We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely renovated, in the middle of nowhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Suites Normandin

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Suites Normandin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel & Suites Normandin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4700, Boul. Pierre-Bertrand, Quebec City, Quebec G2J 1A4, Canada (Neufchatel Est - Lebourgneuf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nicely renovated, in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Located next to a major highway in the suburban wasteland of car dealerships, big-box stores and fast food outlets, Normandin is convenient if you need to spend a night while on your way someplace else. There is literally no way to walk around since roads do not have sidewalks. The hotel has recently received a hip makeover, with new carpets in muted tones of green and grey, modern furniture, lighting and bathroom fixtures. This means rain shower but no bathtub curtain. You get a glass partition instead which doesn't go all the way, resulting in some water on the floor. Beds and linens looked new and were comfy. Front desk staff was helpful, spoke good English (not a given in Quebec City), and let us leave our disabled vehicle in the parking lot for one extra night with no issues. Generous breakfast buffet is included, and the gym is small but decent (alas, no swimming pool). Wireless Internet was fast and convenient. There is eponymous restaurant upfront serving unimaginative North American fare at modest prices but with little else going for it. The only issue we had was with window condensation, which was far more than could be expected, with water pooling on the window sill (it was still -12C outside at night). Overall: Nice refresh, but unremarkable otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, Director of Sales at Hotel & Suites Normandin, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest,

First, thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. By choosing to stay at the Hotel & Suites Normandin, travelers benefits of a great location next to main highways. We are only 10 minutes away from downtown, but also close to the shopping centre Les Galeries de la Capitale. As you mentioned, we had major renovations recently in our rooms but also in the public areas.The final product is the result of a long reflection that enables us to be a leader in terms of value for money in our category of accommodation. We are fortunate to count on friendly staff which is dedicated in helping our guests leaving the most pleasant experience. I am glad that you appreciated our breakfast formula which offers great variety of products compared to usual North American continental breakfast.

We hope we will welcome you back at Hôtel & Suites Normandin soon!

Sales and marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    80
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
79
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great find! Reasonably priced hotel with spacious rooms, suites and excellent breakfast. Well located for touring Quebec City (about 10 minutes by car from the center of the historic area) and convenient to major roadways. Very "French" Staff speaks English but most of the other guests were from Quebec.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, Director of Sales at Hotel & Suites Normandin, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. As you mentionned, by choosing to stay at the Hotel & Suites Normandin, travelers benefits of a great location. We are only 10 minutes away from downtown, but also close to the shopping centre Les Galeries de la Capitale and the Aquarium de Québec. We have our guest’s best interest in heart, that is why we make sure that our staff are able to answer our English customers as good as they do for our French guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hotel & Suites Normandin!

Sales and marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

You wouldn't believe the inside of the building if you just stop your search based on the outside and the restaurant chain the hotel is named after. Great location if you ave a car. Near the Galeries de la Capitale (shopping center) and direct access to the highway leading pretty much anywhere (10 min. max from downtown). Clean, spacious, modern rooms and bathroom, fully equipped with microwave and refrigerator. Breafast included: grill for your toasts, bagels, english muffins, fruit, croissants, muffins, yogourt, seclection of cereal, juices, etc.
Down side: you can hear neighbours put down their blinds, you hear the water running in the pipes, and people talking in the hallways. All iin all, I recommend it! I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, Director of Sales at Hotel & Suites Normandin, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments about your last stay at Hotel & Suites Normandin. I am pleased to read that you were positively surprised by our Hotel. Indeed, we are well located for all kind of activities you want to do in the city; 3 minutes from Galeries de la Capitale, 10 minutes from Old Quebec and 15 minutes away from Aquarium de Québec and Parc de la Chute Montmorency. I’m also glad that you enjoyed the comfort and the amenities of our rooms and also the breakfast for its large variety of items.

I hope we will have the chance of seeing you back soon at the Hotel & Suites Normandin!

Sales and marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hotel was in a good location. Clean, bright, stylish room. Breakfast had lots of options.
The room also featured the ability to connect any of your personal external devices (DVD player, blue ray, laptop) and watch it on the tv. Since most of the channels were in french, we were able to watch shows from online on the tv. We had lots of fun with the glass wall separating the shower from the bedroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilouis, Director of Sales at Hotel & Suites Normandin, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to post your good comments following your last stay at Hôtel & Suites Normandin. As you mentioned it, our breakfast is really varied for a continental compared to usual continental breakfast formula. It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the room’s amenities as the multimedia hub which was really useful for your case. I am also glad that you enjoyed the configuration of the room.

It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you back at Hôtel & Suites Normandin!

Sales and marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great hotel!! Really well renovated. Beautiful modern rooms ( a little bit small , but ok) . Great bathroom too! And for a great price (was one of the cheapest hotel for a Saturday night on Hotel.com).
It's pretty close from Old Quebec by car (maybe a 10 min-15 min. drive)
The free breakfast is really complete with a lot of choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilouis, Director of Sales at Hotel & Suites Normandin, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest,

I want to thank you for the time you took to share your comments on Hôtel & Suites Normandin. I’m glad that you liked our renovations. We put every effort to offer a high quality product at the most affordable rate. As you mentioned it, our continental breakfast has a lot to offer in terms of variety and quality of products .

We wish to see you back soon at the Hotel & Suites Normandin.

Sales and marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We usually stay in hotels where we have company discounts. And I say, you get what you paid for mostly. However, Normandin Hotel is fresh and different. High tech washrooms and gone is the bathtub common to all hotels! Forget company discount,we'll look for Normandin first!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilouis, Director of Sales at Hotel & Suites Normandin, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to post a review about your experience at Hotel and Suites Normandin. It’s a pleasure for me to read that you enjoyed a lot the renovations we made to our rooms lately. Indeed, we do not have discounts at any time, but we will always make sure to give our guests the best value for their money.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Hotel and Suites Normandin soon!

Sales and marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is located in a commercial area near the au-40 highway, which leads to Quebec city, the Montmorency falls and Quebec Island (all are highly recommended), so it's better to have a car (although there is a shuttle to the city). The city of Quebec is on the next exit further to the east. The hotel has a big parking lot, which also serves the restaurant beside it, and parking is free.
The hotel is designed modernly inside. The lobby is big (breakfast is served there too). The reception is welcoming.
The room is a bit narrow, It's modernly designed and has good amenities. Bathroom is very good and comfortable.
Breakfast is good - there was no omlette, but there was plenty other stuff. You can make sandwichws with hard boiled eggs, pattee, philadelphia cheese and more. You can put bread on the grill. There were mashed strawberries.
A good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilouis, Director of Sales at Hotel & Suites Normandin, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, I wanted to thank you for having taken the time to share your comments about your last stay at Hotel & Suites Normandin. As you mentioned, we do have a great location for Old Quebec, Montmorency Falls, Orleans Island, but also for other major tourist attractions as Les Galeries de la Capitale and Parc Aquarium de Québec. Actually, we do have a shuttle to get to Old Quebec during summer, but not all year long. I am pleased to read that you liked our new décor, both in the lobby and the rooms. We took care to redesign our hotel to give it a new fresh modern look, as the guests are looking for. Indeed, our breakfast has many items to offer which make it one of the greatest continental breakfast in the area.

We hope to see you back soon at Hotel & Suites Normandin!

Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Suites Normandin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Suites Normandin

Address: 4700, Boul. Pierre-Bertrand, Quebec City, Quebec G2J 1A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Neufchatel Est - Lebourgneuf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#22 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Suites Normandin 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel & Suites Normandin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Suites Normandin
Normandin Hotel Quebec City
Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Suites Normandin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.