We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Priori to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Awesome Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Le Priori was phenomenal. We stayed in the Junior Suite with Spa; I highly recommend this room. It is very spacious, and has a great view of the Notre Dame Cathedral from the spa deck and day bed. It was the perfect spot to relax after walking around the city before heading to dinner and after. The entire staff was more than accommodating with suggestions for places to eat (make reservations) and other sites to see in the city (private walking tour) and outside. The location was great being on a quiet street that looks straight to the St. Lawrence River. The walk up to the upper city only took a few minutes mainly because of the climb. We would definitely stay at Le Priori again.

Room Tip: An upgrade to the junior suites is worth the price. The Junior Suite and Spa was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Ryan C,

Thank you very much for commenting your honeymoon on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read that your honeymoon in our Junior suite with spa #401 will be remembered. It is definitely a unique room in Quebec City! The hot tub can be enjoyed all year long and offers a great view on Place Royale!

We put a lot of effort and passion in our mission and it is very encouraging for our entire staff to read such a review! Thank you very much!

Thank you for highlighting our great location! The Old Port is always a great place to stay, especially in summer with all the events taking place along St Lawrence River!

We will be more than happy to welcome you back in Québec City for a wedding anniversary or any other occasion!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    130
    22
    3
    4
See reviews for
45
330
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had an awesome experience ~ front desk staff suggested great places to eat and made reservations at restaurants for us as well. Reservations is key during the summer, otherwise you wait (which happened to us). The loft style rooms are modest with a very boutique feeling. Continental breakfast is convenient to start off the day. We would come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear rebelrunna,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay with us on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you had an awesome experience at Le Priori! Thank you for your kind words about our breakfast! As you kindly mention, we feel it is important to start the day with a nice meal!

Québec City is very busy during summer and it is true that reservation at restaurants and activities is important to make the most of a trip!

We will be glad to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It looked great from the photos on their website, but the room felt crowded and the bed uncomfortable. The shower door when opened took up most of the bathroom. All that would have been reasonable if the room had not been so expensive. Perhaps we were paying for the location, which was perfect for nice walks both to the waterfront and the hills behind the hotel, and removed from the large crowds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Carol S,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

I am really sorry to read you did not enjoy the size of our regular rooms. As our main building is part of the Historic District of the Old Québec (Unesco), we do not have the ability to modify the size of our regular and spacious rooms.

However, we were able to optimize the size of our Junior Suites and Suites located in our two other buildings with dimensions up to 1,000 square feet. Our Junior Suites, and especially the Junior Suite with Spa, have received a very positive feedback since their opening in May 2012.

When we redesigned our website this year, we hired a professional photographer to take pictures of our rooms. We asked him to give the most loyal rendition of our rooms and he did a great job.

We often receive a great feedback on the value for money we offer. We are definitely in the lower bracket of hotel prices in the Old Port and work all year long to offer competitive rates to our valued guests. In addition to this commitment, we do not use yield management so our guests can always get the best rate whenever they book their stay.

Thank you for highlighting our beautiful location. We are close to the main attractions of Québec City, but in a quiet neighbourhood with great restaurants and very interesting art galleries.

We thank you very much for your feedback,

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

While it isn't cheap, they offer a perfect location in an upscale area of Q city, but also a little away from the majority of the crowds(which are in the upper part of the city). We paid extra for a larger room and would recommend you doing the same. The regular rooms seem rather small. I found the breakfast to be more than adequate. Most items were good, except the eggs were qutie ruunny on all three mornings we were there. All the women who work at the front desk were helpful. They work very hard but always have smiles on their faces.
While I would recommend the hotel, and would possibly stay again(even though there are a few other good ones within a few blocks), there are some things I had issue with.
1.As others have stated, the sink in the bedroom concept seemed odd to me. It was also inconvienient because there was no shelving next to the sink where one could put their toiletries.
2. There was a guy cleaning the outside windows to our 5th story room at 8 am. Seems a little early if you ask me.
3. The lighting in the room was downright awful. To be honest it had the worst lighting of any decent hotel I have stayed at. I don't think it would take much of an investment for the hotel to improve the lighting.
4. For the price we paid I thought the furniture, and furnishings should have been of a higher quality than IKEA.

In conclusion, I would probably stay here again if the price was right, but I would also look at other places. The staff and location are what make this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that gets lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Levitt,

Thank you very much for posting our 300th review on Trip Advisor!

I am glad to read you have appreciated our hospitality and our location. As you kindly mention it, the Old Port is definitely an ideal base to explore our beautiful city! The Lower Town is indeed much more quiet than the Upper Town in summer.

As our hotel has been classified as a historic building and has 30 inches thick stonewalls, we did our best to optimize the size of our rooms with these legal and technical restrictions. We always think about ideas to improve storage spaces. We have installed a set mirror with storage on each side so our customers can place their toiletries.

I am a bit surprised you found our hotel pricy. We do receive a lot of positive feedbacks on the value for the money our guests have. We do work hard to provide competitive rates and our breakfast buffet is offered all year long. Your comments about the eggs have been passed on to the morning Chef.

Please receive our apologies for the inconvenience caused by the window cleaners. We kindly asked them to clean our windows around 11:00am and they showed up at 7:00am. I will make sure to get us scheduled in the afternoon to avoid this situation in the future.

Your feedback about our lighting has been passed on to our owners. We invested in LED technology to offer a greener environment to our guests this fall.

