We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Great, Room Fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Terrasse Dufferin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Terrasse Dufferin to your Saves list
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Terrasse Dufferin, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4N5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
VT
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Location Great, Room Fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Up to the fourth floor on the river side is quite a hike, and there's no balcony up here. The third floor on the river side is the place to be. The amount of space is terrific - kitchen, separate bedroom. Not quite spiff, a little tired but acceptable. Parking is close and convenient enough.

The location couldn't be better. When trying to drive here, go through the reception drive at the Chateau Frontenac - saves a lot of time on one-way streets.

We've stayed here before and will here again, but will want to be on the third floor with the balcony. Will recommend it to friends with reservations noted.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    38
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
57
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEW JERSEY< USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

My wife(who is pregnant) and I went to Quebec City during a rare heat wave. We went to our room and thought the a.c wasn't turned on to conserve energy. The room was stifling, so we turned the a.c. on and left for a few hours. When we got back, there was no change in temperature. Obviously the air conditioner was not working. We complained to the manager and were told the a.c. would be working in an hour or so. When we went back to find him he was conveniently not around and tried to dodge us in the morning. When we checked out at noon, he still was not available and we got a COLD apology from the receptionist . Otherwise, great location, clean but dated rooms, short walking distance to shops restaurants and all the sites

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We were thinking of perhaps renting an apartment for a week or 2 as we visit Quebec City often. I read another recommendation for this place and decided to give it a try. It was terrific. For starters, the location can't be beat. We stayed in room #9 for 5 nights. It had a fantastic view of the St. Lawrence, Levis, Ile de Orleans, etc., the same view you pay big bucks for at the Chateau Frontenac, and we love the Frontenac and will stay there again, but this was great. It was like having a french apartment. Seperate bedroom and bath, living room, and small kitchenette, where you could cook stove top but no oven. The building is over 180 years old but is maintained very well. There is no elevator which obviously a problem for anyone who might be handicapped.

While we made our breakfast each day, you can get light fare also each morning for an addtional charge. Parking is also extra. We decided that we are such creatures of habit that anything over a week might be too much, but this place certainly fit our needs and in warmer weather next year we will return.

For a romantic getaway with privacy and the feeling you've escaped to France, this is the spot.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Fabulous location overlooking the St Lawrence and quieter than many in the old city. Both beds were great, contrary to reports from some other reviewers. (I changed rooms to get air conditioning). Back rooms are small, but I liked paying only $99. I would stay there again but reserve in time to get a room with river view. Reserved parking nearby at $15/night.

Wifi, but not for those who need big TV.

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

Over the last 25 years my husband and I have visited Quebec City at least 15 times. We have stayed at 3 different hotels in the City including the Frontenac. We found the Chateau de la Terrasse on our third visit and have never stayed anywhere else since. It is the most spectacular location in the City. It is the only hotel that overlooks Dufferin Terrace and the river. We always stay in one of the 3 forward-facing rooms on the third floor. Room #14 is actually our favorite but the other two are okay; we have stayed in all of them. These rooms all have balconies which overlook the river and you can see across to Levy and watch everything going on on the terrace. The hotel is an old residence....from the early 1800's I believe. They have done the best they can with it. The most disappointing point about Room #14 is the bathroom. The middle room on the 3rd floor has the original bath and it's okay but nothing spectacular. And I am usually pretty fussy about hotel baths but the location of this property is worth the sacrifice. Three days in the city is plenty. We park our car and walk everywhere we want to go. I have traveled quite a bit in North America and some in Europe and I have always thought this city was the most romantic, quaint and European-feeling city in North America. There are museums (though not many), street entertainers during the summer and wonderful restaurants. I wouldn't stay in any rooms facing the back or on the lower level of this hotel. But beware, there are no elevators and limited help so you will most likely be carrying your own bags. But the way I feel about it is that with all the steps in the hotel (and throughout the city for that matter) I can eat as much as I want!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The decor
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

The exterior is a beautifully preserved 19thc residence, and the location is great. The first floor is pleasant, and peeking in at the lodgings across from the office, those accomodations looked much like the pictures on the website. We chose this hotel because we like staying in historic inns, and we prefer to support local businesses instead of big chain hotels when we travel. However, we stayed in 3 rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors over a 6-day period, and each was awful in its own way. None of these rooms are pictured on the hotel's website. They were all shabby and dingy, with uncomfortable beds and dirty floors. In one, the bathroom smelled of mold and the floor was squishy, so we kept the baqthrrom door shut at all times. The room was equipped with a room air-conditioner which we turned on in an attempt to air the room out. When we returned a few hours later, the exhaust hose had been blown into the room by a stiff wind off the St. Lawrence. We were in a sauna! In another room, which had a kitchen, a sign informed us that if we left any dirty dishes we would be charged $20. Fair enough, but there was no dish soap or other cleaning supplies, and wondering a little how previous guests had managed to clean their dishes, we opted not to use the kitchen. The 3rd room was a smoking room (we're non-smokers), and it was impossible to air it out even after we'd been in it for 3 days. We also noticed that in all of the rooms the smoke-detectors were non-functioning.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

I was very apprehensive staying here because of the iffy reviews and I asked constant questions about the hotel via the hotel website. Mirelle was so gracious, patiently answering all of my questions and sending numerous photos of the different rooms so that we could find exactly what we were looking for. We chose room #1 with a private balcony overlooking the river. Our room was quite large. It had two queen beds, a sitting area with a sleeper love seat, and arm chair and coffee table, and a work area with a desk and chair. It had a standard TV with basic cable channels, most but not all in French, a reasonable closet and a small refrigerator. The bathroom was decent size, very clean. The room was very clean, beautiful molded ceiling detail and wonderful old stained glass. Beds were comfy, standard hotel bedding. Everyone was very helpful and so very nice. They do not serve a full breakfast, per se, but they do offer warm croissants with jelly, etc, coffee, tea or hot chocolate and these oatmeal chocolate chip cookie type of things served in your room, in the breakfast area, or on the office balcony. We ate every morning on our own balcony. savoring the view.
The hotel is right above the Terresse Dufferin, Quebec City's boardwalk where there is lots of activity, but it was never so loud that it bothered us. and we had our French doors to the balcony open almost all of the time. The Frontenac is just on the other side of a very small park and the American Consulate is right next door. The Citadel is right on the other side, up the hill.
Truthfully, if you can get a balcony room, there is no better place to stay. The location is perfect, so close to everything and the view is unbeatable. As we walked around we looked at the other hotels we decided we were so glad to have the room that we had. No one else had a view close to being as nice as ours, with a balcony, at least. The Frontenac might be more elegant but paying $165.00 vs $500+ and loose our lovely balcony, no way!
A very few times we were bothered people smoking out on the street near our balcony, but, although they allow smoking at the hotel, our room nor any part of the hotel that I was in never smelled of cigarettes.
So, definitely consider The Chateau Terresse Dufferin , and we would highly suggest room #1!

  • Liked — The location and the history.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Terrasse Dufferin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasse Dufferin

Address: 6 rue Terrasse Dufferin, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4N5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Terrasse Dufferin 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Terrasse Dufferin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Terrasse Dufferin Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Terrasse Dufferin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.