We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vieux-Quebec to your Saves list
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great value, service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived via train - very nice way to come from Montreal and we got a great deal on tickets. Per our iPhone it said the train station was an 8 min walk but did not state it was up two very steep hills so more like 15 with some heaving breathing pulling luggage but doable.

Stayed 3 nights. I have never had a hotel go to the extremes they did, when they realized we were questioning the layout of our room - dark/cramped due to roofline. That is all we did was ask a question about the room and they jumped in acknowledging that our question might lead to displeasure and therefore wanted to ensure we were happy by showing us several other options and moving us. We didn't ask to be moved but the sandy haired woman was amazing. New room was much nicer although there is some street and garbage truck noise which they pointed out is just Wednesday...in addition one morning could hear our neighbor at 5am.

Pros -

Older hotel but rooms are clean.

Great location in the heart up uptown which has a lot of restaurants, shops and cobblestone streets. Lower town is nice and also has a lot of quaint cobblestone streets, the museum civilization and is quieter but less sites to see in that area. Funicular costs $2.50 each way to go to lower town or you can walk up/down a whole lot of stairs.

They offer you three choices of pillows - soft, medium or hard

Bed was comfortable although not the best of our recent trip

Best towels - very thick.

Filtered water free and they will even loan you a sanitized stainless water bottle - their eco friendly way to save you from buying not earth friendly water bottles and it worked for us.

If staying more than one night, they let you choose from 3 options for breakfast - standard, healthy of design your own.

Negatives - worst WifI. Disconnected all the time and couldn't even get it to work on one iPhone even after getting 4 different codes.

Overall - great value for the location, service and amenities. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    168
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
197
420
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The staff could not have been nicer. Our Deluxe King room was first class. Love the ambiance and the Nespresso machine! The complimentary walking tour was informative, fun and just the right length. We will recommend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The four of us arrived after an 8-hour car trip from Connecticut to Quebec. We saw the hotel but had no idea how or where to park as it was RIGHT on the bustling main street, . We turned down the 1.5 lane old winding cobblestone side street and ran into the lobby to get help! A staff member came out, directed us to their parking lot. We quickly unloaded our luggage as cars were beeping at us. That's where the stress ended. The hotel is old and quaint, but as warm and friendly as can be. The staff is incredibly kind, cheerful and helpful. Our room (110) was a great size and had a lovely bathroom. The view from our room was of another building and we heard street noise in the morning, but that is expected for this city location.

Each morning at 8, the staff hung a cute wicker hamper full of breakfast on the room door. We filled out our choices for the next day each morning. There was the healthy choice - yogurt, granola, juice, a hard boiled egg and a fruit, or the OTHER choice - croissant, another French pastry, butter, cheese, juice and a fruit. There was a coffee maker in the room. Our room was bigger so our travel mates would come in and we eat together. The hotel also has a "living room" on the ground floor with comfy fireplace, computer, newspapers, games, bowls of fruit, hot water, coffee and cookies.

The hotel also "gave" the four of us a historic walking tour of the old city and the lower old city our first morning. It was fun and informative despite the pouring rain.

We walked everywhere, never fetching the car until we checked out.

Room Tip: room 110 is excellent and spacious. My sister and brother-in-law in room 111 were jealous, but is wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our stay at the Hotel du Vieux-Quebec was outstanding in all regards.

Quebec City is definitely a great destination to visit but if you’re arriving by private automobile it can be a bit stressful. First of all, there is a considerable amount of road construction and requisite detours occurring all over the Northeast US and Canada at this time of year (August). Secondly, there is a continual congestion of people and traffic in and around QC. My GPS finally delivered me to the front door of the hotel as promised but no parking spaces were available at the front door. I sort of parked, put on the four ways and walked up to the registration desk. I was a bit frazzled on arrival but the hotel staff leapt into action with an obvious been there/done that resolve. Their first objective was to get my car into a legal parking status and with a reassuringly calm competence they choreographed an opening so that I could unload my bags. Then they came outside with a pre-marked pole to determine that my van would indeed fit in the city garage and then they patiently explained and provided a map of where to turn the car around (legally this time) and even provided a picture of the underground entrance to the garage because otherwise it would be easy to miss. I’ve elaborated to this level of detail as further evidence of how great the staff was at this hotel.

