We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pastries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paillard

Paillard
1097, rue Saint-Jean, Vieux-Quebec, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
418-692-1221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Bakeries in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Paillard - Le Café-Boulangerie in the heart of old Quebec City. Fresh baked breads, viennoiseries, pastries, special coffees, soups, salads, gourmet sandwiches, gelato in the summer, also known for our macarons.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very nice place, very busy in the morning but worth visiting. I really enjoyed the french macarrons and their pastries.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    287
    65
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Have a croissant there - they are PERFECT. Lovely atmosphere, great location. We were there for a simple afternoon snack and we were pleasantly surprised by the wide variety of choices. Three pastries and a coffee for under $10. Great value and the cashier was very friendly too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seriously, the best for croissants.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

It's no secret to the locals, it's always busy. They filter people through quickly. Large seating area. Incredible European skillset. Do not miss this as part of your stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Phenomenal Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

What a wonderful place to go, freshly baked pastries , great coffee and excellent service. Our hotel recommended it and we are so happy they did -
can't think of a better place to go to start the day

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent because it is tasty and EASY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Seriously sometimes you just want easy. And tasty. Paillard is that. The menu is offered in both French and one all in English. They have croissants, they have cookies, they have ice cream and they have soup, sandwhiches and salad. You can take it to go. It does not get easier than this. Straight back to the hotel with a warm bag of delicious food to eat while we rest and plan our next day? Yes please. Staff was lovely and patient when my credit card wasn't read properly. They were lovely to my children who couldn't decide among the many choices and they offered dye-free ice cream so my little one could enjoy it. This is not a difficult decision. Say yes to Paillard.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paillard also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Paillard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paillard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.