We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Le Priori - a little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Priori to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Le Priori - a little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

A delightful little hotel in the heart of Old Quebec City. The location was great, close to lots of lovely resturants, and in a charming area. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and we had a very nice room, quite large in size, and different from your standard hotel rooms, with much more character.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Jenni F,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor!

We are glad to read you have enjoyed our great location and our hospitality! The Old Port is very convenient to explore the Old Québec as it is close to the main attractions in a neighbourhood with a lot of great restaurants and art galleries!

Your feedback about our room is really appreciated! We want to offer an unique atmosphere to our guests as we are located in beautiful historical building.

We will be happy to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    116
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
291
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel to gain an extra night in Quebec following the end of our cruise. We disembarked from the ship in the early morning and took a short taxi ride to the hotel. I had previously arranged to leave our luggage at the hotel well before normal check in so we could begin our touring. When re returned to check in, our luggage was already in the room. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in the lower city just a few minutes walk from Place Royale. It was the perfect location for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear FloridaSunDevil,

Thank you very much for posting this review on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you have enjoyed your extra night in Québec City at Le Priori! Our location, very close to the Pier 22 makes it really easier for cruise passengers to reach us! Furthermore, we can see the ships stationed at Pier 22 from our Front Desk!

Your nice words about our staff are really appreciated, thank you very much! It is always a pleasure to assist our guests!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's fair to say that I had put in a ton of research when it came to planning the accommodations for our Honeymoon. And during that time, I'd witnessed this hotel basically rocket up the charts from the 9th-ranked property to its present listing at #6.

And it's been well-earned... I would highly recommend this location.

Scattered across three nights, we stayed in two separate rooms - the first two nights in La Onze, and the third night in Room 401, which is the spa suite. Candidly, if we had stayed in the spa suite for the entire stay, this would be a five-PLUS-star review. La Onze lowered the bar JUST a smidge.

Let me explain...

The spa suite is welcoming, with a ton of natural light making its way through the many windows on two levels. It just "feels" right... roomy, nice and clean, and impeccably so. As has been mentioned in several reviews, a spiral staircase leads to a second level, which houses a spa upon the deck, along with a daybed and tv inside. We spent a fair amount of time on the deck just enjoying coffee and the arresting view of the Place Royale. For a time, we also had a view of Cunard's Queen Mary 2 as it was anchored in the harbour (oh, please note: actual cruise line and ship may vary).

By comparison, La Onze, while roomy, suffers from its location upon the ground floor of the complex. With little natural light, it doesn't help that the flooring and walls in the unit are likewise dark. It could probably use a little bit of room 401's light-wood touches... and it's compounded by the fact that you need to close the drapes in order to ensure privacy during your stay, thereby leading to a bit of a stuffy, claustrophobic feeling.

I might add that we enjoyed a fantastic dinner in the adjoining restaurant, Toast... and also enjoyed absolutely wonderful complimentary breakfasts in the same restaurant each morning. Service was tremendous, with a front desk staff that is entirely accommodating and friendly. We were also given a bottle of sparkling wine for our Honeymoon and were greeted every so warmly by Erwan, the property's general manager, which was a tremendous touch.

We'd stayed in the famed Fairmont Chateau de Frontenac on one night prior to our Le Priori stay and had a wonderful time there, but if there was a way to spend all four nights in the spa suite, we would have jumped at it in a heartbeat. With its location in charming and beautiful Basse-Ville while just steps from a vibrant upper town, you really cannot go wrong with Le Priori.

Room Tip: Go with room 401, the spa suite, if you can. But don't you dare book it when we want to return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear DaddyVegas,

Thank you very much for your exhaustive and well-documented review on Trip Advisor!

We are very thankful about your nice comments about our progression on Trip Advisor. Every member of our team is giving its best everyday to offer to our guests a memorable experience and it is very encouraging for us to read on this website that our guests have a great time with us!

Your nice description of our Junior Suite with spa is very complete! Thank you for highlighting the work of our housekeeping department!

Thank you for your feedback about our Junior Suite La Onze. We are always looking for improvements and we will take it into consideration when we will repaint it this winter!

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in our Junior Suite with Spa, maybe to celebrate your first wedding anniversary?

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed for just one night in suite #401 before leaving on a cruise.. This room was really different and we loved it. Located in a separate building, this suite has a mini kitchen as well as a spiral staircase leading to a room with many windows, a seating area and access to a balcony with a hot tub. The weather was very cool but we still had coffee outside to enjoy a lovely view of Place Royale. This hotel is perfectly located in the old town to take advantage of the shops, restaurants and atmosphere. A couple of things to know ahead of time. If you come by car, you have to park on a narrow cobblestone street to unload your luggage, pick up a parking card and drive to the parking lot. Not far but a bit of a walk. Then you check in. No valet service. Also, the suite was located in a separate building. meaning a walk to the main building for ice and for breakfast. Neither of these things were enough to bring down our overall rating but would have been "nice to know" ahead of time. We will plan to stay at this hotel again when the weather is warmer and we can enjoy the lovely outdoor restaurant area. It was still beautiful in October.

