We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal service, central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel du Vieux-Quebec to your Saves list
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bordentown, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Phenomenal service, central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this place yet. This was the centerpiece of our memorable Quebec City "spring break" (that is, we went in early April, but it was most decidedly NOT spring-like in Quebec City yet. It's quite chilly and rainy there this time of the year!), which was so lovely that even 4 years later I can get lost in daydreaming about possibly the most charming city in all of America (including north and south).

What made this place special was that in addition to the cozy rooms, the incredible library, and the cuter-than-cute breakfast basket, they offered the kind of warm, small-town service that's hard to find in big cities. We ordered (their free) popcorn service one night, hoping to catch a Woody Allen flick from their excellent DVD library. When we found that our DVD player didn't work, the front desk let us "sneak into" the empty room next door to play the movie, along with a sly smile and a red bowl of freshly popped popcorn. Loved that.

Also, this is 2009 prices, but we paid a mere $60 dollars per night. CANNOT beat that!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    165
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
190
404
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights, 14-17 Feb 2013 and think we picked the best hotel (for us, at least) in Quebec. LHVQ is near the southern edge of the old city wall and within comfortable walking distance of most of what we wanted to see (essentially all of the old town).

For whatever reason, I was under the impression that we were staying in an old, colonial-era building, so I was a bit disappointed when I first arrived. The building itself is newish and pretty modern inside. The historical description in the hotel book indicated that the building had, in fact, been there quite a while, but that it had been burnt out in a fire in the late 1980s or early 90s. There's no sign of a fire now, and instead the interior is very pleasently decorated.

Our room (305?) on the third floor had a king sized bed and a fold-down (double?) bed that we didn't need or use. Although the room looked a little sparse at first, we discovered it to be very comfortable. The bed was firm, but soft on top, with viery nice linens. Nice, big HDTV hooked up to cable (some English, some French language channels) if that's important to you. A very nice touch was the enclosed fireplace. I usually dislike gas fireplaces (because they're usually "just for show"), but this one was nice -both a nice "show" and gave off some significant warmth (not so much that you couldn't keep it on, but enough that you'd want to crack the windows after a couple of hours). The log/flame appearance was also very nice.

The breakfast basket was well worth the raving that everyone else has given it -- very good and convenient.

We watched DVDs the nights we stayed in or got back early enough. Although the popcorn provided was microwave popcorn (which I usually dislike), it was really pretty good, and a nice touch. Pretty good selection of DVDs as well. The (comfortable) lounge area on the first floor also had some good books, nice family-type games, and a good collection of local menus (newspapers, too).

The front desk was uniformly very helpful and friendly - made us dinner reservations, called cabs, made cookies & popcorn with movies. Many thanks to all of them.

The location was really nice - we're only average walkers, but didn't have difficulty reaching any old town locations on foot.

Once I got over the initial surprise of not staying in an 'old' building, the hotel really grew on me. Unlike most hotels, I was almost sorry to check out. It was that nice. We're planning a return trip with the larger family soon, and plan to return here. Even after touring the city and seeing most of the alternative hotels we'd considered, I don't think we could have done any better.

Room Tip: Third floor was extremely quiet - we were on the 'alley' side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here with our 3 kids for 2 nights over February break. The staff was wonderfully warm and helpful. They happily made restaurant recommendations and gave directions. The rooms were clean and bright. We had a room with 2 queens and a murphy bed. A huge basket of croissants, muffins, joghurt and fruit was outside the door for breakfast. DVDs at the front desk for use. I would happily stay here again with or without kids...a great place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time my wife and I stayed here, the first time we got engaged, the second was our honeymoon. It is a lovely, beautiful, warm hotel that is centrally located to all the fun Old Quebec offers. In Old Quebec do visit Le Pape Georges wine bar, very romantic and excellent wine and cheese plate.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

A gorgeous little hotel right in the heart of old town Quebec City! It has so much history, exceptionally clean, nicely decorated and the staff were far beyond pleasant, accommodating and helpful. Anything we asked for, they helped us with...corkscrew, kettle for tea, free borrowing of dvd's along with popcorn and so much more. We stayed here for four nights during the last weekend of Carnival and it really was a perfect location within walking distance of everything. We opted for the breakfast basket delivered right to the room each morning and it went far beyond exceeding our expectations! The basket was $5 and filled with 2 croissants, 2 muffins (or danish, it alternated each morning!), 2 yogurt, 2 pieces of fruit, 2 cheese, coffee cream and jams! Seriously! The pastries came fresh from the bakery just down the street and were delicious. We had a wonderful time staying here and we 100% will return and stay here again! Also we must mention Emilie at the front desk...she was one of the sweetest and most helpful hotel staff we have ever encountered in all our years of travel! Thank you to Emilie for making our stay in gorgeous Quebec City that much more memorable! We promise to return!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pictou, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Can't say enough about this super hotel. Staff are fantastic, friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Location is great, very close to all sights. Room modern and very very clean. You have to get the breakfast basket! Outstanding value overall; we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

After doing some on-line research, we chose L'Hotel du Vieux Quebec for a snowy week-long winter vacation and our first visit to Quebec. We chose HVQ because it appeared to have a lovely European look, reviews were generally very good and it was centrally located in the walled "Old City" within walking distance to most sights. Our stay at the hotel during the February Winter Carnaval ended up exceeding all of our expectations. The web site was a very accurate depiction and the building was still festively decorated with evergreens and holiday lights. We booked the Deluxe 1 King room and loved it. It included a wonderful gas fireplace which not only added ambience, but helped warm our room on the frigid February mornings. It also had a comfortable seating area with sofa, easy chair, coffee table, flat panel TV and small coffee bar with a fridge, espresso machine and safe. The room was facing a side street which afforded less views, but added more privacy and more distance from the street noise out on busy Rue St. Jean. The room was impeccable and had a small but modern and comfortable bathroom with rain shower. The floorplan was larger than the average guest room and closet/drawer space was plentiful for guests planning a winter stay or a longer stay as we did. We had a charming breakfast picnic basket delivered to our room each morning (hung on the door) which included various assortments of croissants, pastry, breakfast sandwiches, fresh fruits, yogurt, cheeses, jam and juice. We looked forward to seeing what was in our basket each morning and found them all a delicious and filling treat. The hotel also offers large comfortable great room on the first floor with overstuffed seating, fireplace and library available to all guests. The front desk staff was extremely friendly, helpful, knowledgable and more than willing to communicate in English while helping me learn some basic French as well.There is no room service for food, but adjoining the lobby is a small French bistro and pub 'Les Freres de La Cote' open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ended up eating here a number of times and found the food to be very good with variety and it's a favorite of the locals too. Even with snow covering the streets, we walked every day to explore nearby sights and enjoy the unique beauty of this historic and vibrant city. We loved Quebec City and we loved L'Hotel du Vieux Quebec!

Room Tip: Deluxe 1 king is our favorite (see review)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 51 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vieux-Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.