We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Save Saved
You added Le Manoir d'Auteuil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R4C2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
Goreme, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We can highly recommend this beautiful boutique hotel. It is ideally located just inside the wall of the old town ,opposite beautiful gardens on a quiet street. Everything is in easy walking distance and the rooms are luxuriously and tastefully decorated in art deco style. Bathrooms are newly renovated. We stayed in 3 different rooms over a week as we added time to our stay. All 3 were wonderful.
The staff were all extremely kind and helpful, going out of their way to assist with restaurant bookings or tips to get the most out of our visit.
There is a terrace and bar area which are lovely.
We can highly recommend this hotel.

Retired Australian couple

Room Tip: We had a suite on level1 ( especially beautiful) , the garden room. And room2. All very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bonjour! Thank you for taking a moment to write a review. Yes, I remember very well. You had the pleasure of playing musical rooms during your stay! I am glad you enjoyed each room. The garden level and room 2 are both classique queen rooms, and the Omer Marchand is one of our junior suites which was the former library of the manor. Yes, I agree, this room is a very special room. It was a pleasure meeting you both during your stay with us. I wish you many wonderful travel adventures ahead! Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    101
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
271
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me start by saying that even in this day and age when LGBT people travel, we are never sure of the reception that we are going to receive. There is always that first awkward moment at check in when they give that puzzled look when you only want one bed. Let's just say that we had none of that here. From the start the staff was welcoming and warm. As many others have spoken about the location is ideal. It is in the old town but it is away from all of the hub hub of the center of the old time making it a bit quieter. It is an easy walk to almost anything you want to do in the area. We had originally thought about staying at the Chateau Frontenac, but are so so glad that we did not. Our room was more spacious than it would have been there and, we feel, in a better location.

We were given Room 12. It far exceeded our expectations. It was a large room with a king bed on the front side of the building overlooking the park across the street. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in while traveling. The in room refrigerator was appreciated so we could keep drinks cold for after coming back after a long day of sightseeing. There was ample storage space to hang and store your clothes. While in a historic building with an old world charm, it has all of the modern amenities. The internet service was superb and we had no issues with it at all. The air conditioning was a fantastic addition and it was nice to come back to a cool room after long days in the sun.

The bathroom was also large with an ample supply of hot water. The hotel is eco-friendly which we appreciated, particularly since we are in a drought in California. It was nice to see a hotel on the East Coast concerned about water conservation. If you are concerned about noise or are a light sleeper the front of the hotel might be a bit noisy for you. We actually love it as a part of city life.

We had not originally signed up for the breakfast, but decided to eat there every morning. It was just easier than searching around. It was a lovely continental breakfast-even a bit more than what we normally would expect in such a meal. It consisted of yogurt with granola and cut grapes topping, fresh fruit which was in season, orange juice and a croissant which was fresh and served warm. There was also coffee or tea available. The room where it is served is comfortable and relaxing and there is even a small patio for outdoors dining. It was lovely and we would recommend it.

As with a hotel in a busy historic location, parking can be a headache. Not here. When we drove up to the front door there was a place to unload. We were asked about using their parking facility at check in and we readily agreed. it was $18 a day and easy to find-just a couple of blocks from the hotel. It is worth it and again would recommend it. You are given a card that allows you to come and go if you wish. We did not take the car out because there was so much to do in the old town.

So overall, we would highly recommend this hotel and we will stay here again when we come back to Quebec. You have many choices with hotels in Old Quebec. We would say this is the place for you. It far exceeded our expectations! This morning we will check out and head to Montreal and another boutique hotel. It has big shoes to fill.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you might not want the front of the hotel as it is on one of the main st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Bonjour! Wow, what an extensive review! Thank you for taking so much time and care in sharing your travel experience with the travel community. We find that we have the priviledge of welcoming so many people from different countries and communities, including the LGBT community. This is one of the reasons I truly enjoy working in this business. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Room 12 is one of our deluxe king rooms, and yes, it is very spacious and has a beautiful park facing view. One of the truly neat things about the small hotels situated within the walls of Old Quebec is that these former residences were really homes for the Quebec Bourgeois back in the early 1800's. So, in a building like ours, you will find the former servant's quarters, which are usually situated on the top floor or attic of the home. In our case, these rooms are our european rooms, and they are very petit. The original families tended to have a carriage house on the back courtyard, and many children. Over time, the various rooms and living spaces have been converted to hotel rooms, and so each individual room is unique and different in size and character, from very small to exceptionally spacious! The master suites and rooms such as the former library of the home, now serve as our junior suites. The other rooms have been converted into either a classique room with one queen bed or a deluxe king room, with a king bed. Refrigerators are available in the Junior Suites and Deluxe King room categories only, as we do not have the space to include a refrigerator in the one queen or european rooms.

