 5:42 am by someone evidently dropping bowling balls in the suite above for about 10 minutes, followed a few hours later by earnest sawing and hammering. Who knows... your stay might feature a brand-new bowling alley!

Bottom line: I loved this place the first time I stayed. This time, I was disappointed by what I got for the price I paid (discounted as it was).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeSaint-Antoine, Public Relations Manager at Auberge Saint-Antoine, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Jeremy W.,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your input and are glad that you qualified our front desk staff and our bellhops very friendly and our housekeeping team efficient, attentive and the rooms very clean and well attended and that you enjoyed also our bathrooms.
We sincerely apologize for the poor service from one of our members that you encountered in our Café-Bar. We are having an ongoing training program and will sure emphasize on our standards of service.
Your comments about the room temperature are taken very seriously, since the comfort of our rooms is one of our most important goals. Our technical team will follow up on this matter.
The noise that you encountered on the last day of your stay was not because of a construction going on in our hotel, since there is no construction planned. The noise you have experienced must have had another origin.
Our goal is to make every guest feel valued and welcome. We are hoping that you will return to our beautiful city eventually. If this is the case, please contact me directly and I will personally take care of making your reservations.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Saint-Antoine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.