We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vieux- Quebec , and an open window” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Priori to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Auburn, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“vieux- Quebec , and an open window”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel, the city , the streets, are living history. As others have praised, the hotel's location in the lower town makes it close to all you need , with a good pair of ( somewhat fashionable) walking shoes. The setting: an interior brick wall, comfy bed, and best of all , latched windows that opened to the courtyard below, where the sound of falling rain mingled with clinking of dishes and wine glasses. The staff was accommodating without being suffocating, the breakfast and coffee yummy, and the shower worth waiting for after the end of a long day of walking , eating, shopping and gazing out over la Citadelle. Ahh, tres agreable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear nrg4all,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor!

Our team is glad to read you enjoyed our ideal location. The Basse Ville is a destination in itself and is the perfect base to discover Québec City! Thank you for your comments about our rooms. We are very proud of our 18th century building. Its history is intimately linked with our great city!

Thank you for your remarks about our breakfast, we want to make sure all our guests start the day the best way possible!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    118
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
298
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed 3 days at the Le Priori in Quebec City. Very near to eveyrthing, within walking distance to all of the old section of the city's restaurants and shops. The hotel rooms were spacious, clean, and modern in design and decor (our favorite) even though it is housed in a lovely restored 18th century building and set on a quiet small side street. The staff was courteous, friendly, and helpful in getting reservations at restaurants, etc and giving directions around the city. It even houses its own excellent restaurant, The cost was very reasonable. which even including a very good breakfast. I would stay there again when I am in Quebec. I recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear KeyWestCharles,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you had a great time with us! Thank you for your nice comments about our rooms. We are very lucky to work in such a beautiful place! Your kind words about our staff are really appreciated as everybody strives to make sure all our guests feel at home!

Your recommendation is the best reward our team can get: merci beaucoup!

We will be very happy to welcome you again when you return to Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I just came home from three wonderful nights in Quebec City at Hotel le Priori to celebrate my 40th birthday. The hotel's location in the Old Town was absolutely perfect. With such an ideal home base, everything in Old Quebec was within easy walking distance. The hotel staff was superb from check-in to check-out. We were concerned about the language barrier beforehand, but the staff (and everyone we encountered) was bilingual and made us feel at home. We stayed in a NewTone Suite and loved it! Tons of space in this gorgeous room, along with a fireplace, jetted tub for two, a great shower and an espresso machine that we used regularly. The bed was very, very comfortable and the room was remarkably quiet. The complimentary bottle of champagne for my birthday was a welcome surprise. Dinner at Toast was excellent, surpassed only by the nearby Echaude... Both are not to be missed! All in all, I would wholeheartedly recommend Hotel le Priori. On the way home, we were already plotting our next escape to Quebec City and this outstanding little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Fifteendays,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor!

It is always a pleasure to welcome special occasions and we are happy to be associated with good memories for your couple! Thank you for highlighting our ideal location. Walking is the best way to explore Québec City and our location makes all the main attractions easy to reach.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Priori! The Newtone suite is very spacious and ideal for a couple as it has a great king bed and a great living area! We want all our guests to spend a nice time with us and it is very rewarding to read such a positive comment about our hotel, thank you very much!

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for two nights here, we had quite a modern suite, we would have preferred something a little more traditional , but it was obviously brand new. reception staff were fine, although we did have a problem with the jacuzzi bath, it kept turning itself on during the night! They told us they were waiting for a label to explain that it cleans itself about twenty mi utes after use!!
Also the car park is a way away, but not too much of a problem. breakfast was included in the price and was OK. I really don't know why people keep saying it is complimentary, it is included in the price!!! All I all a nice stay though rather pricey!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and the suites are right at the back of the hotel through the terrace ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear caroleNorfolk,

Thank you very much for commenting your stay on Trip Advisor!

I am sorry to read that you did not find our brand new junior suite to your taste. We tried to preserve our beautiful 18th century old stone walls and give to our rooms a cosy touch with wood (maple and cherry). Maybe our Junior Suite #11 would have better suited your taste as it is more traditional. The auto cleaning feature of our Jacuzzi bath ensures optimal hygiene in our bathrooms. Please receive my sincere apologies if it was not explained upon check in. Thank you for your feedback as it helps us to improve our procedures.

