We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Manoir Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Manoir d'Auteuil to your Saves list
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R4C2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Three is a Charm!
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Abbotsford, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Le Manoir Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were back for a 2nd visit to Quebec City after completing a cruise from Boston. I decided to look for an accommodation that was within walking distance of the sites we wanted to visit and after reviewing Trip Advisor selected Le Manoir. As other reviewers have stated, location was superb. Our room overlooked rue d'Auteuil and listening to the clip clop of the horses pulling carriages on the cobblestones added to the ambiance. We were in Room 7 and other than a minor issue with cleanliness, would heartily recommend this 2nd floor room. The service was excellent with Linda providing great ideas and suggestions including making reservations for us at a local restaurant. Breakfast was reasonable but possibly not as extensive as others would expect. Strong recommendation from myself for Le Manoir if looking for a place with character, history and a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Bonjour M. Abbotsford, I remember you both so very well and enjoyed hearing about your culinary adventures while here in Quebec City. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I think you are absolutely correct, that anyone looking for history, character and charm will really enjoy their stay with us. I am delighted you did as well. I see your photo of the shower in your room, which is one of our historic junior suites. This shower does indeed have 7 shower heads, and thus, your photo. The shower is really quite something, somewhat of a full body experience.

We love this room as well as the Edith Piaf Suite because of their gorgeous art deco bathrooms, but this winter we will have to go in and do some major work in those bathrooms. We will do our best to preserve the beautiful tile work, but the fixtures are at the end of their lives as well as the plumbing. Unfortunately, this means we will lose some of the vintage tiles. I think this is probably where you found your issues with cleanliness, as it is very difficult to maintain this bathroom. No matter how hard we scrub, some of these tiles and the fixtures have really lost their luster. But I do wish you would have mentioned it to me, as I could send the housekeeping team in to ensure all was up to your standards. We try our best, but at times we do miss things.

My sincerest thanks to you for taking the time to write a review and for having chosen to stay with us. Being such a small business, we truly depend on word of mouth from travellers such as yourselves. Enjoy the rest of 2013, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you on our end once again.

Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    104
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
38
285
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at this friendly hotel. The staff was very helpful and it was a treat to meet the welcoming owners as well. The location in the old city could not be better.

Many rooms have been renovated. We were pleased to learn that the breakfast area will soon be moved upstairs near the bar. We enjoyed the croissants and pain au chocolat as well as the fresh fruit for breakfast.

For those extra sensitive to noise, we would recommend a back room since the front rooms face a street with some traffic. However, we loved the generous size of the suites facing the front. The owners have retained the special charm and decor of the original house.....

It is the caring staff and owners who made such a positive impression on us. We hope to return to this "hotel with heart" in the future.

Room Tip: We would choose one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Bonjour and thank you so very much for the review. It is an honor to be summarized as a hotel with "heart". You are absolutely correct, the junior suites are by far the most special rooms, and if they are in your budget, I highly recommend them. You are also correct about the front view facing rooms, you will have some city noise, but compared to most cities, it is fairly quiet and the parliament view at night is well worth it. A room situated on the garden level or in the backside of the building will be very quiet.

We only have 3 classic queen rooms that have a parliament view, the rest are situated on the back side. So, if a view of parliament hill is a must for you, all junior suites do have this view.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for supporting a small business such as ours. We truly appreciate it. Perhaps we will have the opportunity to welcome you again. Until then, happy travels ahead. Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Close to ... everything. Lower town a steep 15 minute walk, Citadelle down the road. More of a B&B experience than a hotel experience. We were in room 9.
The bathroom was in the room but up the stairs, I didn't mind, it added character. The breakfast was great and Vivian was very attentive to fruit salad etc running low.
We went to Cirque du Soleil and it looked like rain later. We asked reception to borrow an umbrella and no problem. Good thing we had it, it poured from the heavens after the
performance. The bar looked very interesting and lots of character...Friday night and no one there so we didn't bother. Too bad, it held a lot of promise with its design.
I would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Bonjour et Merci! Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You are absolutely correct, we do have a perfect location. We are a boutique hotel with 27 rooms, but we most definitely do feel a bit like a bed and breakfast. Your room, room 9, is one of my favorites. It is unique in that there is a small stairway that leads to the mezzanine bathroom, and that just adds so much to the character and historic art deco charm of the room. Being originally built in 1835, the hotel has many very unique and fabulous features that you just do not see anymore. I am glad you enjoyed your room and your stay with us. My sincerest thanks to you for your support and for choosing to stay with us. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you here with us once again. Un gros merci, Linda

