We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very cozy inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Manoir Sur-le-Cap to your Saves list
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 av. Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Sterling, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A very cozy inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We found this inn to be very quaint and cozy with its exposed old stone walls and wooden beams. It is located on a quiet block behind the Chateau Frontenac. Although the winding staircase was a little challenging with luggage, it added to the charm of the inn after we were settled in (we stayed on the top floor). There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance. The staff was very helpful although their English is limited (and so is my French). The inn is kept very clean as guests are asked to remove their boots/shoes in the lobby before going upstairs. (This is a common French-Canadien custom I know). We enjoyed the quiet and peaceful atmosphere of the inn after visiting Winter Carnival sites during the day. The room rate was a fair price, although keep in mind the taxes in Canada are significantly more than we are accustomed to in the US. Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    54
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
69
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
falmouth, maine
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

old 4 story place on the same block as the US Embassy, across park from Frontenac. Parking in back. Easy to get to, or at least as easy as anything in a twisty old Euro style city like quebec. Old very tasteful rooms. Do not be misled....this is not a "modern" hotel. No food, few amenities. Hot water, great location, clean as could be, quiet, romantic. two boys loved it. This is the second time my fiancee and I have been there and perhaps her 4th time, and we keep going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I took my Mom to Quebec for this past Mother's Day weekend, and we stayed here for four days. A stones throw from the Chateau Frontenac, it was perfect. Our room was the first door as you entered, which was perfect for my Mom who is 85. The room was perfect! Comfortable with nice decor. No phone, but there was a payphone right outside the door. My calling card took $1.00 + pennies per minute per call to the USA. There was a coffee maker and a basket of packaged muffins & juice, which would get us to lunch.

The only issue we had was asking the receptionist if the funicular to lower Quebec was free. She said yes. Wrong! $2. So that created a little inconvenience. She must have been new. You who've been to Quebec know it is not an inexpensive city, and everything is taxed fairly high. The room ended up at $200 a night, but that also included parking. I would definitely stay there again, though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend in early April of 2012. Our first trip to Quebec city was perfect. The folks at Sur-Le-Cap were the best with dinner suggestions and any other requests. The price was right, and the location even better. We plan to return in 2013 with 3 young sons.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are perfect for couples, but beware the long stair climb. Pack light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great location, family-run, friendly service, quiet, convenient. Glad we chose it for our anniversary vacation! Located on a park, one block from Chateau Frontenac, great views of river out front door. We splurged to stay in the "Condo" room, which was spacious (although two floors gave our knees a workout!) and had a view of the river.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This small hotel is perfectly located. The only thing better would be a room actually in the Frontenac rather than directly across the park. The only real drawback is a tiny bathroom. My husband and I are relatively slim which was a good thing since the shower wouldn't be usable by someone with any extra weight at all.

Room Tip: Go online and look at the rooms. Each is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in the 'Family Room' which was a 2 bedroom with one bath. You have to pass through one of the bedrooms to use the bathroom. Our only complaint really is that the bathroom door 'stuck' once inside. We actually had a few laughs over each one of us getting stuck in the bathroom; it opened easily from the outside but not from the inside. Strange, and I should've mentioned to the inn keeper but it slipped my mind. BUT the our room was nicely decorated, very clean, beautiful, modern bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the hotel is conveniently located. There was no parking left for us behind the hotel so we were told to go to a lot off-site which we never did. We parked in front of the hotel and think we weren't ticketed because of the street construction and resulting confusion outside. We moved our car during the day for site-seeing and were lucky to come back to an on-street parking space in the late afternoon. The inn keepers were very nice people. I'd recommend staying there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manoir Sur-le-Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Address: 9 av. Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manoir Sur-le-Cap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manoir Sur-le-Cap is located near the Château Frontenac and Notre Dame Basilica in Old Quebec, in the the most historic quarter of North America.On this site, facing the Jardin des Gouverneurs, a wooden house was built at the end of the 18th century.After purchasing the property in 1837, William L. Felton had the small house demolished and replaced by a comfortable stone house.Subsequently, Doctor Georges Mellis Douglas, owner of the residence, had the Grosse-Ile opened up for sick immigrants and became their medical superintendent.In 1856 and 1857, the owner of this home was painter Théophile Hamel who lived there after his mariage.The Roy family, owners of the premises since 1967, have preserved the historic cachet of this hotel. Their warm hospitality will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manoir Sur-le-Cap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Hotel Quebec City
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoir Sur-le-Cap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.