Room Tip: #401 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Ann043,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are all delighted to read that you found in our Junior Suite with Spa #401 the most unusual room you ever stayed in! It is true that this suite with its private spa and balcony is very unique to Québec City and we are very proud to offer it to our guests!

Parking is not very easy in Old Quebec but our available parking spots at Dalhousie parking just down the street is very convenient as we have guaranteed spots all year long. We do not have a valet service as a majority of our guests do not visit us with a car. Furthermore, the parking can be easily reached with a two-minute walk.

We will be thrilled to welcome you back, dinner is served outside during summer and the courtyard is beautiful at this time of year!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here with our 6 month old son and it was the perfect spot for us to make base. Very close to everything, walking distance within 3 minutes and parking is close by as well only 3 minute walk as well. The staff was super friendly and answered our every question even going above and beyond for me about finding a certain location i couldn't locate. Also with having our 6 month old son we found that how the hotel offered "in room" complementary delivery for an extra couple dollars was great as it saved us having to get our son all dressed and downstairs so we that this was extra great! We would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Danny T,

Thank you very much for your pictures and your review!

Your pictures really render well the atmosphere of our streets in summer nights, congratulations! We are very happy to read you have enjoyed your stay with us and found convenient our in room delivery for breakfast! It is only CAD 3.00 per tray and can save a lot of time for families or business guests on the go!

Your kind words about our staff are very much appreciated! It is always a pleasure for everyone of us to assist our guests and make sure they are enjoying their time with us!

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juno Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Bon jour! We stayed for 5 nights and could have stayed for another 5. A big thank you to all the wonderful staff who made our 5th year anniversary celebration perfect. The location was phenomenal, quiet but close to everything. The quaint shops are wonderful with many hand crafted items made locally. No need to rent a car, and the hotel was gracious to coordinate the transportation to and from the airport. It was more expensive than a taxi but well worth it. Very professional, spotless vehicle, and friendly drivers. We stayed in the Williams suite and enjoyed the space, the fireplace, and the bathroom had a nice soaking tub with jets. The breakfast was excellent and held us over until our next pastry stop! We especially appreciated the bottled water and the tea kettle in the room to boil water for hot tea, as well as the nespresso machine in the room. Everything was good quality. We enjoyed a glass of wine and champagne on the balcony overlooking the courtyard and the beautiful fall leaves. We visited other 5 star hotels that we had considered, and for the location, price, and atmosphere, this is still our number one choice and when we visit Quebec City again, we will definitely choose Le Priori.

Room Tip: Splurge for one of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear LnLbirds,

Thank you very much for reviewing Le Priori on Trip Advisor!

It was a pleasure to host you for your fifth year anniversary and we are all delighted to read that it will be remembered! The William Suite offers an unique atmosphere with its separate entrance and its two levels. It features a great King size bed, a huge slate bathroom and a nice balcony!

The Old Port is a great base to explore our beautiful city and enjoy the great restaurants we have in Lower Town! Thank you for your positive feedback about our complimentary breakfast buffet! As there is a lot of walking to do in Québec City, it is important to start the day with as much energy as needed!

We are very proud to read that you would consider our four star property as a five star, this is very encouraging for the entire staff!

We will be happy to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed for four nights at this boutique hotel after the Thanksgiving Weekend. We decided to splurge and reserve a spacious room. It was off season and the rate was quite reasonable. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the linens were fresh and of excellent quality. I enjoyed the bath tub, even though it is in the main part of the room. It was nice to have a hot bath after walking all over Quebec city in the cool fall weather! The shower was also top of the line. The breakfast which was included in the package was excellent. The front desk staff was very accommodating and patient with our questions. They booked a tour for us, as well as a very early morning taxi to the airport. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is in the lower part of the old town but is close to all sorts of historic sites, restaurants, and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Heather M,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you have enjoyed our spacious rooms! They overlook our courtyard and offer more space than our standard rooms and a nice antique clawfoot tub! Thank you for your positive feedback about our showers! They are environmental friendly : jets and showerheads reduce water consumption without compromising pressure.

Our front desk staff is always happy to assist our guests and offer directions and reccomendations to make the most of Québec City!

Thank you for recommending us, it really means a lot to us!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Priori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.