We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vieux-Quebec to your Saves list
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“comfy bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

stayed three nights in a premium king room in room 110, quiet and spacious room with a large bath.
we had a great sleep and loved the continental breakfast that came in a picnic in the morning, very cute! Hotel very central and great for exploring Quebec City.

Room Tip: just ask for a quiet room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    170
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
205
430
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

It's a high-end hotel and you get that impression when you sleep on the mattresses -- so deep and comfortable. We were also impressed with the perks like the free walking-tour of the city if you book directly with the hotel, and the impressive lounge with the specialty coffee-maker (literally, line-ups at this machine!), the Apple computers, board games and DVD library for those times when your room is being made. And the location couldn't be beat -- right off the street which became pedestrianized after 6pm so you could browse the streets and look for good eats. The front desk people were always courteous and bilingual. The only downfalls to this hotel was that 1] parking was a block away at $17.50 per day and if we really did our homework, we would have found another underground garage for $12/day in the same vicinity; 2] the cute breakfasts in the picnic baskets aren't cute when you stuff 4 full breakfast orders in one basket. We were missing something daily from it and had some squishy pastries that deserved better care. Because of these issues, we couldn't give the hotel a 5 star review. But it's still an impressive hotel at a fantastic location, with good service.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter. We requested a room without sloping ceilings as we read oth...
See more room tips
Green Features: Complimentary filtered water available in rooms in glass bottles, not plastic. All liquid soaps/shampoos available in dispensers in bathroom to cut down on plastic. Blue recycling bins in rooms. Real metal cutlery (not throwaway plastic) in breakfast baskets. And more...
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianej
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We spent two nights at this lovely hotel and were very pleased. We had a room that was situated on the second floor at the front of the hotel, with a nice view of rue St. Jean. Despite being close to the street, it was very quiet at night The staff was very personable. The room was somewhat small, but quite adequate for two, very clean and beautifully decorated, with nice touches such as bottled water and wine glasses. We did not get the breakfast package, but the lobby downstairs did have fresh fruit each day and one day there was also a tray of croissants for the guests. The location was perfect for touring the old city and being close to everything. We would definitely stay there on a future trip to Quebec City!

Green Features: This hotel had information that stressed their environmentally-friendly practices and encouraged guests to practice them.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Picked this hotel because of trip advisor reviews and it lived up to them. We had a car and being able to park right at the hotel for $12/day was great. The hotel is in good location within the wall and can walk everywhere. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast buffet had excellent variety of choices and everything tasted good. Front Desk staff were all very accommodating. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Incredible location within walking distance of the sights of Old Quebec, top-notch service, sleek and modern guest rooms ... and we loved the adorable breakfast basket hung on your door in the morning. Fabulous choice for our anniversary trip to Canada ... we can't wait to come back. Merci!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The location of this hotel was great. The rooms were great. The breakfast basket delivered to our door each day with delicious croissants was wonderful! In the lounge you can make cappuccinos . Only thing that I felt should be addressed is: they did not inform us of the fireworks display every Wed. and Sat, and they did not inform us of the FREE walking tour you also get for staying there! The tour was great, and the fireworks- best I ever saw!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and could not believe the location. It is in the heart of the city inside the walls in upper Quebec City. I will say the street closes at 6 pm every night and Friday night it remains closed through Sunday night so it gets confusing getting back to the hotel if you drive. (They do have a detour marked) You are walking distance from shops, restaurants, the Frontenac & lower Quebec.
Even though the language is French the staff has no issues speaking English and are extremely friendly and want you to enjoy your stay. We stayed in room 111 and I loved the size of the room it was spacious with a great bathroom. I enjoyed the deep soaking tub. The dresser only had 2 drawers and a closet with hangers. I would have liked 1 more drawer but honestly it's a trivial complaint.
Each morning a basket was hanging with 2 fresh squeezed orange juice, cheese sticks, fruit, homemade jam, croissants, yogurt and either muffins or pastries. It was put out each morning at 8 am. No plastic here everything is served in glass which I loved no plastic!
They also have DVD players in the rooms with free movies to rent and popcorn. Also, have a great coffee machine in the reception room if you want an espresso, tea or hot chocolate rather than the coffee in your room. My husband surprised me with having champagne delivered to the room and they included a card and a box of chocolates from the chocolatier down the street which was such a nice touch. We were really happy and when we return will stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room 111 was king size bed on the first floor. we never heard our neighbors and was a side room...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are aware of the environment and share there environmental practices
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 51 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vieux-Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.