We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Old charm with modern decor in the heart of Old Quebec” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Priori to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Old charm with modern decor in the heart of Old Quebec”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Le Priori is in the wonderful Old Quebec, minutes from the Chateau Frontenac and all the wonderful shops. The staff are excellent, and helpful in every way. The rooms are charming, with the old brick walls but the ultra modern decor, it's just delightful. You are across the street from a wonderful Italian restaurant, and the hotel itself has a unique french cuisine restaurant. Ideally located and wonderful in every way. You will get a great sleep, it is located on a quiet one way street and the beds are soooooo comfy!

Room Tip: There are 5 floors, rooms on the top floor at the front of the hotel have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear GPB158,

Thank you very much for reviewing Hotel Le Priori on Trip Advisor!

It is a great pleasure for all the staff to read you have enjoyed your stay with us! Our location is indeed very interesting as it allows our guests to walk to the main attractions in the Old Québec! The Old Port is a quiet neigborhood with many great dining options and a lot of beautiful art galleries!

We are very happy to read you liked our standard rooms located in our historical building! Thank you for your kind words about our beds, sleep quality is of paramount importance to us.

We would be delighted to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    123
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
38
307
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my second trip to QC with my husband to celebrate our July anniversary. Last year we stayed at St. Antoine, which was lovely, but a little sterile and very expensive. We passed Le Priori and made note that is might be a good alternative.

We made the right choice! We stayed for 2 nights in July in a junior spa suite. 2 floors and amazing! Comfy beds, well appointed rooms and lots of personality. We wish we had more time to just hang out in the room! The spa and view were amazing. The included breakfast was a nice array of hot and cold choices and the homemade granola / oat bars were fantastic. We did not eat dinner but it was always crowded and looked very good.

We will not hesitate to book again next year. Special thanks to Tricia and the very attentive front staff who recognized our anniversary with a bottle of champagne. They helped us with parking, taxis, local restaurants and made us feel very special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sarah M,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor!

We were very happy to read you had a special anniversary with us! It is very encouraging for our staff to read such nice words about our service and our Junior Suite with Spa! This suite is definitely one of our most exciting rooms. Its private spa on a balcony with a tremendous view on Place Royale is unique in Quebec City!

Your special thanks will be extended to our front desk staff who is always happy to offer its assistance to our guests!

Thank you as well for your appreciation of our complimentary breakfast buffet! We think it is important to start the day by a nice meal!

We will be happy to welcome you next year!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A charming small boutique hotel in what I think is a great location of Old Quebec! A true gem in my opinion not only for it's unique charm in decor and ambiance but also for the amazingly hospitable and helpful staff. By the time we left at the end of our 4 day trip, we weren't just saying good bye to the "hotel staff", but rather to what we considered our new friends, Kimberly and Erwan! They truly made the experience at Hotel Le Priori memorable with their warm and welcoming nature as well as their helpful advice and tips! Now please keep in mind the hotel is a small hotel but that's what makes it charming and the complimentary breakfast is a great "complimentary" offering, more than what most hotels offer and the quality of the food was very good.(Now I will go as far to say the croissants were just as good as the ones at Pillards! ) I also loved the fact that they had complimentary bottled water in the lobby area everyday which was wonderful.

If you are looking for a large brand name hotel were you are just another guest who gets lost in the shuffle and no one remembers your name...this isn't a hotel for you!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear ahage,

Thank you very much for posting your experience on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read your stay with us met your expectations! All our staff is passionate and dedicated to offer to our guests a memorable experience while in Quebec City!

Your nice words about our complimentary breakfast buffet are really appreciated, thank you very much! We will pass them on to the Toast! restaurant team who crafts many items of our buffet.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific palisades, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Four of us stayed in the Rolf Benz suite for two night and could not have been more comfortable. A truly lovely room and a great bathroom with both a soaking tub and nice walk-in shower. we had dinner in the restaurant in the courtyard - excellent small plates and good wine list. The location of the hotel is great - right in the middle of the small streets along the river with great shopping and restaurants in both directions. The trek up to the Chateau is short but strenuous - we were happy with the exercise, but be warned. Parking is in a lot along the river - they will give you a pass at the front desk upon checkin. Breakfast is a small buffet and quite good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear bearwald,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you had a great family stay with us! The Rolf Benz suite is a very nice suite for families as it offers a wide space and two great Queen beds!

Thank you for your kind words on our ideal location. As you kindly mention, we are very close to the Chateau and the walled city is easy to reach by funicular for guests who do not want to use the Côte de la Montagne.

We will be delighted to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A boutique hôtel, cute, efficient, clean. Rooms are small, the sink is in the bedroom, but it worked out quite well. Exposed brick, art work, cool ambiance. Much better than a chain hotel, great location, didnt have to use the car at all while we were there.

Room Tip: Inquire about the larger rooms. Very quiet hotel, very private, friendly staff, some were more hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear blissful39,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read you have enjoyed our standard rooms. Nestled in our historical building, they offer a quiet and cosy setting to rest after exploring the city. I am glad to read you appreciated the way we optmized space.

Thank you for highlighting our great location! It is so convenient to stay in the Old Port to discover what our beautiful city has to offer!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is very nice, the location is great only a short walk from old town. The room was clean even though a bit small. Very silent.
The staff was helpful indicated different places to visit.
Breakfast wa ok, not a huge variety but ok. The girl that was serving breakfast seemed new and kept dropping things but pleasant otherwise.
I would definitely stay here again if I were to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Georgeta D,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you have enjoyed our ideal location and the quietness of our hotel. Thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of our rooms! Our housekeeping staff is dedicated to offer clean and comfy rooms!

Your feedback on our complimentary breakfast buffet is appreciated and will be passed on to the restaurant team.

We will be happy to welcome you back if you return to Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Location of the hotel is excellent, the staff was very friendly. She took me away from the counter to sit down and explain all the activities that took place around the hotel. Was the best hotel from our 3 week trip to Canada. Restaurant Toast was also very good, price/quality a little bit high, but I recommend everyone to have your dinner here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear SPLH2285,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

We are very proud to be your favourite Canadian hotel from your 3-week trip in our country! Our staff is always happy to give directions and nice addresses to enjoy Québec City!

The Old Port is right in the action but in a quiet neighbourhood, it is very convenient to discover the Old Town and what our city has to offer!

Your nice words about Toast! restaurant are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to their team!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Priori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.