We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Au Bois Joli

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Au Bois Joli
Save
You added Au Bois Joli to your Saves list
2065 Rue Du Bois Joli, Quebec City, Quebec G1T 1E4, Canada (Sillery)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 124 Quebec City B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a wonderful thanksgiving week-end Au Bois Joli! Very cosy and welcoming! Close enough from the old town by bus. Our hosts were very helpful and even had bus passes available! The good was simply delicious! We recommend the Downtown Abbey room for its amazing ensuite bathroom! Go for it!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giteauboisjoli, Manager at Au Bois Joli, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We thank you for your appreciation notice about your stay at Au Bois Joli. With no identification, and no explanation about your notes, it is difficult for us to correct what has not been up to your expectations. We would like to encourage you to write an e-mail to us because we take every comment on Tripadvisor very seriously. If there has been a deception, we would certainly make the necessary changes accordingly. Jean and Georgette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
91
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed four days in this B&B. It is definitely the nicest B&B we have stayed in recently. The hosts Jean and Georgette will do everything they can to make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. They provided lots of useful information on what to see and do during our stay, The breakfast is light, tasty and very well presented. The living room is beautifully decorated and the guest rooms are very nice, The B&B is located in a quiet residential area about 5 km from the center of QC. You can park your car on the street in front of the house. Bus #11 will take you to the center of QC in 15 minutes (Jean and Georgette can provide tickets). Avenue Maguire with many nice restaurants and shops is just a few minutes walk away. We would love to stay in this B&B again if we make another visit to QC,

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2 and #3. Room #2 has a queen-size bed and a large luxurious jacuzzi type bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giteauboisjoli, Manager at Au Bois Joli, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We thank you for your appreciation notice about your stay at Au Bois Joli. With no identification, and no explanation about your notes, it is difficult for us to correct what has not been up to your expectations. We would like to encourage you to write an e-mail to us because we take every comment on Tripadvisor very seriously. If there has been a deception, we would certainly make the necessary changes accordingly. Jean and Georgette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fantastic place and Jean and Georgette just made me feel at home from the time I walked in the door until 5 days later when I regretfully had to leave. Not being able to speak french I was a little nervous but both hosts spoke very good English and were very informative about places to eat, where to go on walks etc. I used the bus daily from their place...3 min walk to bus stop..to go to old Quebec City. It was so easy and I loved coming back to a very beautiful, very quiet neighbourhood that just put me at peace. The breakfast meals were exceptional with lots of variety and everyday I had a piece of the best maple syrup pie. They even wrapped a piece up for me for my wait at the airport on my way home. I stayed in room number 3 - green room - that was with 2 double beds and loved all the space, fantastic bathroom and was so lovely to have my windows open every night listening to the birds and quiet. The bed was really comfortable, high quality sheets and the whole room very clean. Nice to be able to control the room temperature.
Enjoyed the tea provided every night and just had a fantastic stay. Highly recommend this place to everyone. I am so bringing my friends and family back with me the next time I visit Quebec City.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giteauboisjoli, Owner at Au Bois Joli, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Some guests leave their own marks and reading your comment, we immediately remembered the good laughter as well as the enlivening of the atmosphere in the dining room each morning. What a pleasure we had during that week, one of the most wonderful of this ending busy season. Come again, and yes, bring along your friends and family! We would make sure to create great memories for you all. Thank you for all the joy you brought to Au Bois Joli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

After staying in 2 very good hotels in Montreal and Malbei, we arrived in Quebec for the last leg of our trip and stayed in Au Bois Joli. As soon as we arrived I loved the place and felt like home ( or the dream home I wish I had). It was the best and the most enjoble accomodation we had in this trip by far despite being the most economical one as well.
The hosts were most welcoming and trying their best to make sure their guests have a great time. Ofcouse the famous breakfast is out of this world. I haven't had such a great one even in 5 star hotels. It's 3 course with a fruit based starter, a different sort of omellette everyday as maincourse and cake or tart for desert.
The location is a very nice residential part of quebec, a few minutes walk to a street where there are restaurants and supermarkets. We tried the thai there, it was really good.
The old town is a 10 min drive from this area.
I definetely recommend Au Bois Joli if you are to visit Quebec.

Room Tip: 2 double beds in room 3, ideal for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Jean and Georgette are such gracious hosts and a very charming couple. They made sure that our stay was most comfortable and enjoyable. Georgette prepared the most amazing 3 course breakfasts and, like a good chef, presented each course with an explanation to the guests. Jean makes the best Maple Sugar Pie. Be sure to have a slice!

Jean was great at helping us navigate the city. His directions were very good, which made sightseeing very easy for us. J'adore Au Bois Joli, and I highly recommend it. We hope to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a wonderful three day stay at Au Bois Juli on August 27th through the 29th. Jean and Georgette were outstanding hosts, taking great care to provide us with delicious breakfasts, a room that was clean and of superior quality, and assistance to make sure our visit to Quebec City was most enjoyable. Jean made a special trip to get us a two day transportation pass that gave us unlimited rides on the buses, including the Ecolo bus in Old Town and bus route 80 that took us directly to Montmorency Falls from Place de Youville. We had to leave early the last day of our stay, and Georgette and Jean still specially prepared us their usual gourmet breakfast. On top of everything, the rates were very reasonable. Au Bois Joli is the best B&B we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in this fantastic gite in a lovely neighborhood very convenient to Quebec City. Our room was immaculate and stylish. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully prepared. We enjoyed the sitting room and deck for wine and cheese before dinner. Jean and Georgette are wonderful hosts and give great advice for touring options. It is an easy busy ride (#11) to Vieux Quebec City.Very nice restaurants on Maguire St. only a few minutes walk away. We highly recommend Au Bois Joli as an alternative to a hotel to anyone visiting Quebec City. Murphy and Ida, Brevard, NC

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Au Bois Joli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Bois Joli

Address: 2065 Rue Du Bois Joli, Quebec City, Quebec G1T 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Sillery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Bois Joli Inn B&B is well located, where you can enjoy the quietness you are looking for, just a step away from the heavy noise of the city. This beautifully decorated contemporary classic Inn sits in the heart of the most prized area of Quebec. Early coffee, full meal gourmet breakfast in a relaxed morning ambiance, itineraries that make sure you will not miss anything of the most unique european city in Canada, great restaurants at a 3-4 minute walk. Lovely, zen style romantic rooms with high quality beds, modern private bathrooms, Au Bois Joli has it all and you will not find such reasonable room rates with such high level of services. We welcome you with professionnalism, we make ourselves discreet, and we make sure to help you create what you expect of your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Au Bois Joli Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Bois Joli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.