We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau Bellevue

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chateau Bellevue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Rue La Porte, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Port Macquarie
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wow, what a location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I arrived in Quebec via The Ocean train from Halifax in the very early hours of the morning. Whilst my room was not ready (it wasn't expected), the staff were very helpful, giving me access to coffee and internet and storing my luggage. I then went for an early morning walk in the golden sunrise and realised what a fantastic location I had landed upon. Across the park was the Chateau Frontenac and below Old Quebec and the Saint Lawrence River. Old Quebec was an easy walk away, as was the funicular, citadel, many restuarants including those along the Grand Allee and everything else I wanted to see or do. I walked for several hours before returning and gaining access to my room which was fine. The only disappointing aspect was the very crowded breakfast area. I felt pressured to move on rather than linger and plan my day, it seemed totally inadequate for the number of guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    157
    44
    14
    14
See reviews for
43
241
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Bellevue on January 4th for one night and had an amazing experience.
I booked our stay with a living social voucher and I was pleasantly surprised at the simplicity of the booking process. The staff was very helpful in every aspect of our stay. They were extremely knowledgeable of the city and hotel amenities. As well as making excellent wine recommendations.
Our room (201) was the prestige room and we were thrilled with everything about it. Impeccably clean and suited all of our needs. The therapeutic tub and ambiance of the entire room was perfect.

The next time we visit Quebec City we will not have to look for another hotel. Chateau Bellevue will be recommended to anyone we know travelling to the city.
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Corner room with the view of the river and Chateau Frontenac was very spacious. Four big beautiful w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We knew we were arriving so late our first night we booked one of the cheaper rooms for the first evening. Indeed we arrived about 12:30 a.m., and we easily entered the hotel and staff assisting us. Room 105, as some people described as the "basement" isn't quite so dreary. 105 has a nice view of the park out front and the hotel Chateau Frontenac. The room is small, bathroom a bit outdated, but it was cheap and fine for the money. Staff were able to combine our two separate reservations into one for our convenience and we moved into room 301 the next day.

Room 301 was our "treat yo self" room, with king bed with sitting area. The bathroom was incredible! The weather was extremely cold and snowy and the therapeutic bath tub was completely wonderful every evening. The shower, though narrow, was very modern and chic. Toiletries were sufficient. The time we spent in the hotel room was terrific: extremely quiet (even for New Years Eve!), a remarkable view of the park, the St. Lawrence river and the Chateau Frontenac. Definitely a romantic getaway.

The staff were all simply amazing. They were sweet and patient while we fumbled our French and made us feel fine for communicating in English. They had great suggestions for restaurants, directions to sights and were pleasant in every transaction.

Some reviewers complain about the included breakfast...but we decided that it was sufficient with its oatmeal, waffles, crepes, jams and plenty of juice and coffee. We contemplated having breakfast offsite for something a bit less continental - but in the end, the convenience won out and we appreciated the service (it was REALLY cold the week we were there!) Having several cups of coffee or tea before venturing out to the freezing sights was welcomed.

The hotel's location was right in the heart of everything. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go, even though we contemplated taxis because of the weather. All in all - a great trip - we would totally stay in room 305 again...lovely corner room! One of our best trips yet.

Wifi worked great and taxi ride from airport with tax ran about c$40 each way.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room with a view of the river...room 305 was quiet and on the front corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a mid-priced hotel in beautiful Old Quebec. Steps from the St. Lawrence, Chateau Frontenac and the square. Valet service. Steep stairs to get inside, if you lack mobility you are better off to come around to the back and enter from the rear door. Courteous staff and very helpful. We ordered a package which included 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts and a carriage ride through Old Quebec (it was Christmas, of course we did!). It was more expensive because of the package deal, and likely we could have saved a few dollars without the package, but I really wanted to treat my husband. There was one mix up at the start regarding restaurants and because it was an error on the part of the person at the desk, we ended up with the larger room in the front, at the small room rate. It was an extremely kind gesture and I was very touched by that. I had got the impression that there would be a little more breakfast since the hotel referred to it as "American Style", however, the eggs we were expecting were not exactly American style but were crepes; if we didn't get down to breakfast by 10 much of the food was gone and the only other offerings for breakfast were breads, a little fruit and cereal. If I stayed again I would go with the most basic room and no package; the hotel is so close to everything we really didn't need the breakfast. We had a lovely Christmas, and because of the minor error we were given the biggest room they have (rooms are relatively small) at the small room rate so I have no complaints but it really is a bit of a bare bones hotel, though great atmosphere.