P.S. - We have not opened the bar area up to the public yet, it is currently just for the clients of the hotel, but we are getting there! Again, thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

You will not want to leave. Rooms are beautiful. Service is as good as any you'll find in luxury hotels. Breakfast is so good and the coffee is excellent. No need to have a car, you can walk everywhere.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Bonjour M. Bob! Thank you for the review: quick and concise! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and want to thank you for your support and for choosing to stay with us. We truly appreciate it. My guess is that you were in a junior suite or a deluxe king, as you were travelling with family. Glad you found the room so beautiful! I am confident you left Quebec City with many precious family memories to treasure for years to come. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you all once again to Old Quebec. Merci, et à la prochaine.....Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We loved our four night stay at Le Manoir d Auteuil. The rooms were spacious and quiet, which is a great plus in old Quebec. It felt that the rooms had recently been redone, and everything was top notch, including the luxurious bed that I for one had a hard time leaving in the morning! The location is perfect - right by the old walls of the city.

We opted for the breakfast which included hard boiled eggs, yogurt, croissants, breads, cereal, tea, coffee and oj. It was a great way to begin the day.

This is the only place I would stay in old Quebec City. Excellent.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms on the third floor were beautiful. I cannot speak to the other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Bonjour, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. You are correct, we did just remodel the entire hotel, so all of the rooms are very fresh and new. We have kept the important art deco vintage features in some of the rooms (especially the historic junior suites), but other than that, everything is pretty much new. I am not sure which room you stayed in, but if you stated that the room you had was spacious, my guess is that it is one of our deluxe king or junior suites. Our classic one queen rooms that are situated on the 3rd floor are much smaller, but just as well appointed. They also have those great Beauty Rest mattresses as well.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to write a review concerning your stay with us in Quebec City. I realize that time to spare is a rarity today, so many thanks. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you with us once again, as Connecticut is not too far from Old Quebec. Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaistow, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Le Manoir d'Auteuil on two separate occasions -- the first time because of positive TripAdvisor reviews and the second time because of our wonderful experience during our first stay. We can't say enough positive things about this small boutique hotel. It's conveniently located just inside the walls of the old city (near St. Jean's gate), with easy access to the attractions/restaurants in the old city as well as restaurants, ATMs and other services in downtown Quebec. Each hotel room is unique, comfortably furnished and charmingly decorated. (We stayed in a different room on each visit and also had the opportunity to view 2 additional rooms.) As other reviewers have noted, the hotel has no elevator so we suggest requesting a room on a lower floor if that's an issue. We took advantage of the optional breakfast buffet during both visits; it provided a pleasant start to each day and saved us the time and hassle of going out to a café. The hotel has expanded into the adjacent building since our first visit and now also offers a lounge/bar area for guests (as well as additional rooms). The hotel staff was outstanding -- extremely friendly and helpful (offering sightseeing and restaurant recommendations and making reservations). Parking isn't ideal (they facilitate parking at a public garage just outside the walls for an additional charge), but we expect parking would be an issue almost anywhere you stay within the old city. However, we basically parked our car for the duration of our stay and walked everywhere, so it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Bonjour! Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. I am truly honored that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you chose to come back a second time. Coming from New Hampshire, you are really not too far, a 6 to 8 hour car ride I imagine. Clients who come regularly are such a treat for us, as we really get the chance to get to know them. I sincerely appreciate your support, and for choosing to stay with us. Being a small business, we do not have the marketing budget that the large chains do, so word of mouth is our biggest advertising. So thank you for sharing your hotel experience with the trave community. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you here again with us in the not too distant future! Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were here for 4 nights and would be happy to stay here again if we had the same room. The hotel had pretty art decor touches,and the staff was pleasant and accommodating. Our room, 31, was great: it faced the park in front, was a nice size, clean, flat screen tv, desk, pretty art decor headboard, street noise was muffled by double windows and heavy curtains. Once in a while there was a tiny whiff of cigarette smoke but we never figured out where it was coming from and it only happened a few times. The bathroom was standard: bathtub with shower curtain, toilet, and sink and very clean. (Note: If you want a large bed or firm mattress, skip this room. Also be aware that a few of the other rooms are pretty small with not-so-great views). We only heard TV noise one night and a call downstairs quickly stilled it. No elevator which we were fine with--the hotel has a lovely wrought iron staircase.

