We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True hospitality in Quebec City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Save Saved
You added Le Manoir d'Auteuil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R4C2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Worthington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“True hospitality in Quebec City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent four days in the old city of Quebec Canada and stayed at this wonderful small hotel.
Linda & Daniel and their staff were so very helpful and welcoming. You can walk to everything in Old Quebec.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review! Being a small family run business, we truly depend on word of mouth from clients like you. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our staff and appreciated the great central location. Again, thank you for your support and choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    94
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
34
250
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent two days at the hotel in advance of a cruise. The desk normally closes at 10:00, but they graciously arranged to stay until we arrived on a late flight. The staff was amongst the friendliest we have encountered in our travels. They pointed out attractions that were not normal tourist traps. We wanted to have a middle priced dinner and entertainment on our one full evening. They greatly helped in finding suitable venues. It was the Quebec jazz festival, and they helped us sort out the entertainment options. Great breakfast chats with the owner made us feel at home. Good assortment of continental breakfast items, and a comfortable room (and a good value)

Room Tip: There is no elevator so plan to pack one light suitcase if you get a second or third floor room. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
My sincerest thanks to you for taking the time to write a review. Your tip about the smaller suitcase is a wonderful one to share with travellers, especially with cruisers, as cruise ship passengers tend to have a lot of luggage. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us as well as taking advantage of our recommendations of where to go in Quebec City. We love sharing our favourite finds with our clients. Thank you so very much for sharing your insights with the travelling community.

Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this lovely, charming, friendly place for a get away weekend in Quebec City. Absolutely the best place we could have chosen and where we have stayed in a long time. We travel a lot and look for small locally-owned boutique hotels since they are often much more to our liking than large chains. This is one of the best. The room was quiet and lovely with terrific linens, clean and very comfortable even in cold weather. The breakfast was very European (which we expected) with delicious croissants, fruit, hard boiled eggs, granola, scrumptious bread for toast and good coffee. The innkeepers and all the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The facility is expanding to the next building so that there will be a few more rooms as well as a place for tea in the afternoon but the construction was not a concern while we were there since it is removed from the current rooms. Parking is across the street in a municipal parking garage that is quite convenient. The location of the hotel is perfect- across from Parliament, within the old city walls, but removed from the hubbub of the tourist part of Vieux Quebec. If you are looking for the ambiance of chains (ie Holiday Inn), or the glitz of the Frontenac (and willing to pay the price), this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a comfortable, quiet, convenient, and charming 'home away from home" this is definitely THE place.

Room Tip: I suspect every room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Wow, thank you so much for your review and tips! I am thrilled that you noticed our bedding and linens. You are absolutely correct, if you are a client that likes and wants the chain hotel experience, we are probably not the place for you. However, if you are looking to experience the charm and history of Old Quebec, we are the place for you. Unlike most small character properties, we do offer the comforts and luxuries of the better chain hotels like: high quality mattresses, high quality linens, excellent WIFI, flat screen TV's and individual climate control in your room. We have invested heavily in the past few years to make sure we can offer the comforts that travellers expect today, while keeping the boutique charm of a small property. The location is perfect, you are right in the middle of everything. Each room is unique: from petite and charming all the way to spacious and elegant. This allows us to find a fit for every budget. I realize writing a review takes quite a lot of time, and I truly appreciate you doing so. It is because of customers like you that we enjoy our work so much. Thank you so very much for your support! Merci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHester, UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had originally booked another hotel and decided to look at other options for the one night before we joined a cruise. I was impressed by the feedback on Trip Advisor so decided to change my booking and was not disappointed. We were due to arrive quite late in the evening and were even later than planned due to a flight delay, but we received a very warm welcome from Catharine and were delighted to be told we had been upgraded to a junior suite (room 7.) As others having commented being a small boutique style hotel there is no lift but we were helped up to the first floor with our bags and opened the door into a great room complete with four poster bed, it seemed a shame to move all the cushions and pillows to get in but it was a very welcome site. The bathroom was something else - all very art deco and it was bigger than many bedrooms we have had in the past. There was a flat screen TV and it felt really odd when I switched it on in the morning finding that Coronation St was one - but the episode was some weeks behind where we were in the UK. The bathroom was complete with bath and shower and the shower was something else, jets of water cascading from every direction - that really woke us up in the morning. Both the bedroom and bathroom were beautifully decorated. Breakfast was served in the basement and was a very adequate continental breakfast. We stored our bags so that we could explore Quebec while waiting for our time to board the cruise ship. When we returned to the hotel the receptionist very obligingly ordered us a cab and also told us the estimated priced we could expect to pay. This was a great find and we were really sorry that we were only staying one night. We also noted how helpful the staff were when talking to other guests making recommendations of places to eat for dinner. We would certainly recommend to others and would return if ever we went back to Quebec. We were in a room on the front and it was really quiet.

