We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Funky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Priori to your Saves list
Hotel Le Priori
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic and Funky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our quiet two night stay at Le Priori in late December 2012. By luck, it dumped snow those two days and we experienced Quebec under a blanket. The hotel is so well situated that we were able to easily walk everywhere we wanted (including to and from the train station) even in the foot-deep snow. Our room on the top floor was especially quiet and overlooked a narrow street and water. Funky looking room with brick and an interestingly designed bathroom.

Enjoyed the friendly front desk service and breakfast was delish.

Room Tip: Top floor, water-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Laura T,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor!

It is a real pleasure for our staff to read you have enjoyed your stay with us! Québec City is beautiful under the snow and our convenient location allows our guests to explore the Old Town by foot even with some snow on the streets!

Thank you as well for your nice words about our staff and our breakfast!

We will be delighted to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    139
    25
    3
    4
See reviews for
51
368
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first time in Bas Ville (lower town) and we enjoyed every minute. We didn't spend a whole lot of time in the hotel but when we did, the staff was attentive and delightful, the breakfasts complete and delicious, and the room, decor, and ambiance perfect.
This is an old building (so old there are very tight restrictions on what can be done to it) so you will hear some noise from time to time. The elevator is small but the stairs handy.
It was wonderful to step outside and begin each day in Quebec.
We can highly recommend this hotel to couples. It may be too hip for families but our kids are grown so we are enjoying empty-nest status.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear DanMc61,

Thank you very much for sharing pictures and words about your stay with us!

We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed our spacious rooms! Our location is indeed very nice to discover the Basse Ville and its charm. We are also very close to the Haute Ville section of the Old Town!

We thank you very much for your kind comments about our staff and breakfast!

Your recommendation is very valuable to us, merci beaucoup!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Very kind employees helping out with all wishes I had. Loved the stone walls in my room and the nice smell like in Provence - France. And it is also located very near to the heart of pedestrian area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Marcel S,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor!

We are glad to read you have enjoyed your stay in Québec City with us! Thank you for your very positive feedback on our staff. We are all always happy to help our guests so they can enjoy our city as much as possible!

We would be happy to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

One of the travel books we had described this hotel as 'rigorously modern' and I think that term fits. The hotel is in a great location, fairly pricey, and parking is a long block away. The rooms are done in black and white, chrome and steel, and you may be surprised - as we were - to find the bathroom sink in the bedroom. Certain allowances for renovation of a several-hundred year old building into a hotel. Staff very courteous and buffet breakfast a plus.

Room Tip: fifth floor rooms (others besides?) may have intermittent Wi-Fi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear slowtime,

Thank you very much for writing a review on Trip Advisor!

All the staff is happy to read you have enjoyed our ideal location in the Old Port of Québec City! It is indeed very convenient to discover our beautiful city as the major attractions are at walking distance.

Thank you for your nice feedback about our complimentary breakfast buffet; we want all our guests to start the day with as much energy as they need to explore our city! We have taken good note of your comment about our WiFi and will further investigate with our supplier.

We work hard to offer the best value possible to our customers and it is always nice to receive feedback encouraging us in this way, merci beaucoup!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We love Le Priori and had a wonderful time in the Jr. Spa Suite - The staff could not have been more friendlier and the rooms are spotless and tastefully decorated. All our family were staying at the hotel for our Wedding and the location was perfect and walking distance to the Church.
We plan on visiting again.

Room Tip: It is worth it to upgrade to the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Crossmolina,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

It was a real pleasure for our staff to welcome you and your family for your wedding in Québec City! We are delighted to read you have enjoyed our Junior Suite with Spa which is for sure one of the most original rooms in the Old Town! Its spectacular view on Notre Dame des Victoires and Place Royale makes it an unique accommodation for a couple!

Thank you for your nice words about our staff! It is important to us to offer a memorable experience to our guests. Every department gives its best to reach this goal!

We will be delighted to welcome you back, maybe to celebrate your first anniversary?

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We picked this hotel for a one-night stay after completing a cruise in Quebec. It couldn't have been a better location as we were able to easily walk to the hotel from the port, about 5 blocks. It is a lovely charming hotel, and we chose the junior suite, #11, which was very spacious and well appointed. The front desk people were so helpful, and we were lucky to get a late checkout on Sunday when we left. The hotel is located in the lower Old City, and within walking distance of everything. I can confidently recommend this hotel to anyone desiring a clean, charming hotel in a great location, with great breakfast and very helpful staff.

Room Tip: The rooms with the spa tubs are well worth it. They are so nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear yopps,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you had a nice stay with us in our Junior Suite la Onze #11. Thank you for your kind words about our staff who is dedicated to offer to our guests a memorable experience while in Québec City!

Our location is indeed very convenient to discover our beautiful city and it comes very handy for cruise passengers as one of the terminals is just in front of the hotel!

Thank you for highlighting the great job of our housekeeping department. They strive to ensure that all our customers enjoy everyday a neat and comfy room!

Your recommendation is very valuable to us, thank you very much!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and just returned from a weekend celebration of our 25th anniversary in Quebec. We stayed at the Hotel Le Priori and we were just blown away by this place. Starting from check in to check out the staff took care of our every request with graciousness and utmost speed. The excellent free morning breakfast started our days off on the right foot and the hotel location was perfect to explore everything old Quebec had to offer. Would love to visit Quebec again and will definitely make a point of staying at Le Priori again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the junior suite with the jacuzzi on the second floor and it was the coolest suite we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Theil13,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor!

We are glad to read that your 25th anniversary celebration at Le Priori will be remembered! The Junior with Spa is definitely one of our most romantic suites and its balcony offers unique views on Place Royale and Notre Dame des Victoires church.

Thank you for your nice words about our staff! It is always a pleasure for us to assist our guests! Your nice feedback on our location is also very appreciated! It is very handy to explore Québec City from the Old Port. We are happy to see you found our complimentary breakfast buffet to your taste!

We will be delighted to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#22 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Priori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.