We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Well-Appointed Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Manoir Sur-le-Cap to your Saves list
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 av. Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
St. Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Location and Well-Appointed Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed in Room 14 and were very pleased. Check-in was easy and efficient. The room was charming, with exposed wood beams and an updated bathroom. The location is also outstanding, just a short dash down the stairs to the boardwalk and in the heart of upper town, next door to the Chateau Frontenac. It is a short walk to the Citadel and other sights. Be warned there is no elevator, so if you reserve a room on the second or third floor, be ready for the stairs. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    54
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
69
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My parents and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in their newly renovated condo. The hosts were very helpful and accommodating, even with our last-minute reservation. The location is perfect, too -- everything you could want to explore is withing walking distance, which helps to work off all those pastries and tarte au sucre! I will definitely stay here again, any and every time I come to Quebec City.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Do not let the " est. 1836 " sign scare you. Very updated rooms with old world charm. I recommend rooms 14 or 16 if you do not mind stairs. These rooms are at the top floor and are very private with vaulted ceilings exposing the old walls adding to your decor. This hotel does not have an elevator, so plan on a spiral staircase no matter where your room is. The staff is beyond helpful. The desk clerk Rosie was a gem. You need to park your car in a garage and it will cost you $18 to $24 dollars a night depending on which lot you choose. The government lots are the cheapest. Drop your bags off and drive to the government lot. The walk is not that far to make and will save you money, especially if you are having an extended stay. The hotel is located in a spot where no car is needed. Walking allows you to really see the sites. It is very close to the fort where you can see the changing of the guards or go on a ghost tour. Rooms with a view are limited due to the small window sizes and most rooms are without any type of balcony.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our first visit to the city on a motorcycle trip with two other couples. We were referred at the information station to this wonderful hotel. We had the entire upper level to ourselves. The girl at the front desk was very helpful showing us room choices as each room is arranged differently. Beautifully arranged and decorated with different sizes to suit everyones taste and needs. Loved the personal attention! Her recommendation for dinner was right what we were looking for too. Extremely helpful in giving us a place to park our bikes. It is in the upper part of the city so the street out front overlooks the river and all it's activity. Walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our visit was completely enjoyable. Manoir Sur Le Cap was incredibly charming. The staff were so accommodating in every way and knowledgable. The location was even better than we could have anticipated as this was our first visit to Quebec City. Very close to shops & restaurants. Walking distance to Festival D'Ete De Quebec! We stayed in room 14 and loved it. Beautiful high ceilings, just lovely. We intend to return to Quebec City & Manoir Sur La Cap. Thanks for making our visit awesome!

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, top floor rooms high ceilings and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We booked the #1 condo. There were two floors. The first was the bedroom, with a sitting area. A few steps down was the bathroom with a large jetted tub-it was wonderful. Upstairs was a kitchen, eating area, and living area with a gas fireplace. The wall held a Murphy bed. There is also a small deck which offers views of the St. Lawrence River. Look at the website pictures as others have said. Our rooms were so very cosy and charming, and perfectly appointed. It is located right next to all of the Old Walled city attractions, restaurants, a park, and the long huge boardwalk along the St. Lawrence, and the Funicular to the shops down by the river. Staff was very friendly. You cannot beat this place for the charm and location.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Lovely welcome, very helpful staff, well appointed room with fridge, coffee maker, great bathroom. Quiet but handy to all in old city. We enjoyed Room 7 with its view of Chateau copper roofing. Parking available in underground garage nearby at daiky rate.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking park or ask for large room if needed. Unfortunately air con needed as windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manoir Sur-le-Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Address: 9 av. Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manoir Sur-le-Cap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manoir Sur-le-Cap is located near the Château Frontenac and Notre Dame Basilica in Old Quebec, in the the most historic quarter of North America.On this site, facing the Jardin des Gouverneurs, a wooden house was built at the end of the 18th century.After purchasing the property in 1837, William L. Felton had the small house demolished and replaced by a comfortable stone house.Subsequently, Doctor Georges Mellis Douglas, owner of the residence, had the Grosse-Ile opened up for sick immigrants and became their medical superintendent.In 1856 and 1857, the owner of this home was painter Théophile Hamel who lived there after his mariage.The Roy family, owners of the premises since 1967, have preserved the historic cachet of this hotel. Their warm hospitality will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manoir Sur-le-Cap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Hotel Quebec City
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoir Sur-le-Cap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.