We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Voyageur

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Voyageur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Voyageur
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2250 Boulevard Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1J 1Y2, Canada (Maizerets)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 126 Quebec City B&B and Inns
London, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Check in and out went very smoothly. Front desk staff went out of their way with a smile to accommodate our requests throughout our stay with them. The hotel is about an 8 minute drive from the main action of downtown but was great for us, wanting a quieter spot to lay our heads.
All the staff identified that we did not speak any french at all and immediately switched over to english which was very refreshing as we had encountered a few restaurants that actually dismissed our questions to accommodate french speaking people and then come back to us when we had to ask a second time. I found this very rude.
Please note that this hotel has no elevators for anyone needing one, but for those capable to go up just one flight of stairs to the rooms, we found it not a problem at all.
The complimentary breakfast was down a flight of stairs from the main level and was satisfactory for a continental breakfast that is included in the room price.
Beds were ok, not being as comfortable as our last hotel but the room and bathroom smelled clean and was clean upon entering. We actually liked the wood floors instead of carpet.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Quebec that wants a reasonable price for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    90
    58
    13
    14
See reviews for
47
38
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, wanted something a bit cheaper with car park and breakfast. The rooms were clean and beds comfy, I like the wooden floors in the room. Breakfast was nice with a mix of things. The pool looked good but didn't try it out. It was a 15 minute drive into the old town. There is a grocery store and a few restaurants fairly close by. Only complaint no playpen for the little ones to sleep in

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, NB
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hello. We stayed at this hotel in June, 2013. The outside looked a little to be desired, but it was clean inside. Only real complaint (which others mentioned) is that there is no elevator. So we had to lug our luggage, etc upstairs. We were nicely surprised at the room, with the sliding privacy screen between the two beds. The room itself felt a little dark and dated. The bed felt lower at the head of the bed, so we requested extra pillows and that fixed the issue.

The continental breakfast was very basic, with breads and cereals. Hoping for a waffle machine, but no luck! We went to the pool, but it was jammed pack so we didn't stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Greta hotel for the cost. The staff are very friendly and helpful Hotel smelt a little like smoke on the first day, but after that didnt smell it anymore. Includes a continental breakfast that consists of fruits, toast, cereal, nothing spectacular but since free it was good. The inside pool was nice and there was a male and female changing room. Rooms had 2 beds, 2 tvs- 2 rooms for the price of one!, and were cleaned every day by the maids. There is the 800 bus that takes you to Old Quebec, and buses are like every 2 secs so it was not a long wait if we missed one.

Only complaints are that the hotel room key did not work all the time and there is no elevator, so you have to carry your luggage up to the 2nd floor, which is annoying, and the wifi didn't work for the first 2 days then worked like magic after that.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is a bar. But, there is a AMAZING Chinese restaurant right across the street, better than you have ever had anywhere. Also, there is a Burger king and Tim Hortons just up the road and a MAXI for groceries.

Would definelty come back if I am ever in Quebec City again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My sister and I travelled to Quebec City and we were on a budget and found this to be one of the cheaper hotels. It's further away from the city and so it was nice and quiet. There's a bus that's about a 2 minute walk that takes you straight into the city.

Our first impression of the hotel wasn't to great but for the price we couldn't complain. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful with any questions we had. It's an older hotel but it's kept very clean. There's no elevator which was hard bringing our suitcases up to the second floor. Our room was spacious and clean, with two beds, two t.v.'s, a mini fridge and a bathroom. Our beds and t.v.'s were separated by sliding doors. One room had hardwood and the other carpet. The beds were old but comfortable enough.

The pool was nice enough but shallow and had a men's and ladies changing room with showers and lockers. Continental breakfast with juice, coffee and tea, cereal, bagels, toast, mini croissants, fruit and muffins was great to fill up on before heading out for the day!

There's not much around in terms of restaurants. We found a Tim Horton's and Burger King about 10 minutes away. I'd stay there again if in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

There's nothing particularly wrong about this hotel and the price paid is justified.

On the other hand it only suits to people with a car or those who don't mind travelling by public transport spending 3$ for each ride. It takes up to 50 min to reach the old town on foot and it's not the most exciting walk that you could expect.

The room was spotless and I loved that, but it felt very dark inside even on a sunny day. They decided not to hang normal day curtains and anyone can observe you from the outside if they wish. I felt unfomfortable with that staying on the ground floor with a street view.

The furniture of a good quality and has a fresh look.

Wi fi did not work at all on the first day, but then it got started somehow.

15 min to the old town and railway station by bus N800, 20 min to Montmorency Falls opposite direction.

Breakfast really basic - toast, orange juice, coffee, muffins, jam, some fruits, but it's OK keeping in mind that you would get nothing for free in most of the places.

I wish the towels were larger.

The inside pool looked good, but we did not use it.

As I said, I'd only return there if I was driving, not otherwise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for the Green Day show at the Colisee Pepsi ( 10$ taxi ride ) .... I got almost half price on a discount web site !! I got this 2 full size bed, private bathroom, mini fridge, flat screen tv room for 59$... Oh yeah! A couple of days later I wanted to book for a second night and spend the week end in Quebec city ..... 245$ for the same room.... The hotel was sold out.... No I did not book the second night :0

Very clean room, nice furniture, nice tv, nice ..... Everything !!!

And no carpet on the floor...all wood floors.... Nice !!

I could not say that the bed was old, but it was cheap.. You could feel some springs in your back... But it did not prevent us from a good night of sleep.


5-10 minute drive to old Quebec....

Restaurant offers standard continental breakfast ( included )

Restaurant is CLOSED for all other meals :(

They do have a good choice of take out / delivery menu

The bar is...well.... About 12 slot machines, 3 small and ugly tables.. No bar snacks... Ok 2 generic brand bags of chips were available $. We sat at the bar, drank our beer and went to our room.... NOT a bar to hang at !!

I would return at the same low price, but for 245$....get the Chateau Frontenac hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Voyageur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Voyageur

Address: 2250 Boulevard Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1J 1Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Maizerets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Voyageur 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Voyageur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Voyageur Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Voyageur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.