We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and breakfast! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Save Saved
You added L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and breakfast! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is located right in the Old Quebec City. Excellent for exploring both the upper town and lower town. There are walking tours instructions ( with history) available in the room. Clean fresh drinking water too! The bed is comfy with different types of pillow to choose. The water in the shower is hot and big. We had to leave at 7am and the hotel packed a huge bag of breakfast for us to take away. Will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Quebec City!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    547
    154
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
168
359
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a super hotel right in the heart of vieux Quebec. The location is great and within easy walking distance of all of the main attractions in Quebec City.

There is no breakfast room but a very nice breakfast hamper is delivered to your room each morning.

The hotel is small and family run, and the lounge with a log fire is very welcome on a snowy December day. Add in the knowledgeable and helpful staff, and this has to be one of the best kept secrets in Quebec City.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here in Sept of 2012.
Nestled in the heart of old town Quebec, the location couldn't be more perfect.
The hotel staff were super friendly, even when we didn't speak much French; they spoke fluent English and we didn't make us feel less for not being bilingual. (We felt a little guilty being Canadian and not being versed in French... and the high school French just didn't hold up!).
The rooms are clean, well furnished, and comfortable. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend or book here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We just had a great 4 night stay. Good location, in the heart of the walled old town and steps away from lots of bars and restaurants and interesting stuff.

Pros:
Comfortable room, good beds and pillows, quiet. Super friendly and helpful staff. A library of books, board games and DVDs, offered with free, freshly made popcorn - much appreciated by a ten year old! Bustling bistro downstairs is not part of the hotel but shares the same entrance which is great after a long journey and when it's - 17 C outside.

Cons:
There is no breakfast room and so you have to eat the continental breakfast in your bedroom. Actually, it's not such a hardship because you order the night before and they hang a wicker hamper on a hook on the outside of your bedroom door first thing in the morning.

We will definitely be back. This hotel gets a well deserved top score.

Room Tip: Nice views from the top (4th) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We returned to Quebec and the hotel last week. The staff members were again delightful and very helpful. We still love the hotel and are likely to stay there again if we revisit in the future.
We appreciated the environmental practices the hotel has in place such as offering filtered water in refillable glass containers in the room for free.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I picked this hotel over others because we could get 2 queen beds (versus doubles) for our family of 4 (most of the other choices were for doubles, including the Frontenac). We honestly couldn't be happier with our choice. The staff is exceptionally nice and accommodating. The rooms are very roomy, with comfortable beds, plenty of room to walk around and a nice bathroom - really great for our family. We're right in the middle of Old Quebec and able to stop in between seeing different sights. One night, the kids were too tired to go out, so we picked a movie from a listing the hotel offered of 600+ movies - they even made us fresh popcorn. Exceptional choice for a family vacation!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I couldn't remember what made me pick this hotel over all the others, but when it came down to it, it didn't matter as I can't imagine a better place. And I have NEVER had such great service at a hotel. Ever. The staff is amazing. Especially Emilie and Pierrot at the front desk. They were friendly, and their care about our happiness was genuine. They jumped at any thought of helping us from inquiring about restaurant availabilities to making reservations, to offering up true dining experiences. Emilie even was lovely enough to volunteer to take a xmas photo of my family. The maid staff did an amazing job and took good care of us in our rooms. Besides all that, the place has perfect location, the rooms attractive and comfortable and the lounge on the main floor makes you want to hang out with it's comfy chairs, sofas, games, DVD selection and roaring fire in the fire place. There are fresh cookies in the lobby daily and the coolest idea ever: picnic basket breakfasts. We absolutely loved having breakfast in our pajamas in the comfort of our room. We were on the 4th floor and were not bothered by street noise. I will come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 51 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux Quebec
L'Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.