We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast -- don't miss it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paillard

Paillard
1097, rue Saint-Jean, Vieux-Quebec, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
418-692-1221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,202 Restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Paillard - Le Café-Boulangerie in the heart of old Quebec City. Fresh baked breads, viennoiseries, pastries, special coffees, soups, salads, gourmet sandwiches, gelato in the summer, also known for our macarons.
Charleston
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast -- don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A short (well under ten minutes) walk from the Place d'Armes in Vieux-Quebec, this café boulangerie has a superb array of pastries and sandwiches. My wife and I had croissants and choclatines (pains au chocolat) several days in a row and were more than pleased. Decent price, very pleasant and obliging staff, excellent coffee, not much more you could ask for to start your day well. We didn't try the sandwiches or the soup, but since we ate late breakfasts we saw lots of them, and they certainly appeared to be very tasty and generous in portion. A place to remember and to re-visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    247
    58
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I think that in any future visits to Quebec city, Paillard is going to be my breakfast place.
Plenty of options for breakfast (and lunch) - great croissants, breads and wonderful pastries.
I don't think many places can measure up to this one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornish Maine
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy to go treatq”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Someone told us about this beautiful bakery and we stopped on the way out of town. We got a chocolate croissant and a chocolate eclair, and a lovely hot chocolate and a coffee for the drive back to Maine. Adorable staff, delicious food, really orderly establishment. ......

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Buy the Crobeign!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Part croissant, part donut and absolutely delicious! They come out at 11:00am and are definitely worth purchasing.

The pastry selection is quite good, as are the drinks. I would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Moist Macarons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Macarons are moist, fresh, crunchy on the outside and chewy inside, just
The way a French Macaron should be. They are amazing.
Nothing else worth mentioning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paillard also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Paillard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paillard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.