We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifth Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau Bellevue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chateau Bellevue to your Saves list
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Rue La Porte, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sarnia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fifth Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We returned to the Bellevue because of location and helpful staff. The room was VERY small and the TV was also small. The breakfast was adequate and sometimes difficult to find a table. It is critical to ask for a room on the second or third floor facing the park.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    182
    58
    17
    15
See reviews for
51
291
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I loved this hotel and service.
Located in centre of Old Quebec.
Friendly staff, small but cute rooms, great rate, free internet.
Complimentary continental breakfast and great coffee (espresso machine on site) available full day at no extra charge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The location of the hotel was excellent but there are several other hotels in the same district. In addition Quebec City is very small and the historic centre can be easily reached from more peripheral (but quieter) areas. Location is the only (marginal) strength of this badly managed hotel.

Upon arrival in our room we immediately reported a strong noise, making it impossible to sleep or rest. Hotel staff acknowledged the problem but was able neither to fix the problem nor to offer an alternative solution. “We are fully booked tonight, are you looking for a 10% discount?”, we were rudely asked by the hotel staff. We asked to contact the Director of the Hotel that, however, “could not be disturbed on a Friday”. Only after a one hour wait we were offered – “as a personal favour”(!) - a room outside the main building of the hotel (reserved to the hotel staff) with no air-conditioning, no wi-fi, a TV dating back to the 60s and a bathroom last refurbished in the 70s. No apology whatsoever from the hotel! STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: Try and find something different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Management, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We thank you to give us the occasion to say to the traveller’s community that, first of all, if you really want a specific type of room or let us know about request that could help you to have a better stay with us, please contact us directly.

As for noises regarding the pipes, air conditioning or the ventilation system, they are normal noises. The environment of a hotel cannot be free of sounds. Our hotel is located in a very quiet area of the Old Quebec facing a park and has hotels as neighbours. Most of the activities in town are down from where we are (a 5-minute walk).

Moreover, when we are fully booked, usually the rest of the town is also fully booked. In the following situation, we tried our best to help these clients who did not want their room. In hotels, we guarantee a type of room. We cannot downgrade people because others want their room. The room was clean and yes the air conditioning can be noisy. If it disturbs you or if you don’t want to sleep with the air conditioning on, let the front desk knows and we will turn it off completely.

Finally, regarding the badly managed hotel critique, well, we think that everyone, even our manager, has the right to enjoy her weekend with her family. Don’t you think? We understand that you have the right to enjoy as much as you can your stay, but no one is known to have to work 7/24. If there is a problem with your room, we suggest you strongly to contact us and we will give you her email address for a more personal answer if the solution offered by our team at the front desk is not what you were expecting.

We are trying to do our best in every situation and we always hope to come to an arrangement before the departure of our clients when a problem occurs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The otsde of the hotel looked a lot smaller than it did on the hotel's website. The staff were reasonably friendly except there was a gentleman at the desk who looked moody each time I saw him. The room was OK but felt generic and impersonal. In such a quaint city such as Quebec I expected something more personalised. The breakfast was very basic with seemingly the minimum on offer. I would not stay here again nor would i recommed it to anyone. As i was leaving early the following day i asked if i wou be able to take a muffin/tea for breakfast. The taff member did not look happy and instead of being accomodating, he simply said 'only if it is ready' It is far over price and has nothing special to offer. Thre are at least 4 other hotels on the same road as this one that i am sure would be more comfortable, friendly and worthy. A hot cooked breakft also wouldnt go a miss here either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed for three nights and had two deluxe rooms, one on the second floor (219) and one on the third floor (321). The rooms both were very clean and nicely furnished---with stone accent walls, comfortable and attractive furnishings and very nice bathrooms with marble features. The sit-in showers were ideal at the end of long days of sight seeing, and the management and staff were extra accommodating and friendly and recommended good places to eat away from the maddening crowds. Located in a quiet area of the walled Upper City across the street from a park and a block from the Hotel Frontenac and the boardwalk, the Chateau Bellevue is an excellent choice for a small boutique hotel in Quebec. It was the perfect place to celebrate our wedding anniversary and our daughter's engagement. We will be back!

Room Tip: Both 219 and 321 were excellent deluxe rooms. Both have views of the park and the St. Lawrence Rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. A small boutique hotel right next door to the chateau fontinac. We had a deluxe room with a king bed and separate seating area. A massive jacuzzi bath which was fab except on the first nite it somehow managed to turn itself on and was just blowing air and woke us up. But that did not spoil our stay, just gave us something to laugh at! Breakfast was included, it was a continental style and more than enough to start you day with. Great location at the top of town and easy walking distance to all attractions. Maybe a little overpriced but on the whole a pleasant place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Everything was great from arriving to leaving on our 2 night stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, with lots of little extras not normally found. The breakfast choice was very good, and you could even have free coffee/muffins throughout the day. The location was really good for walking around the old city. We spoke to several guests who had returned on several occasions, which speaks for itself. Would definately recommend if you are visiting Quebec.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chateau Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Bellevue

Address: 16 Rue La Porte, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#33 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chateau Bellevue: Quiet comfort assured in the heart of Old QuebecAny reason to visit Quebec City is a great opportunity to stay at Hotel Chateau Bellevue… a perfect location in the heart of Old Quebec, near Dufferin Terrace and the Citadel, with views of Parc des Gouverneurs and the mighty Saint Lawrence River. Come enjoy the historic charm of North America’s only fortified city, discover an exceptionally beautiful architectural heritage, and bask in the comfort and quality service that only a hotel like ours can provide.At Hotel Chateau Bellevue, exceptional comfort and a warm family atmosphere live in peaceful coexistence with all the excitement Old Quebec has to offer, including a front-row seat of major events. Whether you’re passing through Quebec City on business, or looking for a romantic getaway, or sharing a tour with friends, you’ll soon find Hotel Chateau Bellevue has everything it takes to make your visit a success.Hotel Chateau Bellevue also has an awesome array of tour packages for every possible interest. Fine dining, culture, outdoor activities… Whatever you’re looking for, you’ll find terrific options to enjoy and explore. Just contact our hotel staff to make your reservations for the visit of your dreams… today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chateau Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Bellevue Quebec City
Chateau Bellevue Hotel
Hotel Chateau Bellevue Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.