Room Tip: We were given room 7 a junior suite, think some of the other rooms might have been smaller so you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Bonjour, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes, you were so lucky to have the upgrade to a junior suite! All of our rooms are unique, and vary in size. However, the junior suites are quite spacious and vintage chic. I am delighted you appreciated the history of that room. Although we have numerous reviews from all of the room categories, the junior suites are usually a client favourite. I recommend making a reservation through our website or by phone to let us know what exactly it is you are looking for. Our rooms range from very small and charming (not unlike what you would find in europe) to very spacious and elegant. I am delighted we met your expectations. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and thank you for the support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great place to stay within the walls in Québec. Walking distance to all attractions.
Service is warm and friendly. Our bedroom was large, modern, clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was included. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Bonjour, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community. Being a small family owned business, we depend on word of mouth. Thank you for your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife picked this hotel after we finished our cruise in Quebec City. By fluke, she was on a business trip about 2 weeks prior to our trip and stayed here as well and couldn't rave about it enough when she returned.

After staying here I can understand why.

It's a smaller, boutique type of hotel. Don't expect a 5 star mega Hyatt. This hotel and the hosts have character and charm.

We had a room on the 4th floor, no elevators but the stairs are needed after eating at some of the fabulous restaurants in this city.

The room was very nice, all amenities and very functional. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in.

The hosts/staff are what make this hotel just right. Check-in and check-out were painless. We asked for 2 restaurant recommendations and both lunch and dinner were 'fantastique!!". Tres bon!

The location is great. A short walk to pretty much any part of 'old Quebec city'. We walked everywhere w/o any issues.

The following morning we had a very early flight and had to leave by 5am. The previous night we had asked for a taxi reservation and for our larger luggage pieces to be brought out. To our surprise, Vivienne was waiting for us at 4:55am with the luggage loaded and the taxi waiting. How do you beat this kind of service???!!! You simply can't. They set the bar very high.

We loved Quebec City and now we have a 'go-to' place to stay w/o thought. Well done!

Merci!

Note:

Please folks, if you're booking thru Expedia or another service and can't do stairs, CHECK with the hotel, booking and then complaining during check-in is NO ONE's fault except YOUR OWN. This hotel does not have an elevator, do your research, call direct and ask for a main floor room.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are nice but you have stairs. The location is very quiet. I would doubt you'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for your review! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I remember you both so well, especially at check in. You were very accommodating because we did indeed have someone who reserved online through expedia, and needed a first floor room. I truly appreciate your willingness to make the room change in your reservation. I do not always meet people with their bags at 5 a.m. in the morning, but on occasion, if I am up anyways, I am happy to do so. Your kind words are greatly appreciated, and clients like you both really make our job so enjoyable. I am also delighted you enjoyed our dining recommendations. There are so many wonderful places to eat in Quebec City, but we love sharing our favourites. Take care and we will look forward to meeting you both again in the future! Merci, et au plaisir. Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Manoir d'Auteuil, following Trip Advisor reviews. We were very happy with the friendly, obliging service offered by David, Linda and Vivienne, and the Housekeeping staff. the hotel is absolutely charming, with lots of historic features but our accommodation was thoroughly 21st century. The beautiful soft bed had the most wonderful sheets. We would be happy to stay at Manoir d'Auteuil on another visit to Quebec city, and would recommend it to anyone wanting to enjoy this beautiful historic city.

Room Tip: Our suite was on 3rd floor - David offered it as the room we originally booked was on 4th floor, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Bonjour Mme. Jane, and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. You had one of our new junior suites with the mezzanine bathroom. I am thrilled you enjoyed to room as well as your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and many thanks for the support! Merci,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Manoir d'Auteuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Address: 49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R4C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Manoir d'Auteuil 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most referred small hotel in Old Quebec City. Our perfect location within the walls of old Quebec City promises you the convenience of walking within minutes to all the major attractions of the City. Come and enjoy our modern room's amenities in a European style. Our knowledgeable and bilingual staff will help you discover the major attractions as well as the nuances of old Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Le Manoir d'Auteuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir d`Auteuil Hotel Quebec City
Le Manoir D'Auteuil Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Manoir d'Auteuil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.