We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vieux-Quebec to your Saves list
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute. All in all, this was a great location for a romantic, long-weekend holiday.

This hotel is listed a 3-star, but I would have easily believed it was a 4 star. We paid 20$ more for a superior queen room, so my view is from that level.

Location: Central. It is located in the heart of old quebec, right on a main strip. You walk out the front door into all the action.

Service: I don't normally make heavy use of service, but the front desk was always available, always courteous and helpful. Everything went off without a hitch, and was extremely pleasant. We were given advice on where to eat (with their own restaurant, which we never went to, recommended first), and the front desk staff took the time to tell us about the use of the facilities.

Breakfast is served in a basket which is hung on your door in the morning. It was a small, but relatively good quality, with some pastries, fresh-squeezed orange juice, yogurt, and a fruit salad. I personally loved the idea of taking my time to eat in the privacy of my room, although I wasn't blown away by the offering.

Room: We paid a little extra to get the superior, and were quite satisfied with the size and quality of room. Everything was very clean and in good shape. A minor gripe would be that the TV (if you get a superior you get a flat screen) came with no practically channels. I didn't spend very much time in the room, but it would have been nice to be able to watch more than I would have been able to see with cheap antenna. Channels you just expect, like popular news channels, are not included... The bed was comfortable, the climate controls worked very well, and you had a choice of 3 different firmnesses of pillows.

Facilities: We were told that there was a gym in the basement, but I never went to see it. There was nice room with a fireplace, computer, and free fruits and drinks to lounge in. Definitely more than you would expect at more 3 stars.


All in all, I was impressed, and would go back any time. Quebec city is a very expensive place to visit, especially if you want to be in the old city. This hotel is very good value if you are going to pay the expense of a trip there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    168
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
197
420
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very nice room with fridge and coffee maker. Spotles. We stayed three nights. This was the best value we could find in old town Quebec. Great location. Within walking distance to all the key sites. Good service, clean and modern accomodation. Oh yea and there are three types of pillows offered in the room. Anyone can find a pillow to fit your needs in this room. Breakfast is $10 per person delivered to your door, but we opted to walk less than a block to Tim Horton's for a less expensive breakfast.

Room Tip: If you can afford a little bigger room you won't regret the added space. We were in 309 which h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pegram, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and thought the hotel was tremendous. The breakfast basket was a delight. When the staff found out we were celebrating our anniversary, they upgraded our room with no increase in price. Great location inside of the old walled city.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Probably the most customer service focused and friendliest hotel staff I have ever encountered in my many years of travel. the room was gorgeous go for the upgrade if you possibly can it is well worth it well centered in the heart of the city it is incredibly quiet at night. I loved the breakfast basket in the morning it was generous for two people with pastries, yogurt, jams and you have the option to add cheese meat or hard boiled eggs. The room has a Nespresso machine and teapot with generous supply of teas snd coffee. The hotel has a new modern elevator, so no stairs to climb and an easy transport of luggage. I plan to return to Quebec city soon and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Recently spent two nights in Quebec City at this property and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the stay. Our room was lovely bright and large, overlooking a side street. The bed was lovely and the rainwater shower heads a nice surprise. The breakfast basket was a nice surprise and made the stay extra special. Throw in great desk staff and the experience is complete.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Myself and two friends spent three nights at L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec.

Pros:
-Location: The hotel is located on a very lively street and all you need to do is walk around everywhere! In case you need a car rental, there's a nearby Hertz.
-Room: Our room was very spacious with two beds on different ends (and two TVs!). It was big enough for the three of us.
-Lounge: Lovely area to relax. They have a fantastic cappuccino machine and offer free water/soft drinks/juice throughout the day...which is really nice as it saved us quite a bit of money.
-Free breakfast: If you book through their website, you get a "breakfast in a basket" on your door every morning which is nice to wake up to. The freshly juice orange juice was great. Plus after one night, you can pick your selection of breakfast.
-Staff: Everyone was friendly which was fantastic. They were allowed early check-in which is always a plus.
-Free Wi-Fi.

Cons
-No pool or hot tub. Not a big deal but would be a nice addition.

I don't have much else negative to say about this place. It's definitely worth staying at!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with two of my friends for 2 nights 1st and 2nd of May 2014. We went to that hotel last year also. This year there was some renovations done which is very nice. The hotel is very clean.
The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful they look like they are happy to work there.
A special thanks to Pierrot and Vanessa for making us feel special and at home. Pierrot made the reservations for us to go for supper. Pierrot has very good taste and we were very happy with his recommendations for restaurants. All the staff we have met were very helpful and nice.
In the morning we forgot to remove our "Do Not Disturb Card" so our room did not get done. We called the reception when we got to the room. The gentleman" unfortunately I did not take his name" at the reception asked what we needed and within minutes he was at our room with towels, wine glasses and picking up our dirty glasses and towels.
The day we left we had to get out of the room for 11:00 a.m. but we wanted to stay shopping longer. Pierrot stored our luggage in a room and we got to keep our parking until 2:00 p.m.

We had chicken at the restaurant of the hotel for lunch the food was excellent and so was the beer. Sebastien the waiter was also very nice.
We also like the location of the hotel.
We walked to the train station as we had supper one night at the Charbon Restaurant the restaurant is located at the train station. It was a walking distance of approximately 15 minutes. If you choose to go to Quebec City by train it would not cost you too much in taxi to get to the hotel. We went to the Charbon for a steak as recommended by Pierrot and we were not disappointed the meal and atmosphere was excellent.
The hotel is super nice with the new renovations.
We enjoyed our stay very much and we plan on going back to Quebec City and staying there again. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 51 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vieux-Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.