We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient but over-rated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau Laurier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chateau Laurier to your Saves list
Hotel Chateau Laurier
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
APRIL ON SALE
Ranked #35 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
springfield ma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“convenient but over-rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We booked a small "European Style" room. And that's what we got, a small room, sufficiently furnished and spacious enough for two. However, the hotel did not live up to it's reputation as an upscale hotel; smaller rooms don't let you off the hook for amenities. Simple things, like extra towels - I expect to have 4 bath towels; if you want to freshen up before going out in the evening, and your towel is not dry the next morning, you need another towel. There was no surface around the sink to put things, so they had to go on a shelf above the toilet, and more than one thing fell off, so we had to remember to keep the lid closed. The bed was not comfortable, but passable; there was a coffee pot that you had to move to another location in order to plug it in, and had to unplug other stuff to do that. A power strip would be a simple enough addition. It just felt skimpy, whereas a little effort could have made it much better. The room was clean, and the staff and concierge were helpful and polite. The hotel is in a good location to Old Quebec and the Citadel, but there's a return 1/2 mile slow grade uphill walk.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    271
    134
    52
    25
See reviews for
157
283
22
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

The rooms are nice and clean, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are small but functional. The location is very good, close to the restaurants and clubs on Grande Allée, just a stroll to old Québec and located right next to the Plaines d'Abraham, a great place for early morning walks. Parking is available at the hotel but cheaper daily parking is available at the Plaines d'Abraham across the street.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

we spent two nights here and were very satisfied. We had booked economy rooms for a very good price and didn't expect too much but we had views of the green square in front of the hotel (not the air conditioning!). The rooms were small but clean and quite adequate if you don't want to spend a lot of times in the room. Service was excellent. Use the ecolobus to get around - costs 2$ per ticket and takes you everywhere - although it's a lovely 5 minute walk to the old town - but by the evening you get tired! I would thoroughly recommend the hotel and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

This is a very nice hotel but...

When we presented ourselves for check in at around 10:30 a.m. for check-in our room wasn't ready. Understandable. They have a 4:00 p.m. check-in. So, after a little sightseeing I came back at 3:40 p.m. and asked for my room key and was told my room was still not ready. Sacre Bleau!! OMG!! Can you believe this? It's bad enough that they have a 4:00 p.m. check in time which makes a mockery of the 24 hr day but to not have a room ready fifteen minutes prior??!! Well, miraculously after a little discussion and demand for management intervention a room was available.

The room is quite nice and the bed is quite large and most comfy. The concierges are very helpful as are most of the staff. The hotel is very close to numerous restaurants and a short (15 minute) walk to old town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Wonderful hotel in the heart of the action on one of the main drags in Old Quebec. Beautiful lobby, great service. We stayed in one of the small, "European style" rooms and were not disappointed. Yes, the room was small, but who needs much more than a queen size bed and a small, modest bathroom? You're in a great city and won't want to spend any more time than necessary in your hotel room. The local is absolutely ideal. Just a short stroll down to the walled city, a block from the $1 Ecolobus, and around the corner from numerous sidewalk cafes. If you want a new, contemporary room, this hotel offers beautiful rooms in the newer section. We checked one out and for the extra money we just couldn't justify it. Plus our "old" room had one of the most beautiful views of the city you could ask for. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Make sure you take the time to talk to the concierge. She was extremely helpful and turned us on to all kinds of free activities and areas to visit. The hotel is a little complicated, so let the bell guy show you the way the first time. The deals in the "treasure chest" were mostly for places we really couldn't afford. We did book one of the restaurants on the list "Savini" and it was fantastic. The hotel was clean, elegant and plush. We were thrilled with it and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

outstanding service, great room, wine dispensers! real milk/cream with complementary coffee tea/ lushious robes, super comfy bed, 2 count em two whirlpools in leafy grottos, cheerful helpful concierge, staff and bus persons, even the bartender was happy in her work.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Laurier

Address: 1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#20 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chateau Laurier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Laurier Hotel
Chateau Laurier Quebec City
Hotel Chateau Laurier Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau Laurier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.