We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Save Saved
You added L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 5 more sites!
L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Very nice place to use as home base for a lovely visit to Quebec. Great rooms, great location, right next to ecolobus stops in both directions, great food in immediate vicinity, great shopping in immediate vicinity too. They are very environmentally friendly, and offer a wonderful breakfast basket that just helps get your day started right.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    529
    145
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
157
350
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Perfect location. Very close to Notre Dame, the funiculaire, etc. staff is wonderful. DVDs available for rent. Great lounge with a fireplace to relax in front of. Rooms are large. Room 312 has a great view of Rue St. Jean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We found this hotel on-line. From first calling for a reservation until check-out, every staff person was warm, welcoming, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Every suggestion they gave was "right-on" from places to go to restaurants to eat in. The room was spotless and comfortable. The bathroom was modern. The breakfast basket was fresh and delicious. Would definitely stay here again when in Quebec City!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel has a wonderfully convenient location, but the friendly service and warm atmosphere tops that. I was upgraded to a larger room because I was staying 4 nights, and the room was quiet, the bed very comfortable, and the breakfast baskets mentioned by others so fresh and welcoming. It has a good lift. The restaurant under the same roof provided a tasty dinner for me each night - again helpful to a sole traveler who also didn't want to go out into the cold again after a day's sightseeing! I was offered chamomile tea by the receptionist because I looked tired! I will certainly return there, if I manage to get back to Canada!

Room Tip: Windows are double glazed, but inward looking might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Loved staying at this hotel, and it made the vacation a fantastic experience. Did not take advantage of all the hotel had to offer but the greeting staff were incredibly informative of local things to do. They would greet you cheerily in the local French language but all of them were more than capable of speaking in English as well. Added immensely to the charm of the place. Staff went above and beyond by booking a tour for us and even offering to take a picture of the both of us so we had a picture with both of us in it.

Rooms were neat and tidy, and the choice of the lounge to get movies to watch up in your room or relax and play a table game was a great idea. As many people have mentioned the breakfast basket each morning was great. Food was from a local bakery (went there as well to purchase some things to bring back from the trip) and helped get the morning started.

Everything in old town Quebec seemed to be within walking distance. You can easily get to a few dozen restaurants of varying specialties within a 5 minute walk. Everything from an upper class eatery to the local McDonalds depending on your budget. We stayed for 3 nights and were genuinely sad to be leaving and plan to return again as we really felt this hotel is what made the experience so memorable.

My wife and I tend to stay up late (real late) and while our internal clocks adjusted during our vacation there was a lot of night and hustle and bustle in the morning. Mostly due to the demand to get the hotel cleaned for the guests. While this did not really detract from our experience, it is worth noting if you do tend to be disturbed by noises are not usually up and about by 9am you may hear some noise as the staff clean the adjacent rooms. Having said that, if you are the type to stay up late there is certainly things to do with the free movies and the lounge downstairs. Noise does not seem to carry through the rooms as we did not hear any other guests during our stay in the nights or mornings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had stayed at this hotel once previously about 15 years ago. Some of the staff were still employed there. The staff, especially Pierre, (one of the long term employees) were knowledgeable and accomodating. They offered to help with restaurant selections, directions to restaurants and also would make reservations for you. They would also arrange for horse drawn carriage service picking you up at the hotel. True concierge services.The location affords convenient access to Old Quebec both upper and lower towns. Restaurants, Chateau Frontenac, shopping, and historical sites are all within a short walking distance.We did not take advantage of the hotel provided free walking tour. The renovated hotel has been much improved since our last stay there. The rooms are still quite small but the space has been used exceptionally well and the rooms are very very clean. They have over 600 DVD's available no charge for guests. There is a nice lounge with fireplace, free newspapers, free computer with printer access, and comfy furniture. Wifi is also avaiable to guests at no additional charge. It is a very relaxing room. Free popcorn is also provided and as the popcorn smell waifs through the lobby you get a feeling of the comforts of home. Our room was equiped with a small refrigerator.The baskets attached to your door each morning were another wonderful touch. They contained both fruit and juice, sweet pasteries, croisants, cheese, butter, jam, and yogurt. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolat were also available in our room. On our departure day, the basket also included ham & cheese sandwiches on croisants. It seems management here has thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. We loved our stay and would return in a minute!

Room Tip: Take the funicular to lower town $2 per person each way. Or. to save some money walk down to lower t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Everyone was friendly and helpful.The room size was just right, very comfortable bed, modern bathroom with good water pressure. The breakfast basket is another charming feature. You cannot beat the location. Shops and great restaurants are all around the hotel, a couple of blocks to the Frontenac Hotel and the funicular. We did not even mind that the parking was a block away. We would stay there again on our next trip to beautiful Quebec!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Also Known As:
L'Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City
Hotel Du Vieux Quebec
Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 51 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.