Again, we truly appreciate your support. We depend on word of mouth, being a small business, so I want to thank you, not only for the review, but for having chosen to stay with us and for choosing to support a small business! Un gros merci! We wish you and your partner the best, and many wonderful travel adventures ahead. Aurevoir.......Linda

I am glad you enjoyed your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My son and I stayed in the Chapel room(2 twin beds) on the first floor for 4 nights the first week of July. We enjoyed ourselves and were especially appreciative of the air conditioning which was very effective. It was a heat wave the week we came and it sure was wonderful to come back after a hot, humid day to a comfortable room.
The beds were very comfortable(I think they were pillow top) and everything we needed was within walking distance. Chateau Frontenac was just a 10 minute walk away, if that. Quebec City has more hills than I expected so you want to make sure you are in good shape for walking up and down the hills.
We found the first floor to be very quiet. We didn't hear a thing!
The Wifi worked great and we enjoyed the TV in the room too. The only thing I felt I would have liked was a small fridge in the room to put leftover take out and drinks in.
Lady Gaga was in town for the music festival and it was great being within walking distance of the Plains of Abraham to go listen to her concert and see all the crowds.
The Hotel is a bit pricey but not out the way compared to all the other Hotels in the area and it was well located but slightly out the way so you could get away from the crowds too.
We didn't have a lot of interaction with the staff but when we did they were very pleasant. I would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Bonjour! Yes, you were here at a very busy time in Quebec City, during our summer music festival. You stayed in the former chapel of the manor, and yes, this room is situated on the first floor. This is a great choice for two friends or two family members travelling together. The room does indeed have two pillow top mattresses. (So glad you noticed!) Our rooms do all have individual climate control, so yes indeed, the air conditioning system works well.

Thank you for your support, and I am truly delighted to hear that you would definitely come back. That means the world to us! Un gros merci, and we look forward to welcoming you here with us again! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

From the moment you arrive you will feel welcomed and comfortable. We arrived around mid evening. The gentlemen who checked us in was very friendly and doubles as the bartender. We read so much about the stairs which I have no problem with but we ended up with room 3 on the main floor. Loved the classic queen room and the nice clean large bathroom. We were more than comfortable. This hotel is a perfect location. We've stayed twice in lower town at more expensive hotels but we preferred this location. Although those rooms were lovely we wouldn't spend the extra money again. Parking was right behind the hotel although we had to drive a couple of blocks to access the parking. Plus there is 15 minute parking for the hotel out front which makes unloading and loading easy. Quebec city is one of our favourite places to visit. I would definitely encourage anyone to visit this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 3 was quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Bonjour, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate it. Everyone on the Manoir team is thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds as though you did quite a bit of research before choosing to stay with us. Yes, room 3 is on the ground level, and I agree, the classique queen rooms are very nice and spacious enough. We do try to save our lower floor rooms for anyone with difficulty with stairs, but as always, we need to know these details in advance. I am glad you pointed out that you have stayed elsewhere and paid more. We work very hard to stay competitively priced. Quebec City is not an inexpensive place to stay, but as you may have noticed, we typically are less expensive than our competitors, especially those in the lower town. Thank you for your support, and we look forward to welcoming you with us once again! Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed here two nights in July and very much enjoyed it. Staying within the walls of the old city is always the thing to do when visiting Quebec and this hotel gave us that opportunity at a surprising good price. The queen suite we stayed in on the main floor was very comfortable and clean and even had its own little balcony to sit and enjoy a glass of wine. A parking pass was provided for underground parking less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel, a must when staying in the old city. We did not use our car at all for the two days as the entire walled city was easy walking from the hotel. You can add a breakfast to the room if you wish. We loved it and found it very reasonable but it isn't a hot breakfast but rather fresh fruit, yogurt, croissant, juice and coffee. As a reward for booking the breakfast we were given a free glass of wine each, don't know if they do that for everyone. For some reason the hotel wasn't completely full during the first week of July I really don't understand why, we thought it was great and would definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable. We booked the least expensive room which was on the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Bonjour, and thank you for the review. It is truly appreciated by everyone on the staff! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are absolutely right, the location is perfect, and we are very competitively priced, especially for the quality we offer in this location. There are certainly less expensive as well as more expensive options in town, but for the quality, we really are a good value. July seemed to have a little lull this year,(a little calm before the big summer storm, so to speak). We are so glad you chose to stay with us during your Quebec City visit and that we met your expectations. Our breakfast is a traditional french breakfast with fresh croissants and fresh fruit and yogourt. I am so glad you enjoyed it. We have two options when reserving, either a room only rate and then you can order breakfast à la carte daily if you like, or the B&B package, which includes one complimentary glass of beer or wine at arrival and breakfast each morning. When choosing the B&B package, you commit to breakfast each morning, but you receive the welcome drink and a discounted price on the breakfast, so that really is the best way to go! Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate the support! Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed two nights here, and it was excellent. From the moment we arrived they took excellent care of us. We were provided with a pass for underground parking, which we learned was important in Quebec. They gave us suggestions about restaurants, sights to see, etc, all of which proved to be perfect. .

