We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Save Saved
You added L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manchester, Vermont
1 review
“A True Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

From the moment I contacted this hotel to the minute we checked out....this was an amazing experience. When I called to make the reservation they didn't have a room available. Later that night I recived a call back from them telling me about a room that would work perfectly for our family. I was so happy they took the time to take care of us. When we checked in we were so pleased with the room. Modern and yet with old world charm. An exposed brick wall and a fireplace were so lovely. We were with our two teen children and yet we were so comfortable. They even had set up the murphy bed for us before we arrived.

Our room included an amazing breakfast picnic basket that was hung on a hook outside our door promptly at 8 am. It is included four each of: orange juice, a fruit, a yogurt, cheese and two different pastries (eight in total). The attention to detail meant that they gave us a different fruit and pastry each of the four days we stayed. There was a small refrigerator, a coffee pot, a pot to heat water and a teapot. I love tea so this was a nice touch.

More details included a beautiful room next to the front desk with tables and chairs for the guests to use as a sitting room. They have an assortment of games for families and a large selection of dvds that the guests can check our free. They even will add a large bowl of popcorn you can take to your room. Our room included a desk and since both of our teens brought their laptops it was nice to have plenty of outlets available. They had hooks by the door with a shelf for coats, gloves, hats and umbrellas. This was great for us with the time of year we were visiting.

When we were in the car ready to leave there was a knock on my window and someone had brought my tea that I had left in the lobby out to me. How kind. I found the staff to be so very nice and attentive. What a wonderful experience!!!

Room Tip: We were traveling with two teens and they gave us a king suite. It had a murphy bed and was a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    548
    148
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
178
366
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our first trip to Quebec City, found this hotel on Tripadvisor. Hotel is located perfectly within the walls of Old Quebec City, it is quant, clean, modern and staffed with friendly helpful people. We could not have been happier! The breakfast baskets are amazing and bountiful, filled with juice, cheese, yogurt and fresh pastries. Plenty for snacks during the day. Centrally located within walking distance to all attractions, parking provided nearby. Lovely sitting room with gas fireplace to relax and plan your day. They even provide dvd movies and popcorn! Will definitely return to L'Hotel du Vieux Quebec on our next trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior king sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, ME
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My first trip to Quebec City. This hotel is a gem. We were upgraded to a wonderful room with King bed, corner view of the whole street. Incredibly comfortable bed, pillows. Breakfast was included because I booked directly. Great basket of goodies and the coffee machine coffee was actually good! Real cream in the breakfast basket. The staff is extremely friendly, professional and efficient. We would definitely return again. Parking is around the corner, but connecting to it with a swipe pass was very simple.

Room Tip: Room 113, corner King Superior. Plenty of space, nice street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this place. Quaint charm form the outside located in the walls of the old city/ Staff was friendly and helpful with well thought out recommendations and guides. Their guide to the parking garage less than 1 block away was almost overly thorough!

The rooms are nicely appointed and they have a nice common room with free DVDs and other amenities for rainy day activities. There morning breakfast delivery in a mini wicker basket is a very nice touch.

Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Once again Tripadvisor have pointed us towards a fantastic hotel. Me and my boyfriend have today finished a three night stay there. Throughout the whole stay the reception staff were exceptional especially Pierott. Initially we were due to stay two nights and return to Montreal for a night before our return flight to the UK but decided to extend and stay the last night in Quebec city, a city which appealed to us more and because the hotel was so great. The hotel is a five minute walk from the Gare du Palais coach station, we walked, its a bit steep but a taxi costs about $7 with a tip and there was plenty outside the bus station. The location is also great for numerous restaurants, there's a choice of whatever you fancy on your doorstep.

We booked a standard queen room through the hotels website which had a great offer of 30% off if staying for two or more nights and a complimentary basket breakfast thrown in. On arrival we were upgraded to a superior queen room which was a lovely bonus. Apparently the same but bigger than the standard, the room was a great size for the two of us. There was complimentary bottled water. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable.

The complimentary breakfast basket was brilliant. We couldn't believe our eyes. The first mornings consisted of 2 ham and cheese rolls, 2 croissants, 2 bottles of orange juice, 2 portions of cheese and butter, a pot of jam and a couple of tangerines. An unreal amount of food which kept us really full until lunch. The basket was hung on the door about 7 you could then eat whenever you wanted. A coffee machine was also provided in the room. Other room items included a fridge, hair dryer and an iron and ironing board. In the foyer there was a lovely lounge you could relax in.

If you're travelling from Montreal to Quebec city we found the Orleans Express bus service fantastic, it's 3 hours 15 mins and wifi is included, the trip went really quick, also there is numerous services throughout the day. When we left Quebec city to get to Montreal airport we managed to catch the bus direct from Quebec City to the airport, perfect for my pregnant feet!!!

To summarise, we would 100% recommend this hotel and would return here if we ever return to Quebec City!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were a bit worried at first because the lobby was small and looked like a hostel but our diverse and discriminating group really liked the rooms and we would not hesitate recommending this hotel. We hope management realizes what an asset Emily is at the front desk. She's charming and helpful. There was noisy construction next door (unknown when we booked our rooms) so she let us know upon arrival that they were going to give us different rooms than what we booked to avoid the noise. She showed us three rooms (two were same price as we booked and one was cheaper) and everyone was pleased by the choices. The rooms are rather basic in design but they are big, comfortable rooms with good beds and really nice sheets. The wifi was not great the first night but worked perfect all the other nights. The lounge is very nice with two computers. The breakfast baskets are outstanding! We had so much food at breakfast that one day we had a picnic lunch on the ramparts overlooking the river with the extra food that we had accumulated over two days. The hotel parking is a block away but we hardly needed the car with everything so close by. Stop by the city visitor center for guidebooks...the hotel didn't have any that were as comprehensive as the one you can get at the visitor center. Overall, we loved Quebec and our hotel. It was like going to France without the transatlantic flight. The people in Canada are wonderful and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We extended an October business trip in Montreal by taking the train to Quebec City for a few days. The vibrant rare colours this time of year is worth the journey. This small boutique hotel was a pleasant surprise. Check in staff were well trained and incredibly helpful. The rooms are on the smaller side, but well appointed and clean. The breakfast basket hanging on our door of fresh baking, fruit etc was a lovely addition to our morning routine. Restaurants with fresh baking and wonderful espresso are close by, so we opted to join friends and have breakfast out on several occasions.

There is a fantastic common room for guest enjoyment and includes games, tables and chairs, couches, fireplace, etc. We spent part of a rainy afternoon there with friends with fresh bread, great cheese and fruit, and beverages playing Canadian trivial pursuit. The staff actually made me a latte from their own machine that day so I didn't have to go out. The staff concern, care and attention to our questions were always first and foremost for their guests and we could not have been happier with this choice, comfort, location, service, and price point of this hotel.

The location of this hotel is well appointed in the walls of Old Quebec. Easy to walk around and enjoy everything the city has to offer. There is no restaurant with the hotel, but a restaurant is attached through an adjoining entrance. The front desk staffing were never to busy to help guide us through our myriad of tourist questions for walks, recommendations, and locations of highlights within the old city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 51 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux Quebec
L'Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.