We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of a group for family wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Quartier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Auberge du Quartier to your Saves list
Auberge du Quartier
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Grande Allee Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2G9, Canada (Montcalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
“Part of a group for family wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were part of a group attending a wedding. I think there were about 34 of us. The staff was excellent and very accommodating. The breakfast room, although a little small was great for us to all get together in the morning and also at other times during the day. The rooms were nicely refurbished but my only complaint was that the rooms were very small. I also found the lighting very poor. Some in the group were not impressed with the small showers in some of the rooms but ours was fine. The morning breakfasts were great and some staff members there were better than others. The hotel is located close to an assortment of pubs, restaurants and other amenities. Unfortunately for the hotel owners there was major construction going on right in front of the hotel and also all around! They did however work with the construction company to put down some gravel so we were able to cross the street without too much mud to attend an event at the museum. Overall, everyone was very helpful. This hotel is not handicapped accessible...several steps to get inside, however once inside there was a very slow moving lift available.

Room Tip: Beware that access is poor for anyone with disabilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    47
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
69
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palisades Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beware!!!
You might end up in UNDERGROUND ROOM!!
Luckly I stayed here only an one night.
My room # was 300, so I went up to 3rd floor but ther wasn't room300.
When I asked for a direction, it is around corner few steps down.

There is big diference between a few steps and a basement.
Even an youth hostel in NYC DO NOT put people in BASEMENT.
the hallway smells like gym changing room in local YMCA


there are nothing about you might end-up in basement room in this web or theirs.

In hotel's point of view, it is first floor
But Room 100's through 400 is in underground.

ask for higher ground, otherwise hotel itself, staff, location and room interior is good.

Room Tip: avoid # 100.200,300,400 rooms it is on the basement, underground or first floor. whatever you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle O, Directeur général at Auberge du Quartier, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment regarding your stay at our hotel we really appreciate all feedback.

We are truly sorry that the numbering of our rooms brought confusion as to what floor it was on. However, our room categories are defined by name and the room you had was a Queen room. On our website, it is clearly indicated that a few of these rooms are located on the lower level.

Your reservation was made through Expedia, they preset the names and descriptions. We are very sorry for any confusion, even after several requests to Expedia asking them to specify that the Queen Fireplace room (that's how they call it) is located on the lower level, they did nothing.

Unfortunately this is beyond our control. We strive to be as transparent as possible on our website to ensure the satisfaction of our clients and that the chosen rooms meets to their expectations.
Our Spaces Queen rooms are located on the lower level and are very popular with our customers seeking discretion as well as a quiet, warmth and cozy room.

As you enjoyed our staff, our atmosphere and our location. On your next visit we suggest you choose your room directly on our website which will omit any confusions this way your stay will be most satisfying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel came highly recommended, however there were some drawbacks and shortcomings.

We stayed in the Romantic Room for our 20th anniversary. The carpet was not clean at all, and the room itself could have been cleaner. We had issues with the room heater as well, which was rectified by staff promptly.

The biggest complaint is the housekeeping. Two of the three nights we stayed there, our wineglasses were not replaced, the ice bucket was not emptied or cleaned, garbage was not removed and towels were not replaced. There were very few toiletries offered, with no shampoo available. We assumed guests are supposed to use the body wash from the dispenser for that purpose….luckily we had our own. The hotel could definitely improve here.

On the plus side, the desk staff were always very helpful and friendly. They recommeded places to go and see and were genuinely interested in championing Quebec City as a fun place to be. The hotel itself is very nice and the complimentary breakfast was more than adequate. We met the owner, who took some time to assist us with sighseeing destinations.

We also found the location to be excellent…..within walking distance to Old Quebec, and also on the doorstep of Rue Quartier which has dining and shopping.

We really did very much enjoy our stay but just felt that for the money, the hotel should have been cleaner and more diligent with the housekeeping.

Room Tip: If you select the Romantic Room, be aware that it is situated directly underneath the breakfast area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle O, Directeur général at Auberge du Quartier, responded to this review, 3 days ago
I would like to first thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments concerning your recent stay. We really appreciate it and hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

Every effort is made to ensure that our rooms are clean and properly supplied. Unfortunately, our standards were not upheld during your recent stay.

In early October we had changed housekeeping companies and they had a very short adjustment period and unfortunately you suffered the repercussions of their lack of experience.

Be assured that the appropriate follow-up has been done with our new housekeeping team and procedures were elaborated to ensure we can deliver extra clean rooms to our guests in the future.

Thank you also, for taking time to let us know that you enjoyed the location, the staff and the atmosphere of Auberge du Quartier.

We hope that you will reconsider staying with us again next time so that we can have another chance to provide you with an experience beyond your expectation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently stayed here with a friend for one night. We absolutely loved everything from the old elevator to the front desk attendants. The rooms were spotless and absolutely beautiful. Bed was comfy enough and had a window that could open or close. Hotel is only 20 minute walk from old Quebec. Would defiantly recommend to all family and friends!!

Room Tip: Recently there has been a ton of construction so be sure to close your window before sleeping if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed one night visiting Laval U. The location is great, just a short walk from the large park along the river from which you can easily walk downtown and near a commercial district (which I didn't visit). It is a small unique hotel built in what looks like a former home. My basement room was entirely satisfactory, but not very memorable. The hotel served a fine breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay for 5 nights at this hotel! The hotel staff was always so nice and eager to help with anything that we needed or wanted! Pierre who works as the server for the breakfast was great! Always there to give us advice on touring the old city! Which we greatly appreciated! The rooms were always clean and neat when we got back from our busy day. We were at the front of the building and we had a very nice view of the church across the street. The beds were comfortable and slept very well each night! We got the 1850 (non romantic) room and it was a very decent size room! Not huge, but a lot like hotel rooms in NYC. But very comfortable!
We actually came when they were doing heavy construction on the Grand Allee street and we had to take a detour to walk to the old city, but it was actually to our advantage because if there wasn't any construction we would have walked past the beautiful Plains of Abraham, the beautiful homes and the Joan of Arc Garden every day!
Plus this hotels location is perfect! So many great restaurants just a few minutes walk away! And its only about a 15-20 minute walk to the old city! However, Parking and unloading the car was a bit tricky, so we just pulled over to the side, right in front of the hotel, turned on our hazard lights, unloaded all our bags on the sidewalk and while I stayed with the bags my husband went and parked the car in the parking spot that was given to us by the hotel just one block away. And we didn't have any problems with the neighborhood and leaving our car unattended. Very safe location. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We only stayed one night however it was well worth the stay. Staff were all very helpful, attentive. Rooms were clean , modern, quiet, very comfortable. Breakfast was included and very good way to start the day. Only a short walk to all of the greta attractions of the old City. Parking was about 1 1/2 blocks away and cost $15.00. The street in front was under major construction but is supposed to be completed by October 2014. The street noise did not penetrate the hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Quartier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Quartier

Address: 170 Grande Allee Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Montcalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge du Quartier 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, T4B, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge du Quartier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Quartier Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Du Quartier Quebec City
Auberge Du Quartier Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Quartier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.