We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bakery, amazing 'French' experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paillard

Paillard
1097, rue Saint-Jean, Vieux-Quebec, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
418-692-1221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,201 Restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Paillard - Le Café-Boulangerie in the heart of old Quebec City. Fresh baked breads, viennoiseries, pastries, special coffees, soups, salads, gourmet sandwiches, gelato in the summer, also known for our macarons.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great bakery, amazing 'French' experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

A really awesome start to our day! My husband and I tried a lot of pastries as well as the sandwiches, everything was really good. Service was quick even though they were busy. The staff spoke English well and even went outside the cafe to show us directions when asked. Eating here definitely gave us a feeling of being in Quebec City!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    247
    58
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“i wouldn't call it fast food, but great food fast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The bread at this restaurant is the best! I take several loaves back to the states and devour them within days of our return. Their sandwiches are made fresh to order and their soups are made fresh daily. All the sandwiches are affordable. Each day they have a soup, 1/2 sandwich, drink and dessert special you can't beat it!
Their desserts are yummy as well, if you have room.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful bakery & sandwich cafe--A don't miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We found Paillard through the recommendations on Trip Advisor, and the reviewers were correct. It is a wonderful jewel for delicious bakery items and sandwiches. The food was delicious and the atmosphere seemed so French. We just loved it. You eat family style at long wooden tables which gives you a great opportunity to talk to your neighbors at the table. It is a place where locals go to eat, so you know it has to be delicious. They are known for a particular pastry which is a cross between a croissant and a doughnut. Unfortunately, I can not remember its name, but it was to die for!! I still think about it! The staff was helpful and friendly, and menu items were both in French and English. All the staff speak English and switch back and forth between French and English so easily. It was fun to watch. We found the locals there very friendly and helpful to Americans.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best bakery ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The food was delicious! The French do not know how lucky they are to have a wonderful bakery! They have everything, sandwiches, breakfast breads, pastries, and gelato. We had many meals, the pricing is similar to a Panera Bread, but the food was much better!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Cambridgeshire, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Dine with the locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This restaurant is located right in the heart of Quebec City centre. We had a very enjoyable lunch here a cost of only $20.59 for two. Although busy the service was very efficient, with the added bonus that the young members of staff spoke good English. The restaurant also has a counter selling pastries, fresh crusty bread and baguettes, all baked in site.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paillard also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Paillard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paillard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.