We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“how do you say perfect in french?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vieux-Quebec to your Saves list
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newburyport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“how do you say perfect in french?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Located in the heart of Vieux Quebec. Our room was the deluxe king . It was situated at the rear of the hotel on the top (4th) floor. No view to speak of, but the room was quiet being situated as far away as possible from Rue St. Jean, which is a constant happening.

The room itself was exquisite. Sparsely yet beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Our room included a king size bed which I wish I could have taken home with me. Every morning a picnic basket of fresh pastries, juice and yogurt awaited us at the front door. A variety of free coffee choices was provided in the room. The furniture was modern and comfortable. The bathroom has a nice sink and shower and we always had hot water on demand. Our room was always made up promptly and it was spotlessly clean. The staff at the front desk was extremely courteous and helpful and I wish that my French was one tenth as good as their English.

If you like sitting in hotel lobbies, there isn't much to offer here...in fact there's really nothing except for the check in and then a larger common room further down a hallway. That wasn't an issue for us as it was our plan to be out and about most of the time and when we needed some down time, our room was a complete pleasure to return to.

Being located on Rue St. Jean, it is walking distance to anywhere in the Old Town-shops, bars, restaurants, galleries, historical sights (which are too numerous to mention), and street entertainers. Most importantly it is in the midst of all of the beauty Quebec City has to offer. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A room on the street may have a view, but it will be plenty noisy. The rear of the hotel is much qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    176
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
214
448
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I, along with our 2 year old daughter had a wonderful stay at L'Hotel du Vieux Quebec during Les Fetes de la Nouvelle France Festival (Aug. 7-11). This was the 4th time or so that we have stayed at this hotel and it just gets better every time.

The staff is extremely helpful, very polite and welcoming every time you step into the hotel. The hotel is very well located in upper town, with many restaurants, shops and small corner stores around for anything that you need.

We always book "The Quebec Room", which is on the lower floor of the hotel. It is spacious, very well kept, clean, and extremely quiet, which was great for a 2 year old's midday nap!

In the morning, there is always a basket of food hanging on the door for breakfast, and it is filled with pasties, fruits, juices, etc. Everything that you need to get you going in the morning.

We will always stay at L'Hotel du Vieux Quebec, they treat us so well, and it is a great feeling knowing that they really care about their guests. We can't wait until our next visit to Quebec City, and this hotel is one of the main reasons why!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Right in the heart of old town, which has it's positives and it's negatives. Checked in and was semi shocked about the price of our room, which came to $340 with tax (up from $280 without tax, be prepared, SUPER high taxes in Canada.) The room was big, modern bathroom, in the basement though, not the luxury that we were expecting from the descriptions and pictures. Everything was fake in the decor, fake wood accents, fake fireplace, fake slate on the fireplace... just feels a little chinzy for such a high price. Breakfast baskets were very cute and the food in them was plentiful and pretty good.
We ended up leaving a night early. Average sums it up.

Room Tip: Quebec room is large, but alone in the basement, dark, next to the door which was open to the ajoini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were very impressed with how nice everyone at this hotel was. They made popcorn for our child both nights we stayed, we always friendly making jokes and quick to assist with anything we needed. We had a lovely clean room, and we really enjoyed breakfast hung on our door every morning, but truly what makes a hotel special is how you are treated. We were treated wonderfully and we will be back. We also loved the fact that this hotel has worked to be come very environmentally friendly. The lovely vegetable garden on the third floor was fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you are looking for a charming place right in the heart of Quebec City, this is a great choice. Walk out the front door, and you can get anywhere in town easily. Once your car is parked in their garage, you don't need it unless you are leaving the city. Rooms are well appointed and charming, although they vary greatly in size for the same price. Make sure you ask for a bigger room. Beds are comfortable, and the breakfast that is delivered to your room in the AM in an adorable wicker picnic basket, is hearty and so convenient. The people at the front desk are exceptionally nice and helpful. There can be a fair amount of street noise, so a sound machine might be helpful if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing, large room, far away from the 6:30 AM garbage truck pick up location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our family of four stayed here while visiting Quebec City for the first time and we loved it. This hotel didn't look like much from the outside or from the lobby area but just wait. We had a room with two divided sections - my husband and I had one side and the kids had the other (which had a queen-sized bed and a Murphy bed, thrilling both kids as they each had their own big bed). Free wifi included and we had paid the extra $ for the breakfast basket. That was by far the best deal I have ever received! That first morning I was shocked to find four croissants, four yogurts, four pieces of fruit, four juice bottles, and more butter, jam, and cream than I could imagine. I then looked forward to my breakfast treats every morning. You could barely buy one croissant for the price they had charged for this entire basket! Plus I could still be in my pjs, eating and drinking the fresh coffee I had made with the coffeemaker!

Excellent location. Close to just about everything in Quebec City or just a short walk away. Very clean hotel. Small but functional bathroom. Room includes a small refrigerator, too, and low shelving around the wall on which we could put our suitcases. Overall, a fantastic find in a wonderful city. Will definitely return and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our family of nine ranging in age from 6 to 75 recently had the pleasure of renting three rooms for three nights at this wonderful small hotel. In the heart of Old Quebec City and I do mean in the heart of the city. Convenient to everything. Offsite garage parking. Left our cars there the entire time, either walking or taxiing to where ever we were going. The front desk was happy to call a taxi for us whenever we needed it and remarkably we never waited for more than a few minutes for it to show up! Great hotel staff. Very clean rooms. Delicious continental breakfast delivered to your door every morning. Our room faced the very busy street but was so soundproofed, we never heard any outside noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 51 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vieux-Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.