We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get any better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Save Saved
You added L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #4 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

By far one of the best hotels I have stayed in! Relatively recently renovated and it shows, the hotel is immaculately well maintained, clean, and warm. They have a huge collection of DVDs you can borrow for free which is nice. We originally reserved a mid range room for 1 night, but upgraded to the suit (room 4, definitely worth it!) and stayed for 3 nights. We took a tour of all the room types and all were really nice and clean. Parking is underground for a fee of 16 CAD (I've found this to be a standard practice in Canada) but very close, not even a 2 minute walk. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful with recommendations on what to see AND where to eat. The breakfast was excellent, I loved that it was delivered in a picnic basket daily to our room, it's so nice not having to get up early and dressed to go have breakfast somewhere. It can be a little messy with crumbs, but I'll take the mess for the comfort of breakfast being delivered and enjoyed in bed at my convenience.
We originally booked the first night via Expedia, it was actually more expensive than booking directly with the hotel but once you consider the exchange rate and foreign currency fees probably about the same. Expedia reservations however do not include breakfast for free while direct reservations do.
We will absolutely be back sooner rather than later to Quebec City and L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    567
    156
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
185
383
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The raves for L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec are right-on! Great location. Good price. Clean, comfortable. Just putting my 2-cents in as a solo traveller. Can walk anywhere you want to go from here. Deep tub! Enviromentally conscious. Earl Grey tea in your room. I had the small room and it was just terrific for one person. It could have fit two, but someone would have to sit on the bed. Front desk welcoming. Free movies. Fresh fruit.

Room Tip: I was in 201 - at the end of a hallway - and that was nice because there wasn't much foot traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The location of L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec could not be better, everything you'll want to see is just a short walk away, including the old school charm of the walled city and the less touristy Saint-Roche in lower Quebec

What really makes this place special is the details though, like the breakfast basket that's waiting for you when you wake up, the walking tour of the city, and the Nespresso machine that will make you wonder why anyone still uses those old coffee machines any more.

There was much to enjoy about L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec, in my mind the perfect mix of modern and historical, but perhaps my favourite detail is their commitment to green tourism, a detail you'll notice when you fall into bed and your sheets don't have that industrial detergent smell.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

my wife and i planned on staying for the first time at this wonderful hotel based on trip advisor reports. originally we planned for one night prior to a cruise but we decided some months ago to stay an additional couple nights and made a new reservation.
only problem was at that time we didn't cancel the original reservation...(i think it was my wife's responsibility to do that but i digress)..
as it turned out, due to a family emergency we had to cancel the entire stay in quebec and i cancelled what i thought was the ONLY reservation well in advance of the deadline.
when i received my credit card bill last week i saw a charge from the hotel for one nights stay there. i called the hotel, talked to a wonderful lady who walked me through my ( wife's ) error. although i wasn't happy, i accepted the responsibility as the mistake was ours, not the hotels..

the staff person expressed sympathy and completely on her own said she would talk to her manager and call me back in one hour. i didn't hold out much hope but was VERY impressed with her customer service skills. exactly one hour later she called back and her manager had verified the paper trail and was going to refund the money. this was a wonderful and understanding gesture.
it was also a wise business decision as we plan on at least
2 additional trips to Quebec city and we will only stay at this hotel....
great hotel, great personnel
and a great city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A. Calif
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

First be ware that when arriving at the Airport, most taxis are Camry's. Can hold 2 full size cases plus a small one. We had 2-3 suiters and 2-2 suiters. We needed a van. There aren't many so be aware of this. Taxi fee was $40.00 including tip to the Hotel. Though it is indicated Taxis take credit cards, ours didn't. You should have cash to pay for the ride.

We search out many hotels and reduced it to this hotel for several factors - included a wonderful basket breakfast that was hung on your door each morning; good size elevator that could handle all our suit cases plus us and location. There was Big Mac across the street. A Market 4 blocks away. With shopping and restaurants near by. City Hall was just a few blocks away. Finding a Starbucks is tough. We found only 1 in town. A drug store was 2 blocks away. A very large department store was 3 blocks away....

Upon signing in around 8pm, the Customer Service person saw the luggage we had, and communicate that we would be more conformable in a larger room then the King Std we reserved.. We were able to place all 4 bags on the floor and had plenty of room to move around. The room had both a safe and Frig. The King bed was very conformable. Room at this time of the year October, was very conformable.

The big bath room and a very deep tub and shower combination was great. Again room for 2 to move around All in very good condition.

Regarding noise factor that some reviews complain about..........we didn't have any. Our room faced a side street. Yes there were trucks around however unless your are a light sleeper you may hear some noise.

There was a very nice living room like place. With fireplace, coffee service, couches, etc. Nice touch.

Over all the people, condition, breakfast, location, met and exceed our expectations. Since we are walkers, we found getting about town very easy. We were 15 minutes driving time to the Port. Ten minutes walking into center of town. You can't go wrong with this Hotel.

In regards to travel to the Port. Be aware that the road into the port goes from 5 lanes to 1 So traffic gets very backed up Your taxi meter is running while awaiting in traffic We needed a van --- is 3rd of the distance (compared to the Airport distance) was $20.00 Highly suggest waiting until after 2pm to call for a Taxi. The Hotel has a room that will store your cases for you....a locked room...............There is no covered area so if the weather is bad, you want to be dropped off right at the curb where the carts are for the luggage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

L'hotel du Vieux Quebec is located right in the middle of Old Quebec: it's a fantastic location within a short walking distance to everything worth seeing. The hotel provides its guest parking at a nearby garage at a very reasonable rate of 16$ a day.
Rooms are big and have a 55" screen TV with a selection of 600 DVDs to choose from, freshly made popcorn, cookies and filtered water – all included in the price of the room for no extra charge.

The best resource of the hotel is the wonderful team at the front desk: the service they give is unparalleled – always smiling and very helpful.

The reason for my relatively low rating here is that by reading the reviews I was expecting a remarkable stay, and the truth is that the hotel is just a regular 3 star hotel: the rooms are very dark, with very little natural light. The bathroom is clean, but there's only soap, shampoo and conditioner (no shower caps, body lotion etc.)

The main thing that I actually hated about the hotel was their policy to provide breakfast to the room in a straw basket. The hotel doesn't have a dining room and sending a small breakfast to the guests' rooms is their solution for this deficiency. This little breakfast looks nice in the hotel's advertise BUT --- the room is not designed for comfortable eating and there's a sense of uncleanliness when crumbs of Croissant are all over the place.

So – although this wasn't a bad experience - next time in Quebec I'll probably look for another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We recently visited Quebec City and stayed at this neat, small hotel in a great location./ We could easily walk to restaurants, museums, shopping in "Old Quebec" and visiting all of the "bas ville"
The basket breakfast was wonderful with fruit, croissants, juice, cheese, yogurt and there was coffee in the room.
The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a comfortable sitting room with a fireplace that was cozy. we will definitely return to this hotel. We will probably visit there again in late spring!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 51 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux Quebec
L'Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;