Room Tip: The hotel is really 3 old houses connected together, in a row of old connected houses. We were in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We analyzed hotels on the internet and chose the Hotel Chateau Bellevue for a five night visit in September, 2012. In a minute you can walk through the park, go past the American Consulate and be on the Boardwalk overlooking the St. Lawrence River for a magnificent panoramic view. Many hotel rooms have a view of the St. Lawrence River. Some rooms are small but adequate. The larger rooms do not cost that much more and are worth it. The bathrooms are modern. Breakfast is included. There was a discount for multiple nights. The staff at reception was very helpful, recommending things to see and restaurants. Friends drove to meet us. They pulled up in front of the hotel. Someone from reception came out, unloaded their car and drove it to the hotel's private parking lot. The location is great. We were able to conveniently walk to the Upper and Lower parts of the old city, as well as walk outside the old walls to the Plains of Abraham and the Parliament for a free tour. (Parliament has a great dining room and also a coffee shop open to the public).

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room with a view of the St. Lawrence River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Maine, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our experience with the Hotel Chateau Bellevue reservation staff is the worst we have ever had in more than 50 years of traveling world-wide. We, unfortunately, were not able to arrive on the date of our reservation last week, November 21,22, 2012, at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, Quebec City. We understood that by booking through booking.com online that there was a no refund policy. However, when we notified the reservation desk on November 20th of our problem and asked for alternate dates we were refused by both the clerk and the manager. Subsequent emails to the hotel and the manager, Brigitte Gauvin, requesting alternate dates were denied, even when we offered to pay an additional fee (as airlines require when changes in flights have to be made). Obviously, the Hotel Chateau Bellevue in taking our money ($240.00)and not offering us anything in return is being totally unfair and the owners should recognize how badly this reflects on its image and reputation. It appears that this hotel is less concerned with accommodating its guests and more interested in acquiring profits. We want to alert others of their policy and hope it may result in changes being made in the future.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Management, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are sorry that your experience at the Hotel Chateau Bellevue was not what you were expecting. We strive to satisfy everyone. Our cancellation policy specify that guest may cancel within 24 hour prior to arrival to avoid any charges. When booking through a third party or when taking advantage of a special offer other rules may apply. At the hotel, we outline our cancellation policy clearly. We are flexible as much as possible; however by selecting a non-refundable reservation, you must be prepared to face some limitations. By its nature a non-refundable rate is often more affordable.

We recommend you strongly to contact us before making a reservation to be sure of the policies linked to certain promotions. Tthis will only assure you have the acurate information.
Once again we are very sorry and hope you will visit our great city again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned fro a wonderful long weekend in lovely Quebec City. One of the many highlights of our trip was our three night stay at Chateau Bellevieu. Traveling as two couples we booked two basic double rooms and found them as described by many in previous reviews as quite small, however they were clean and we had plenty of room after moving a few things around and although we didn't have a great view (backside) The price was great as we prepaid, and we spent very little time in our rooms as we were out and about most of the weekend. Staff was wonderful, helpful with directions, suggestions and quite accommodating with our lack of French. Morning breakfast was most sufficient with breads, coffee, juices, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal and crepes. When I travel the thing I desire the most is being treated as if I matter and that my questions be taken seriously and my business appreciated. I felt all of those needs were met and then some and would certainly return to the Chateau the next time we are fortunate enough to visit this beautiful city. And by the way, the location is perfect....

Room Tip: if the hotel is not full see if you can get a room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Chateau Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Bellevue

Address: 16 Rue La Porte, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Bellevue 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chateau Bellevue: Quiet comfort assured in the heart of Old QuebecAny reason to visit Quebec City is a great opportunity to stay at Hotel Chateau Bellevue… a perfect location in the heart of Old Quebec, near Dufferin Terrace and the Citadel, with views of Parc des Gouverneurs and the mighty Saint Lawrence River. Come enjoy the historic charm of North America’s only fortified city, discover an exceptionally beautiful architectural heritage, and bask in the comfort and quality service that only a hotel like ours can provide.At Hotel Chateau Bellevue, exceptional comfort and a warm family atmosphere live in peaceful coexistence with all the excitement Old Quebec has to offer, including a front-row seat of major events. Whether you’re passing through Quebec City on business, or looking for a romantic getaway, or sharing a tour with friends, you’ll soon find Hotel Chateau Bellevue has everything it takes to make your visit a success.Hotel Chateau Bellevue also has an awesome array of tour packages for every possible interest. Fine dining, culture, outdoor activities… Whatever you’re looking for, you’ll find terrific options to enjoy and explore. Just contact our hotel staff to make your reservations for the visit of your dreams… today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Chateau Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Bellevue Quebec City
Chateau Bellevue Hotel
Hotel Chateau Bellevue Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.