We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The waiter in sweat pants should have been the giveaway” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Cache a Champlain

La Cache a Champlain
4, Rue du Petit-Champlain, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4H4 , Canada
418-694-4419
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #519 of 1,202 Restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Perth, Ontario
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The waiter in sweat pants should have been the giveaway”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

This was one of those moments when you're hungry and need food and you really don't want some variation of pasta/Italian. Particularly as you're in Quebec City and you want something different. The menu looked ok. Unfortunately we went for the Table d'Hote which included a bottle of extraordinarily mediocre wine. The french onion soup was incredibly salty, the entrees mediocre. The creme brulee was icy cold. No redemption here.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“positive surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We went there spontanely on a crowded Saturday evening. Although it was very full we immediately were brought to a table and served in a professional way. We ordered 2 menus: salade with smoked salmon, grilled salmon with vegetables, creme brulees and meat terrine, duck breast with vegetables, cheesecake - it was all very delicious!

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Edible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We stopped her for a quick bite to eat and felt that we wasted one of our meals in Quebec City. It has a great location and the waiter was friendly but with so many restaurants to choose from we regretted our decision. My girlfriend's poutine arrived cold and my chicken was overcooked and tasted like it had been sitting in an oven all day.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok food, Ok service, Ok prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

This place is fine for a lunch pit stop. Wouldn't choose it for evening meal but to take a break from walking have a light lunch and a drink it was fine

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Great location with an excellent patio view. But the service was terribly slow and the food was nothing to brag about, especially for the price point. If you need a place to rest and have two hours to kill, go for it. Bring your patience with you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cache a Champlain also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to La Cache a Champlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cache a Champlain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.