We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Priori to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed one night; I found my room very clean and the bed very comfortable! I would definitely go back.

The buffet style breakfast was excellent. Keep up the excellent work; you made me feel very welcomed!! Free wifi was a bonus!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Hole_Hole,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive input about our complimentary buffet. We want to make sure every guest enjoys a great hot and cold breakfast to start the day!

We are very happy to read you liked our hospitality: we want all our guests to feel home at Le Priori!

Your recommendation is the best reward we can get: merci beaucoup!

We will be happy to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    119
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
300
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was a fantastic place to stay. We had a beautiful suite, with fireplace, and it was modern, comfy, and the staff were nice to deal with! So nice, that we cancelled our prior fancy restaurant reservations, and opted to stay in with take-out and a movie. Great location within walking distance to nice shops, galleries and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear redstella2,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

It is a great pleasure for us to read you had great stay with us! It is always rewarding when our guests want to spend more time in their rooms because they feel home and comfy!

Your nice comments about our staff and location are highly appreciated, thank you very much!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay to for a taste of 'Old Quebec City' with a bit of luxury!

The room was large and immaculate with a beautiful soaking tub to warm up in.

All of the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. The restaurant 'Toast' was a lovely find with some beautiful modern French cuisine.

The location is amazing and the perfect starting point to explore Old Quebec City.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Karen N,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor!

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are glad to read you enjoyed your stay. I would like to thank you for your very kind words about our staff. All the team gives its best everyday to ensure that all our guests enjoy a memorable stay.

We are very proud of our ideal location: we are close to the main attractions of our lovely city but in a quiet neighbourhood.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

First of all I have to say that Quebec is extremely artistic and vibrant city. Every shop has it's own character/charm and not the two of them look alike. I was simply enchanted by timeless atmosphere that was present in every store - and also the artists who were more than willing to tell you the stories of their products. My husband and I were there in January and the city was marvelously decorated and still felt very Christmasy and festive. Lots of snow added the real winter-wonderland feeling...

As for the hotel; it was one of the most charming hotels where things were just perfect. Even when some strange smell could be scent nearby the hotel, we received a bottle of local sparkling wine with an apology. How attentive! When we arrived at the reception we were greeted by Ms. Tanya, who was so kind and attentive. She explained absolutely everything about the city and its' attractions. She showed us to our junior suite, which was very clean (jet we actually never noticed the cleaning lady, but the suite was immaculately attended!), spacious with a huge mirror :-) and a big cosy king-size bed. The breakfast was simple in choice but fresh. In the afternoon the breakfast area changed into a full scale gastronomic restaurant which was absolutely wonderful (The Toast). They had a great selection of vines and very interesting menu with few small dishes, where you can choose two or three different things and that way taste many different tastes. Our favorite dessert was the cheese plate with sweet wine and Port. We loved the waiters there; they really knew their food as well as how the match it with wine.

It was really more than we expected.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear helena_greenwald,

Thank you very much for commenting your stay on Trip Advisor!

Your exhaustive review is very appreciated; it pictures well the vibe of our city during Christmas!

We are very glad to read your stay at Le Priori exceeded your expectations. We want all our guests feel at home and it is always a pleasure for us to share information about Quebec City.

Thank you for your positive comment about the cleanliness of our rooms. Our housekeeping department gives its best everyday to ensure all our guests feel at home! Your glowing review of Toast! restaurant will be passed on to their team and I am sure they will be very happy to receive such compliments!

We will be delighted to welcome you back if you plan another trip to our beautiful city!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing, so beautiful, clean amazing service and incredibly designed rooms. We stayed in the junior suite with spa, it was incredible. Real fire place, amazing view and hot tub, as well as 3D television which we could rent movies from the front. Toast restaurant was great. The hotel staff really catered to us.
-The Manna's

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Manna6,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read that your stay in our Junior suite with spa #401 will be remembered. We put a lot of effort and passion in our mission and it is very encouraging for our entire staff to read such a review!

The Junior Suite with Spa is definitely a great experience! Its spa is working all year long and the balcony offers an incredible view on Place Royale!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were in Quebec City for three nights and stayed our last night here with friends from Newfoundland. We chose Hotel Le Priori because we wanted a two bedroom unit with a living room so we could visit. When I made the reservations I asked for a unit with two bedrooms. I asked if the bedrooms were private. I was advised they had one unit that would work. . When we arrived we checked in and found one bedroom and the other bed in the living room. The one bedroom was not so private as the top part of the room was open. We just settled in and did not complain....perhaps they would of made some changes? This unit was more for a family, not friends. Breakfast is also included in the rate, but an extra $40.00 for our friends. The breakfast was horrible. The place was clean and to be fair perhaps the communication between myself and the front desk caused this error on our choice of the room. I can forgive that, but do improve your breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear russdorth,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

I am very sorry to read your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We want all our guests to feel at home with us and we would have been happy to work on a solution if you had shared your preoccupations with us. In order to make sure our guests like our accommodations, we require our front desk to be very specific on our suites configuration. I will further investigate to make sure this was the case with your booking.

It is very important to us to offer a crystal clear price policy. That is why all our room rates are always given on a double occupancy basis with breakfast offered. As many of our colleagues, we do have a price policy for additional guests. This ensures us to fairly price our rooms based on their occupancy.

We do receive a lot of positive remarks on our breakfast served by Toast! restaurant. We always want to improve our service and it would be very much appreciated if you could address me more specifically what did not suit you on this matter. You can contact me directly at erwan.franchet@hotellepriori.com and I will share your insights with their team.

Thank you again for your feedback,

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Loved this hotel centrally located in the lower town near restaurants, walk to farmers' market, shopping, pubs and the cruise line terminal. Breakfast was very good and reception service was superb. Rooms are unique and spacious with exposed brick and stone walls and all modern conveniences including hairdryer and bathrobes. It was an easy location to get to all the historical sites and walk to the upper town. I would stay there again and recommend it to others. The pictures on the website accurately reflect the rooms and amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear LynnPowers,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you enjoyed our central location. Being located in the Old Port is great as it allows our guests to take the best of both Lower and Upper town districts. Thank you for your nice comments about our Front Desk staff. We are passionate about our town and we are here to make our guests feel at home!

Your recommendation is the best reward we can receive, thank you very much!

We will be very happy to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#20 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Priori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.