While we have nothing against the Swedish brand you mention, we do not work with them or their equivalent. I do not think their products would fit in our boutique hotel or last two seasons. Our furniture comes from Italy or is especially made for us by recognised craftsmen from our province. We are very proud to use quality products from our region.

Your kind words about our Front Desk staff are very appreciated and have been passed on to the team!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Qubec, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had chosen this hotel because of the great reviews on TripAdvisor. However,the location was not well indicated and I did NOT realise it was outside the Old Québec wall and in the lower side of Old Québec. This means it is a little trek to get to the upper more popular area of sightseeing and area for restaurants.

However, the hotel itself is quite nice! It has a contemporary decor with a restaurant (Le Toast) attached to it.

Best feature: Great breakfast included with price of hotel.
Positives: large room, quiet, insulated windows, we had a small view of the river.

Negatives: Not on upper Old Québec

It did though allow us to visit the lower part of Old Québec and in the end, since we had already seen the upper Old Québec during other trips, the location ended-up being fine for us. There are several nice stores with art works, clothes boutiques, and some restaurants as well. Not far there is a square area (Place Royale) not far with a Church that is SO charming with a nice Italian restaurant (casual fair) called La Pizz.

A note on the hotel's restaurant Le Toast:
It is VERY expensive but we ate there once. The food is amazing, BUT the portions are small. I really thought that for $43 my husband's steak was quite miniscule! Though it was the tastiest steak I've ever had! But I wouldn't go again....the appetisers were extra! There are many other restaurants in Old Québec that you can have a delicious meal withou paying $43 just for the main dish + appetiser+ wine+ taxes+ tip!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Isabel2706,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor!

I am sorry to read you did not enjoy our location. We try to be very specific on our beautiful Old Port location on our official website and on Trip Advisor. Although we are not located in the Upper Town, our main building is part of the Historic District of the Old Québec and therefore of the World Heritage List of Unesco.

Being in the Old Port is always enjoyable during events in the Upper Town: we are a stone’s throw from the action but in a quiet area of the Old City. We are very lucky to have as well wonderful gourmet restaurants and art galleries. Place Royale is also very close, it can be even seen from our Junior Suite with Spa.

Thank you for your nice comments about our complimentary breakfast buffet. We believe it is important to start the day with a great meal! I am glad to read you have enjoyed our regular rooms.

Toast! restaurant has changed its menu last Thursday. For more information, you can visit their official website.

We thank you very much for your feedback,

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

First of all, great location. A short block from the Museum of Civilization, as well as the steps up to the Frontenac.

Really friendly service on check-in. Lovely staff who spoke English, helped my husband with the parking (it's in an outdoor lot two short blocks away across the street from the Museum; they give you a key card for it, which you pay for). When we were scrambling to park, they brought my bags up to the room.

Our room overlooked the courtyard on the third floor, which was set up for the restaurant (Toast). It was a tiny bit noisy at around 9:30 but only because there was a rowdy birthday party at the restaurant. But it was generally lovely, and the courtyard was covered but surrounded by trees.

Plenty of great eating options nearby. One was on the same street about a block away - Bistro something.

The room was not huge, but an OK size. Free wifi Internet worked fine. Gorgeous decor; exposed brick walls and a modern sink were in the main part. Beds were comfy. The bath part was a stand-up modern shower and toilet. The shower was amazing - you'll see what I mean.

My only significant complaint was the light to the toilet/shower part had a very noisy fan which couldn't be turned off without turning off the light (necessary because the bath was interior). I actually brought a small light in late at night so I could avoid waking my husband!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Pezworld,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Priori and our convenient location in the heart of the Old Port of Québec City! We are very lucky to have a lot of great dining options nearby, from the gourmet sandwiches to the Relais et Chateau restaurant!

Thank you for your nice feedback about our staff! We are all dedicated to offer a great experience to our guests.

Toast! restaurant can be sometimes animated during summer nights. That is why we invested in a very quiet air conditioning system so our guests can sleep in peace with the desired temperature. Our double paned windows are also effective to isolate the room.

We are thinking about how we could improve this part of our property to make it even more enjoyable and your feedback about the fan is very appreciated.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were finishing up a 2 week vacation and what a way to end. For 2 nights we were treated like royalty at this beautiful hotel. Conveniently located just outside the walled Quebec, but within walking distance of everything. It is a uniquely decorated and funky hotel that perfectly combines old with new. The rooms were well appointed with very comfortable beds, great linens and high end toiletries. Robes, iron, water, also in the room. Very nice. We were on the third floor directly above the entrance with a great view to the river (or in port cruise ship) Although a busy thoroughfare, it is mostly pedestrian and we found it very quiet. The staff were all exceptional, making us feel welcome and truly valued guests. Kimberly, offered great advise on where to dine and what to see. Cold water or hot coffee was always available in the lobby. Breakfast (included with room price) was really good. Large buffet with many choices, all fresh. This was a finale not to be forgotten thanks to this Hotel. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear ATRT,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

We are very proud to read you have enjoyed the end of your vacation with us! Thank you so much for your nice comments about our entire staff: we are all dedicated to offer to our guests an exceptional stay in our beautiful city!

Our location is hard to beat! The Basse Ville is a destination in itself and is the perfect base to discover Québec City! Thank you for your feedback on our complimentary breakfast buffet. It is important for us that our guests enjoy a great breakfast to start the day!

We will be definitely happy to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Priori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.