We opted for the least expensive “cozy” room and though it was small and lacked a view, it didn’t lack for any amenities and was fine for our purposes. If we were there longer than a couple of nights, it might start feeling cramped. The furnishings were modern, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. Be sure to read the suggested personal walk around the Old City in the room desk drawer authored by the hotel owner. Also, if you booked the hotel room directly through their website, then they offer a free 2 hr guided tour every morning to all hotel guests (otherwise it’s $21.95 per person).

What to expect costwise: the 'cozy' room booked directly on the internet was $178, taxes $32.80, parking $16 for a total of $226.80 (CAD). Compared to the other top ranked hotels, I thought this was pretty good value.

As remarked by most of the reviewers, the breakfast basket of croissants, muffins, cheese, yogurt, juice etc was wonderful

The location of the Hotel du Vieux-Quebec was excellent. Only steps away, we enjoyed sitting outside having a beverage and people watching at the Pub St. Patrick. Had an outstanding meal at the nearby Portofino Italian Restaurant (see separate review) All of the old city attractions were within walking distance; never got the car out of the garage until we departed.

We really enjoyed our experience at the Hotel du Vieux-Quebec!

Room Tip: I saw other reviews indicating street side rooms would have noise issues but it turned out that we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Located in the heart of Vieux Quebec. Our room was the deluxe king . It was situated at the rear of the hotel on the top (4th) floor. No view to speak of, but the room was quiet being situated as far away as possible from Rue St. Jean, which is a constant happening.

The room itself was exquisite. Sparsely yet beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Our room included a king size bed which I wish I could have taken home with me. Every morning a picnic basket of fresh pastries, juice and yogurt awaited us at the front door. A variety of free coffee choices was provided in the room. The furniture was modern and comfortable. The bathroom has a nice sink and shower and we always had hot water on demand. Our room was always made up promptly and it was spotlessly clean. The staff at the front desk was extremely courteous and helpful and I wish that my French was one tenth as good as their English.

If you like sitting in hotel lobbies, there isn't much to offer here...in fact there's really nothing except for the check in and then a larger common room further down a hallway. That wasn't an issue for us as it was our plan to be out and about most of the time and when we needed some down time, our room was a complete pleasure to return to.

Being located on Rue St. Jean, it is walking distance to anywhere in the Old Town-shops, bars, restaurants, galleries, historical sights (which are too numerous to mention), and street entertainers. Most importantly it is in the midst of all of the beauty Quebec City has to offer. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A room on the street may have a view, but it will be plenty noisy. The rear of the hotel is much qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I, along with our 2 year old daughter had a wonderful stay at L'Hotel du Vieux Quebec during Les Fetes de la Nouvelle France Festival (Aug. 7-11). This was the 4th time or so that we have stayed at this hotel and it just gets better every time.

The staff is extremely helpful, very polite and welcoming every time you step into the hotel. The hotel is very well located in upper town, with many restaurants, shops and small corner stores around for anything that you need.

We always book "The Quebec Room", which is on the lower floor of the hotel. It is spacious, very well kept, clean, and extremely quiet, which was great for a 2 year old's midday nap!

In the morning, there is always a basket of food hanging on the door for breakfast, and it is filled with pasties, fruits, juices, etc. Everything that you need to get you going in the morning.

We will always stay at L'Hotel du Vieux Quebec, they treat us so well, and it is a great feeling knowing that they really care about their guests. We can't wait until our next visit to Quebec City, and this hotel is one of the main reasons why!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Right in the heart of old town, which has it's positives and it's negatives. Checked in and was semi shocked about the price of our room, which came to $340 with tax (up from $280 without tax, be prepared, SUPER high taxes in Canada.) The room was big, modern bathroom, in the basement though, not the luxury that we were expecting from the descriptions and pictures. Everything was fake in the decor, fake wood accents, fake fireplace, fake slate on the fireplace... just feels a little chinzy for such a high price. Breakfast baskets were very cute and the food in them was plentiful and pretty good.
We ended up leaving a night early. Average sums it up.

Room Tip: Quebec room is large, but alone in the basement, dark, next to the door which was open to the ajoini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 51 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vieux-Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.