We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Saint-Antoine

Save Saved
You added Auberge Saint-Antoine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Enjoyed two nights at the Auberge Saint-Antoine at the beginning of Quebec's Carnivale. This charming hotel is located just steps from all of the great shops in the port area of Quebec City. A quick funicular ride away is the upper town with its restaurants and the Frontenac. The service at the Saint-Antoine was attentive and friendly. The concierge and the other staff went out of their way with suggestions for restaurants and various reservations. I was a bit disappointed with the service in the bar area- very slow and disinterested despite the fact that it wasn't terribly busy. Service in the restaurant was excellent and the atmosphere was lovely. Our room was spacious and comfortable with great amenities. The hotel is a nice mix of contemporary and traditional and I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    810
    94
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
125
581
22
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London W.8.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Winters in Quebec are harsh and long and I guess that the lobby of this hotel was designed to cope with the tramp of snowy boots. It is spacious and hard under foot and reminiscent of an airport check in. I can't imagine how this place manages to find itself under the Relais&Chateaux umbrella. Unless, of course, it is because of its restaurant 'Panache' which is absolutely excellent. We ate there on 3 occasions and would find it hard to believe that you can eat better in Quebec. Much is made of the artefacts found beneath the buildings and these have been interestingly and charmingly displayed throughout but I'm not sure that this makes up for shortcomings elsewhere in the running of this Auberge.

Interestingly, the atmosphere in 'Panache' is all that should be replicated in the rest of the hotel. Alas, it is not. Our bedroom was small and contained all the necessities but in the way of a Travel Lodge - only slightly more upmarket. One wall was taken up with a very silly, barely flickering, dark gas-log fire which did nothing to enhance anything. The carpet was so grubby that we were forced into those slippers that seem to be de rigeur in hotels now. Laundry was returned damp. Each day items were forgotten from our breakfast order. Our real disappointment though was with the bathroom. It had everything you need but was so designed that you simply did not want to spend any time in it. It felt like being in the sluice room of a hospital - echoing, tiled floor to ceiling, sliding doors that didn't quite fit, a ghastly wet-room/bathroom with a very odd and, frankly, almost dangerous arrangement of taps. We so wanted to love this place but definitely found it wanting. The staff were very pleasant and the concierge found us a very agreeable driver/guide to take us around called Alain, should you feel the need.

The only other pointer we would give is, that at all cost, avoid the furrier in the street behind the hotel. She is possibly the shirtiest woman in Canada! If you can deal with her, good for you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My review is odd because I have not yet stayed at Auberge Saint-Antoine. Using hotels.com, I booked a 3-day stay over the May long weekend. Just this morning, I received an email asking how my stay was, and immediately realized that there was a mistake. When booking online, I mistakenly selected February instead of May. The date had passed, and I of course expected that I had lost my money. A hotels.com employee contacted Auberge Saint-Antoine for me and obtained a FULL REFUND. Now that's off-the-charts customer service! Wow! I can't wait to stay in May and thank them in person! Thanks so much Auberge Saint-Antoine!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is amazing. Our room was comfortable, the bed was so soft, the bathroom was luxurious, the location is perfect, the restaurant is great, the lobby is beautiful, and the staff is superb. My boyfriend and I got stranded about 3-5 miles from the Quebec, and the hotel sent someone to help us. Within 10 minutes of our call, a wonderful hotel staff member came and picked us up, helped up with our bags, and was so helpful and kind. Then the hotel dealt with the car rental company and made sure that everything was handled adequately. And all of this was done with friendliness and kindness. This is the absolute best hotel in Quebec and one of the best in the world!

Room Tip: Any room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just happy to be back here! Feels like home. Even after 3 years... they remembered my favorite room! If you can afford it... no hesitation. Decor is still actual, artefacts are everywhere... A true inspiration for any creative mind

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After reviewing several hotels in the Old City and Lower Town, this hotel was exactly what we were looking for. It lived up to the excellent rating as reviewed by other guests. There was alot to do around the hotel including a short walk to cafes, market place, river areas, train station and other interesting, tucked away streets and small shops. The Old City is a walk up the hill, but everywhere is a walk up a hill. The Concierge service was superb, gave us detailed directions to places, bus schedules, called for reservations, and answered every other question we had. They also offered personal places to visit (i.e. favorite bars, cafes, areas of interest, etc.). The hotel also accommodated us as we were two days late leaving for our trip. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone that travels to Quebec City and does not want a typical tourist type hotel. Thanks for the staff for everything.

Brian

Lancaster, PA

Room Tip: Choose the room on the fifth floor that overlooks the St Lawrence River. You will NOT be disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very well located with a lovely decor, would compare to a Kimpton Hotel rather than a Relais & Chateaux. Service was not up to Relais & Chateaux standards, great bedroom and bathroom.
service was very slow in the bar, the concierge could not get any help from the staff to show me how to use the yoga studio DVD player. There was no help with carrying our luggage from the taxi up the stairs to the front desk in the snow. Very pleasant and smiling housekeepers. Extremely long service in the Panache restaurant. Excellent and creative food but sinister ambiance, no fun in this dining room! I rather recommend the casual and friendly bistro accros the street with excellent menus for 1/3 of Panache's price. room was overlooking the street and we could not sleep for 2 nights due to the snow plows removing snow from thst street, ask for a courtyard room!

Room Tip: ask for room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Saint-Antoine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.