We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manoir de L'Esplanade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Manoir de L'Esplanade to your Saves list
Manoir de L'Esplanade
83 rue d'Auteuil, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4C3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Located in the heart of the old city just outside the gate. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms look newly renovated. A nice Continental breakfast is included.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    48
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
28
69
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Short Hills, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

• Excellent location
• Sumptuous continental breakfast (included. if you prefer a full breakfast - ru St Jean is a 5 minute walk - whihc will build up you appetite)
• Spotless clean rooms
• Room price was reasonable and included breakfast
• Best room on 2nd floor overlooking the street
• Free WiFi worked very well
• Parking (unlimited in-out) 2 blocks away.

CONS
• Bathrooms were small (but I don’t spend my vacations in bathrooms)

Room Tip: 2nd floor street facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atyourdoorstep, Manager at Manoir de L'Esplanade, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We do our best to keep the hotel spotless and one of our staff member prepares the breakfast every day with great care. It is always a pleasure to hear from a satisfied customer and we hope we have the pleasure to receive you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I read the reviews on trip advisor and didn't take heed thinking the bad reviews were just spoiled jaded people but I was wrong and should have listened. For the cost of $180, you get a room in a great location but the room was sub par. Parking was several blocks away. The air conditioning was great when you first walk in the room then they turn it up and you don't have control to turn the temp down. The shower was actually cold, couldn't believe, my first cold shower in a hotel, and the door has a10 digit password instead of a key. Me and my older kids had a hard time getting in the room. For the price of the room, very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atyourdoorstep, Manager at Manoir de L'Esplanade, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We are very sorry to learn that you had a bad experience in our hotel. We wish that you had shared these inconveniences with us during your stay as we would have assisted you in any way possible and done the necessary to solve the problems you encountered.

The lack of cold water certainly comes as a surprise, as it is the first time that we hear of such a problem occuring in the hotel. None of the other guests that were here during your stay complained about anything of the like, nor anybody who stayed in that room before of after. If we had been notified of this at the time, it would have been our top priority to identify and solve the problem if indeed there was a problem within the pipework.

The air conditioning is central and set at a comfortable temperature. The only time it is adjusted is to fit the weather variations. The air flow can be controlled from the room to reach the desired temperature.

While it is true that the initial access code has 10 digits, it can easily be changed for a code as short as 3 digits, by following the 3-step instructions handed out at check-in with the code itself. If at any time a guest encounters a problem with the code or the keypad, our staff is more than happy to help them access the room or program a shorter code.

As for parking : Parking spaces inside the Old City are rare, and while we do have a small parking lot on site, it is not big enough to accomodate all of our customers. Parking d'Youville, located just outside of the walls (and beneath Parc de l'Esplanade, which is across the street from the hotel) is a 1-minute drive from the hotel, and it has a pedestrian exit located even closer.

We are, again, very sorry that you did not seem to enjoy your stay with us. We hope that if you do come back you will find our hotel more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Well-maintained charming old building in a great location just inside the wall, with new-looking modern bathroom fixtures, very comfortable beds, nice views, and plenty of AC on the top floor on what were probably some of the hottest days of the year (90*F). Unpretentious but highly acceptable breakfast. Yes, a bit of headroom lost to the dormers on the top floor, but we didn't miss it, and yes, a bit of a walk to the parking garage, but there was plenty of parking during a very busy weekend, and you don't need a car to get around the village of QC. Our family of four would definitely stay here again. I believe the owners have run this hotel for almost 40 years and should be darn proud of the place - it's a gem.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a small hotel with a family-run atmosphere to it. It is very central and within easy walking distance of all the sights of this lovely city. The breakfast room is fine if a little cramped the bedrooms are comfortable and compact.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The building, originally several townhouses, was charming - the room had brick and stone walls and was large and very comfortable. The desk staff was very helpful and happy to give us directions and restaurant recommendations. The location was great - just within the walls of the Vieux Cite, a short walk to the Frontenac and close to a public garage where we left our car for the duration of our visit. Breakfast wasn't exceptional but was adequate to meet our needs.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back, away from the street, and was very quiet - as well as having a partial vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay in the Old Section of Quebec City. Our Room was spacious bright and very clean. The Bed was a dream! Its a great location for walking around town. Plus a very friendly and helpful staff. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manoir de L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de L'Esplanade

Address: 83 rue d'Auteuil, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Manoir de L'Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir De l`Esplanade Hotel Quebec City
Manoir De L'Esplanade Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoir de L'Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.