We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel in a Beautiful City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Save Saved
You added L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Awesome hotel in a Beautiful City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Travelled with my family of five and stayed in room 403. The hotel is very quaint and updated and the room while not big was modern, well designed and offered a good use of space. So space not an issue at all for my three teenagers. Loved the decor; nice and bright and airy. The breakfast baskets are such a nice touch and healthy options are available if you prefer. Location is perfect. Loved being within the old city walls of Quebec and easy walking distance to everything. A free walking tour was included with our stay which was excellent. Besides learning about the history were told about a market close by which we went to twice for an affordable lunch. The best part of this hotel was definitely the staff we encountered. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcomed and were told all they needed were our questions so they could answer them. They truly are very friendly and helpful. When they heard that my son came to the aid of a cyclist that was hit by a car they kept referring to him as a hero. Also love that the hotel is very green and cares for our environment. Thank you for a wonderful stay and a beautiful french experience in your lovely city. Will recommend this hotel to all.

Had a bit of construction noise but no fault of the hotel and not really an issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    548
    148
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
178
366
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great little hotel in the old City. Staff very friendly and helpful and the Hotel is right in the middle of everything a first time visitor to Quebec wants to see. The Hotel is in the upper town, and you can walk to the lower town (not as easy coming back up the hills, but there is the Ecolo bus or the funicular to get you back to the top). Breakfast basket left at your door in the morning was very good and was plenty to eat. As many reviewers have said, there is some left for lunch. Rooms were very clean ans spacious - we had a room with two queen beds. Well appointed. Would highly recommend this Hotel. We did not use our car during our two day stay - didn't need it. Close to many restaurants, museums and shopping.

Room Tip: two queen bed room on 4th floor on the back side of the hotel was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. It's a fabulous little hotel located right in the middle of Old Quebec. Like others have noted, it is right in the middle of everything. Once there, you don't need a car unless you want to travel to the outlying areas of Quebec City. When I booked the room I mentioned to the reservation agent that we would be celebrating our wedding anniversary. To our delight, there was a nice bottle of Proseco chilling for us when we walked into our room ! We had also requested a quiet room. We stayed in room 110 which was a very quiet part of the hotel, however, there was a lot of construction in the area at that time. It made for a few noisy mornings, however, no fault of the hotel :) We also LOVED the breakfast basket with the yummy pastries that was left on our door every morning. The only minor issue we had was with parking. We were told there was a parking garage for guests, which there is, however, only small cars are able to fit. We have an SUV. After a little bit of searching, the staff recommended we park in the Old Port area by the bus terminal. There is plenty of parking there and a little cheaper, but it is a little bit of a hike. But, we didn't mind the exercise after eating all of those yummy croissants:) If you're looking for a clean, comfortable little hotel with excellent service, this is the place ! We hope to return to Quebec City some day and stay at L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great experience. The hotel staff was great to work with and in helping resolve (with a lot of work on their part) a lost phone issue. The breakfast was great and included with our stay. They have a couple of different options for breakfast so ask to choose when you arrive. Wifi worked well and the beds were comfy. It is well situated in the old town. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Overall we would go back and recommend it.

Random stream of thoughts:
- Location is great. In the middle of old Quebec. Tons of shops and restaurants nearby.
- parking is at the municipal lot and costs $16/day as of sept2013
- Concierge are extremely helpful and friendly. Great suggestions for food and helped sign up for tours, ( with an additional fee). They almost make it worth staying there.
- didn't try in house breakfast but it is $10/person.
- have an large DVD collection that you can borrow from. Also had water bottles that could also be borrowed from
- was in a superior room. Not small or huge but clean and very nice to come back to after a long day of sight seeing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallowell, Maine, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Hotel du Vieux Quebec. Our room was perfect from the in room small refrigerator for our lunches, to the wonderful breakfast basket hung on our door each morning, to the incredibly comfortable bed and quiet room. It was a perfect stay! The staff go out of their way to make sure your needs are met. We even were surprised with a room upgrade upon our arrival. The location is in the center of everything in the Quebec City. We are also thrilled that this hotel is a neutral carbon establishment. They are truly taking care of our environment. THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel du Vieux Quebec for 4 nights over Labor Day Weekend. What attracted us to the hotel was the location and the picnic basket breakfast that is brought to your door every morning. The hotel lived up to all our expectations and was true to its website, as well as the best reviews here.

The staff were very friendly and incredibly helpful. We stayed in a deluxe king and loved the room size with seating area. Our bed was so comfortable. The best part were the 8 pillows on our king size bed, arranged in rows, such that the firm were in the rear, the medium pillows in the second row and then the light, thin ones were kept in the storage Ottoman at the foot of the bed. It was so darn logical and accommodating--I loved it.

Our room was also very quiet, possibly because we were on the top floor. But even right next toe stairs and elevator, it was extremely quiet. Oh and the Nespresso maker in the room was amazing. It was better than some espressos outside the hotel! Very nice touch.

The only weakness was the 600 movie collection. They were mostly bad movies. The hotel should invest in buying some new movies, preferably Oscar nominated flicks or more recent ones. I know, I know, why are we even watching movies when we could be out and about? With a room as nice as we had, it was fun just staying in!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 51 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux Quebec
L'Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.