As we are exploiting 18th century classified buildings, we can not add floors to our main building. However, this set up allows us to offer a quiet environment to all our guests as our 28 rooms are located in three different buildings.

I am a bit surprised you found our hotel pricy. We do receive a lot of positive feedbacks on the value for the money our guests have. We do work hard to provide competitive rates and our delicious breakfast is offered all year long. There are no room rates without breakfast and when this breakfast formula was created, rates were not adjusted in consequence.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I enjoyed staying in this Hotel. The staff was very friendly . Breakfast was very good, after cruising a week, the coffee and eggs were the best. They even prepared a take out breakfast for the early morning flight we need to catch. The bed was very comfortable, showers and bathtub are just what you need at the end of the day. Location was within walking distance to everything. The museum is one block over and you can catch the electric bus one bock away. If you are lucky to have your ship dock at the port directly in front of the Hotel , you can walk, otherwise, you will need to take a taxi but the cost is not much. I would book again because it is close to everything and i slept well and the coffee was great,Great place to stay for your first visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear pattisplace,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read that after some days at sea, you had a great time with us on land! Your nice comments about our breakfast are very appreciated and have been passed on to the Toast! restaurant team. Sleep quality is of utmost importance to us. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our bed and the quietness of our rooms.

Our ideal location makes it easier to visit the main attractions of our lovely city. As we are close to the docks, it is very simple for cruise passengers to visit us.

We will be glad to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I got married in Quebec City on September 22nd, and our whole wedding party stayed at Le Priori. The service was PHENOMENAL. Last minute, I needed to get my wedding dress pressed, and no one would do it. Erwan, the manager, told me not to worry, took my dress, and the next morning it was waiting for me in the room after breakfast. Most of our guests were Americans with little French, and unanimously they said that the hotel staff had been remarkable in their attention, and care. I could not imagine a better place to have stayed; the wedding pictures were taken in the suites and the courtyard, and the décor was magnificent. We got champagne as a congratulations from the hotel, and they even helped us when our car battery died. If you are looking for a great, historical hotel that is well-situated, with old-world hotel manners where the guest really is king, look no further. I recommend this hotel to EVERYONE I know going to Quebec city, and we plan on returning for our first wedding anniversary next year. You won't find any other gem like this in the Old Town!

Room Tip: The suites look onto the courtyard and have a private entrance. REALLY quiet and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Sarah L,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Trip Advisor!

We love to welcome newly weds and are proud to be associated with such an important day in a couple’s life. Your very kind words about our service and staff are greatly appreciated and are for us a great reward!
We all remember how courteous and considerate was your family. We are very happy to read they all enjoyed our hospitality!

Thank you for your nice comments about our Newtone suite! It is the perfect room for future weds!

We will be honoured to welcome you to celebrate your first wedding anniversary! I am sure our Junior Suite with Spa will be the perfect accommodation for such a celebration!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose to stay for one night at Le Priori after reading various TA reviews and were really pleased that we did.

We received a warm and helpful welcome from the receptionist and were delighted with our 'standard' room (22) overlooking the street and down to the quay side where the St. Lawrence ferry to Levis operates from. The room had a comfortable queen size bed, flat screen tv and good cupboard space plus a stainless steel sink which although rather odd at first site blended in well with the other modern design aspects.

Behind a sliding door was the toilet and slate walled and floored shower which was strong with plenty of hot water. This area was very small but perfectly adequate for a night or two.

There was free tea and coffee in reception and breakfast was served in Toast the hotel's highly rated restaurant. The choice was excellent featuring lovely croissants, bagels, toast and banana muffins as well as scrambled egg, sausage and bacon. Excellent jams (fruits of the forest and mango) and good quality orange juice.

Le Priori is well situated close to main area of the Bas Ville and I can wholeheartedly recommend it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear mixers,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

Your nice comments about your stay have been appreciated by the entire team. We are very pleased to read you have enjoyed our room #22. This room has an amazing view on St Lawrence River and, in a few weeks, it will offer a beautiful winter’s scenery!

Thank you for your nice feedback on our complimentary breakfast buffet. We are glad to read you liked our different options! We want to offer the best value all year long and the tittle of your review is very encouraging for us!

Thank you very much for your recommendation, it is for us rewarding and helps us to keep working in the right direction!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Priori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.