The rooms were lovely, clean, quaint, but not old looking. The bed was so very comfortable. The windows actually opened so we could enjoy the fresh air of Quebec. The have a great breakfast you can add to your room, and they are an easy walk to pretty much everything you would want to see in Old Quebec.

Room Tip: They do not have an elevator, so choose a lower floor if that is an issue. Plus in room 9 you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Bonjour, and thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with the travel community! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Room 9 is one of our classic queen rooms, and I must say, it is one of my favorites. I love the high ceilings and the mezzanine bathroom, which dates to the art deco period. As you remarked, this room is not for everyone, especially anyone who does not like stairs, but if you do not mind the stairs, it is a wonderful choice. Thank you for your support and for having chosen to stay with us. We truly appreciate it. California is a long way away, but I hope we will have the chance to welcome you with us once again in the future. Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband and I just spent August 2nd through August 9th 2014 at this hotel. I thoroughly searched the internet before I booked the hotel and read many of the reviews. The hotel is just lovely. Before we departed for our trip, we received two emails welcoming us to the hotel and offering us any help if needed with any reservations or tourist information. I felt this was a very thoughtful gesture considering most large hotels would not take the time to do this. We stayed in room 51, a classic queen, and it was just perfect. It was tastefully decorated in an Art Deco Style. We had a private entrance next to the main building and it felt like we had our own apartment in the city. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable in recommending restaurants and places to explore. Tanya and Orianna made our stay that much more pleasant. Breakfast was served each morning consisting of freshly made croissants, fruit, and yogurt sprinkled with granola. The hotel also offers a light lunch, snacks, and a limited bar menu. There is a lovely park across the street lined with monuments of poets, a fountain, and a playground for children. The hotel is located within the walled city and is conveniently located to all sites and attractions. Parking is located behind the building in a safe location. Bring your walking shoes because this is the easiest way to get around or if you would prefer there are tour buses and horse drawn carriages to take you through the streets of the city. The cobblestone streets and walkways are filled with cafes, restaurants and little boutiques that take you back to an era long ago. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and if my husband and I ever return we will stay here again. Thank you so much to the staff of Le Manoir d'Auteuil for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for room 51. It's private, lovely, and only a few steps to climb to walk into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Bonjour Mme. Lynnie, I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am especially tickled that you enjoyed our art deco decor. Your insights and tips into the hotel as well as the city are very helpful, so thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. Room 51 is located off of the dining room and bar area, so you may at first think it will be noisy, but really, it is very quiet. Again. many thanks for your support, and we hope to see you back in Quebec City in the future. Un gros merci! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Manoir d'Auteuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Address: 49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R4C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Manoir d'Auteuil 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most referred small hotel in Old Quebec City. Our perfect location within the walls of old Quebec City promises you the convenience of walking within minutes to all the major attractions of the City. Come and enjoy our modern room's amenities in a European style. Our knowledgeable and bilingual staff will help you discover the major attractions as well as the nuances of old Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Le Manoir d'Auteuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir d`Auteuil Hotel Quebec City
Le Manoir D'Auteuil Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Manoir d'Auteuil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.