We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau Bellevue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chateau Bellevue to your Saves list
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Rue La Porte, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Weston, Fl
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with Hotel Chateau Bellevue. It is not a fancy hotel and it does not charge fancy prices, it is very good value for money in such an excellent location. It is within easy walking distance of any attraction that a visitor to Quebec might wish to see and is located on a pretty park one block away from the St Lawrence overlook and boardwalk. There are lots of very good restaurants within a few blocks, we would suggest that instead of breakfast in the hotel you stroll out for a better cheaper breakfast. Parking is about $20 a night which seems to be fairly standard in the old city. The rooms are small but clean and adequate. The staff were friendly and efficient, we would stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Bonjour johnandbabette,

Thank you so very much for your positive review ! It is very much appreciated. We are indeed very lucky, being so central and close to everything a tourist would like to see. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again among us !

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    178
    56
    17
    15
See reviews for
49
279
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel Chateau Bellevue is well located in a quiet area in the old city, within walking distance from most major attractions and good restaurants. Self serve breakfast was included in the room rate and was very good. Room with private bath was small but comfortable and the view of the river was really nice. Hotel crew was always polite and helpful. Overall, the value was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Bonjour JacintoMendes,

Thank you very much for your review. Such positive feedback helps us keep going ! I would like to mention we have bigger rooms than the one you occupied while at the hotel. Next time, make sure you book one of our Distinction or Prestige rooms !

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Hotel Chateau Bellevue is a decent hotel with well kept, albeit small rooms. The breakfast is adequate and the bilingual staff are attentive. The cost for the room was very reasonable. There is valet service that you must pay for. Average hotel services really. BUT, when you walk out the front door, you face a small park leading to the boardwalk and the St. Lawrence river. Beside that is the Chateau Frontenac. Just beyond the Chateau Frontenac there is a square, shops, restaurants and the walking begins. Old Quebec is lovely and as the oldest city in North America, it maintains much of the atmosphere and is proud to do so. From here, it is a quick (10 minute) drive to the Montmorency Falls or across a small bridge to Ile d'Orleans. Chateau Bellevue makes a good home base to go out and explore this lovely city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Bonjour marie s,

Thank you very much for your positive review, it is really appreciated ! I always say we are truly lucky to have such a perfect location. It would be our great pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Château Bellevue is located just next to the Château Frontenac (without commanding its exorbitant prices ...), which means that it is also just a stone's throw from the famous boardwalk and the Citadel. Rooms are on the smallish side but very clean, and the surcharge for a room overlooking the park (instead of the back lot ...) may be worth it. Breakfast--included when you book through the hotel website--is more than continental and adequate although the "breakfast room" is part of the reception hall and not exactly inviting. (But tea and coffee and crumpets are available all day/night long, a nice gesture). Staff was very helpful and patiently answered our numerous questions, retrieved the car from the parking garage (extra charge though reasonable). A small problem that apparently could be circumvented are the steep stairs up to the lobby; there is a back entry for staff and handicapped persons that might well be an option for those among us who are no longer spring chickens ...

Room Tip: The extra charge for a room overlooking the park may be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Bonjour German_Retiree,

Thank you very much for your positive review ! It is always a pleasure to see we have fulfilled our engagement to always provide the best customer service we can. About the back entry, we shall advertise it more often. Thank you very much for your suggestion. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel front desk people try, but this hotel is seriously understaffed. Every single time we needed assistance, it was an extraordinarily long wait. Also, we asked for help making dinner reservations, and the desk clerk sent us to a non-recommended restaurant - not on their list - so we were not able to use 15% discount available at their partner businesses. Overall, I wouldn't stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Bonjour jadewed,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was surprised to read you had to wait to get the assistance you needed, and I would like to apologize for that. We try our hardest to provide the best customer service we can. As far as our unique Tresure Chest coupons, you have a list to pick up restaurants from. However, when you ask a clerk for suggestions, he is going to recommend a restaurant he personally likes. This does not necessarily imply it will be on the list you were given, yet it is a much more personal recommendation. Next time, make sure to check the list or ask us if it is included.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate in rating that as excellent. Given our room was dated I was impressed with how well it had been maintained and it was indeed perfectly spotless. The only negative comments I have was that the bed was a little uncomfortable and we only had one bedside table.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Bonjour WorkAllergy,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear our staff was welcoming and helpful. As far as the rooms are concerned, we do have more modern rooms, such as our Distinction and Prestige rooms. Make sure you check them out for your next stay ! We would love to welcome you back again in our so very beautiful city.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We made reservations last-minute during a busy time (not peak season, but during the Jazz Festival). The comments on TripAdvisor were spot-on. The location was excellent -- in the heart of the Old City, on a charming street facing a small park, with a view of Chateau Frontenac and the river from the front stoop (though not from our room, which faced the back). We didn't need our car at all during our two day stay -- everything we wanted was walking distance. The room was indeed very small - a standard double bed, 2 night tables, a small desk, no room for a dresser -- but it was clean and quiet. The hotel staff were very welcoming, pleasant and helpful. I would happily return here for another stay. The hotel has a continental breakfast that is free only if you book through the hotel website, otherwise there's a charge. But for a little more than the hotel charge, we had the best hot breakfast ever at a cafe in the lower town that the hotel staff recommended, so I wouldn't change a thing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemazHebert, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Bonjour nyexpatMichigan,

First of all, thank you for your positive review. We are glad you were able to make out the best from your stay in our beautiful city thanks to our perfect location. I would like to underline that some of our rooms are smaller than in more modern hotels because we are in a historical protected environment, which means many rooms can't be widened. Yet, we do have more spacious rooms. Make sure you book a Distinction or Prestige room next time !

Best regards, and hopefully see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chateau Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Bellevue

Address: 16 Rue La Porte, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chateau Bellevue: Quiet comfort assured in the heart of Old QuebecAny reason to visit Quebec City is a great opportunity to stay at Hotel Chateau Bellevue… a perfect location in the heart of Old Quebec, near Dufferin Terrace and the Citadel, with views of Parc des Gouverneurs and the mighty Saint Lawrence River. Come enjoy the historic charm of North America’s only fortified city, discover an exceptionally beautiful architectural heritage, and bask in the comfort and quality service that only a hotel like ours can provide.At Hotel Chateau Bellevue, exceptional comfort and a warm family atmosphere live in peaceful coexistence with all the excitement Old Quebec has to offer, including a front-row seat of major events. Whether you’re passing through Quebec City on business, or looking for a romantic getaway, or sharing a tour with friends, you’ll soon find Hotel Chateau Bellevue has everything it takes to make your visit a success.Hotel Chateau Bellevue also has an awesome array of tour packages for every possible interest. Fine dining, culture, outdoor activities… Whatever you’re looking for, you’ll find terrific options to enjoy and explore. Just contact our hotel staff to make your reservations for the visit of your dreams… today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chateau Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Bellevue Quebec City
Chateau Bellevue Hotel
Hotel Chateau Bellevue Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.