This hotel is just inside the wall in Upper Town. It's about a 10 minute walk to the steps for Lower Town. (The whole town is walkable; you don't need a car unless you're leaving Old Quebec or can't walk far.) If you want to be where the action is (e.g., parks with entertainers, etc.), you may want a different hotel, but this hotel is fairly quiet at night and close to restaurants and shops, and we were comfortable walking around in the evening on the main streets. (On the other side of the wall is a beautiful romantic fountain for an evening stroll.)

The $7 breakfast is worth it--you won't get as much for $7 at the restaurants--fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, bread/toast, orange juice, hot chocolate, croissants, and a few other items. (The chocolate croissants are wonderful--people waited for them and pounced when they came out.) Water and orange juice are served in small, several ounce glasses, but we simply got up and refilled our glasses from the pitchers so it was fine.

Keep in mind that this is basically a B&B--no vending machines, no one at the desk after 11, etc. (Although we were told a person can be reached after 11 by dialing 0.) Highly recommend asking for directions to a convenience store when you check in--there are several--to stock up on beverages and snacks. (The convenience store on a side street off St. Louis has fresh grapes/cheese packets and a number of other items.)

Fodor's recommends this hotel for value, and we certainly agree!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Bonjour, and thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review of your experience with us. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and want to thank you for your support. Yes, we are a small hotel, but we do live on site, so when you dial "0", you basically will get myself or the receptionist who is on call at night.

Throughout the hotel, we only offer 1 queen beds and king bed rooms, (with the exception of the former chapel...two twins). I recommend consulting our web site, then clicking on the room categories to see the photos of the corresponding rooms. If you are willing to spend a little more, the deluxe king and junior suites are definitely worth it. Our mattresses are a pillow top Beauty Rest mattress from Simmons, which we love for comfort.

On the value side, the european rooms, situated on the 4th floor are a good option as well. Your room, 31, is a classic queen room, and does have a lovely parliament park hill view. We continually monitor the prices in the area for comparable hotels to make sure that we are indeed competitive. We are not the least expensive, nor the most, but we really do have high quality touches that in my opinion, make us a good value. Although only a 3 star, we have very high quality mattresses, linens, and a wonderful climate control system in the rooms.

Again, my sincerest appreciation for the review. I am glad you enjoyed the chocolate croissants so much. Take care, and I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again. Wishing you many happy travels ahead, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Manoir d'Auteuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Address: 49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R4C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#20 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Manoir d'Auteuil 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most referred small hotel in Old Quebec City. Our perfect location within the walls of old Quebec City promises you the convenience of walking within minutes to all the major attractions of the City. Come and enjoy our modern room's amenities in a European style. Our knowledgeable and bilingual staff will help you discover the major attractions as well as the nuances of old Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Manoir d'Auteuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir d`Auteuil Hotel Quebec City
Le Manoir D'Auteuil Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Manoir d'Auteuil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.