We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres bon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Save Saved
You added Le Manoir d'Auteuil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R4C2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
CHester, UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Tres bon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had originally booked another hotel and decided to look at other options for the one night before we joined a cruise. I was impressed by the feedback on Trip Advisor so decided to change my booking and was not disappointed. We were due to arrive quite late in the evening and were even later than planned due to a flight delay, but we received a very warm welcome from Catharine and were delighted to be told we had been upgraded to a junior suite (room 7.) As others having commented being a small boutique style hotel there is no lift but we were helped up to the first floor with our bags and opened the door into a great room complete with four poster bed, it seemed a shame to move all the cushions and pillows to get in but it was a very welcome site. The bathroom was something else - all very art deco and it was bigger than many bedrooms we have had in the past. There was a flat screen TV and it felt really odd when I switched it on in the morning finding that Coronation St was one - but the episode was some weeks behind where we were in the UK. The bathroom was complete with bath and shower and the shower was something else, jets of water cascading from every direction - that really woke us up in the morning. Both the bedroom and bathroom were beautifully decorated. Breakfast was served in the basement and was a very adequate continental breakfast. We stored our bags so that we could explore Quebec while waiting for our time to board the cruise ship. When we returned to the hotel the receptionist very obligingly ordered us a cab and also told us the estimated priced we could expect to pay. This was a great find and we were really sorry that we were only staying one night. We also noted how helpful the staff were when talking to other guests making recommendations of places to eat for dinner. We would certainly recommend to others and would return if ever we went back to Quebec. We were in a room on the front and it was really quiet.

Room Tip: We were given room 7 a junior suite, think some of the other rooms might have been smaller so you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Bonjour, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes, you were so lucky to have the upgrade to a junior suite! All of our rooms are unique, and vary in size. However, the junior suites are quite spacious and vintage chic. I am delighted you appreciated the history of that room. Although we have numerous reviews from all of the room categories, the junior suites are usually a client favourite. I recommend making a reservation through our website or by phone to let us know what exactly it is you are looking for. Our rooms range from very small and charming (not unlike what you would find in europe) to very spacious and elegant. I am delighted we met your expectations. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and thank you for the support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    95
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
35
252
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great place to stay within the walls in Québec. Walking distance to all attractions.
Service is warm and friendly. Our bedroom was large, modern, clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was included. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Bonjour, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community. Being a small family owned business, we depend on word of mouth. Thank you for your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife picked this hotel after we finished our cruise in Quebec City. By fluke, she was on a business trip about 2 weeks prior to our trip and stayed here as well and couldn't rave about it enough when she returned.

After staying here I can understand why.

It's a smaller, boutique type of hotel. Don't expect a 5 star mega Hyatt. This hotel and the hosts have character and charm.

We had a room on the 4th floor, no elevators but the stairs are needed after eating at some of the fabulous restaurants in this city.

The room was very nice, all amenities and very functional. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in.

The hosts/staff are what make this hotel just right. Check-in and check-out were painless. We asked for 2 restaurant recommendations and both lunch and dinner were 'fantastique!!". Tres bon!

The location is great. A short walk to pretty much any part of 'old Quebec city'. We walked everywhere w/o any issues.

The following morning we had a very early flight and had to leave by 5am. The previous night we had asked for a taxi reservation and for our larger luggage pieces to be brought out. To our surprise, Vivienne was waiting for us at 4:55am with the luggage loaded and the taxi waiting. How do you beat this kind of service???!!! You simply can't. They set the bar very high.

We loved Quebec City and now we have a 'go-to' place to stay w/o thought. Well done!

Merci!

Note:

Please folks, if you're booking thru Expedia or another service and can't do stairs, CHECK with the hotel, booking and then complaining during check-in is NO ONE's fault except YOUR OWN. This hotel does not have an elevator, do your research, call direct and ask for a main floor room.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are nice but you have stairs. The location is very quiet. I would doubt you'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for your review! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I remember you both so well, especially at check in. You were very accommodating because we did indeed have someone who reserved online through expedia, and needed a first floor room. I truly appreciate your willingness to make the room change in your reservation. I do not always meet people with their bags at 5 a.m. in the morning, but on occasion, if I am up anyways, I am happy to do so. Your kind words are greatly appreciated, and clients like you both really make our job so enjoyable. I am also delighted you enjoyed our dining recommendations. There are so many wonderful places to eat in Quebec City, but we love sharing our favourites. Take care and we will look forward to meeting you both again in the future! Merci, et au plaisir. Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Manoir d'Auteuil, following Trip Advisor reviews. We were very happy with the friendly, obliging service offered by David, Linda and Vivienne, and the Housekeeping staff. the hotel is absolutely charming, with lots of historic features but our accommodation was thoroughly 21st century. The beautiful soft bed had the most wonderful sheets. We would be happy to stay at Manoir d'Auteuil on another visit to Quebec city, and would recommend it to anyone wanting to enjoy this beautiful historic city.

Room Tip: Our suite was on 3rd floor - David offered it as the room we originally booked was on 4th floor, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Bonjour Mme. Jane, and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. You had one of our new junior suites with the mezzanine bathroom. I am thrilled you enjoyed to room as well as your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and many thanks for the support! Merci,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was my first visit to Quebec City and I absolutely loved it. We stayed 2 nights at Le Manoir d'Auteuil and would have stayed longer but we had but we had to be somewhere else by Sunday afternoon.
The service at Manoir d'Auteuil was excellent thanks to Viviane and Linda - they were very helpful and always had a smile. Our room was just what we required - a comfortable bed and an updated bathroom made for a very relaxing evening after spending the day exploring inside and outside the wall. Breakfast was great with many choices even with a dairy allergy I could find something.
We prefer staying at a smaller place like Manoir d'Auteuil as opposed to the larger chain hotels and we will definitely return for another visit.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the building where there wasn't much to look at but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so very much for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The rooms situated on the back side tend to be very quiet, but do not have those lovely parliament views. It sounds like this room choice was the right one for you. Thanks so much for sharing your travel experience with the travel community. Maybe Viviane and I will be fortunate enough to meet you again on a future stay in Quebec City! Encore, merci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and found it quiet and comfortable. Staff were all helpful. Breakfast was fine although the room is a bit pokey - I understand that a new dining room is under construction though.
We had one of the large, new rooms with the bathroom and toilet on a sort of mezzanine floor.
Nicely laid out with high quality fittings and a separate bath and shower. The toilet has no door however so you can sit on a settee downstairs, look up and see your partner sitting on the toilet - We're not convinced this is a positive experience!!
It seemed pricey compared to our other stays in Canada but, to be fair, EVERYWHERE in Quebec Old City seemed expensive so it wasn't unreasonable by Quebec standards.

Would we return? Yes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
My sincerest appreciation for taking the time to write a review. You were in one of our new junior king suites. Yes, the bathroom is open, but we can certainly look into putting a sandblasted glass door in front of the toilet for privacy. We have two new rooms like this with the mezzanine loft bathroom, separate soaking tub and separate shower. And yes, Quebec City is not inexpensive. As you stated, I think you would probably find the room rate quite reasonable for the room type compared to other similar hotels. I am glad you did enjoy your stay and do hope we will see you again in the future. Un gros merci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was in Quebec City for a week with my partner attending a convention. The Manoir d'Auteuil is extremely conveniently located just within the walls of vieux Quebec, while being only 5 minutes from the Convention Centre on foot.

The staff and management are top notch. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We went to five different restaurants for dinner, each upon recommendation from hotel staff. All five were excellent (Portofino, Sous le Fort, Le Hobbit, Le Lapin Saute, Conti Caffe, for those curious [in our order of preference from least to best]). My partner is vegetarian and Vivian went out of her way to provide us a list of vegetarian options - something that can be tricky in Quebecois cuisine.

Breakfast is good. Our room was spacious and clearly recently upgraded.

All in all, this was an excellent choice and I would recommend Le Manoir d'Auteuil without reservation to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Bonjour, and my sincerest thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. While a small boutique hotel, we still have many clients that come to stay with us for conferences at the conference center. We have worked hard over the past year to ensure that our accommodations can meet the needs of business clients, including improved internet access and spacious king rooms that are ideal for longer stays. Thank you for passing the word on, and I am glad you enjoyed our restaurant recommendations. Quebec City has so many wonderful restaurants, so I recommend any traveller plan on taking advantage of those culinary treasures! Merci, et j'espère à vous revoir!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Manoir d'Auteuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Address: 49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R4C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Manoir d'Auteuil 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most referred small hotel in Old Quebec City. Our perfect location within the walls of old Quebec City promises you the convenience of walking within minutes to all the major attractions of the City. Come and enjoy our modern room's amenities in a European style. Our knowledgeable and bilingual staff will help you discover the major attractions as well as the nuances of old Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Manoir d'Auteuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir d`Auteuil Hotel Quebec City
Le Manoir D'Auteuil Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Manoir d'Auteuil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.