We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MISTAKE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau Laurier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chateau Laurier to your Saves list
Hotel Chateau Laurier
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free high speed WiFi
Ranked #36 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Winslow, ME
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“MISTAKE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked this hotel because of the proximity to Old Quebec. The price was high, but we figured we would pay more for the convenience. The parking was extra, like most hotels in the city. Breakfast was not included. Wifi was $15 extra. No one offered to check our bags or valet our car. The ATM had no cash and we had to walk more than 5 blocks for another, after being given wrong directions by the not-so-helpful concierge. So, if that was not enough... there were bar "rif-raf" living it up on Grand Allee until 3 AM and service trucks starting at 5AM. Luckily, we were assigned a room with AC, apparently the other half was not working (in JULY)! We could've used a shoe horn to navigate around the hotel room furniture. We were relieved to check-out after 2 hours of sleep and immedietly booked with a different hotel. Never going back there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Bonjour Rebeca H,
We listen to our customers. We are pleased to announce that Internet access in now free of charge for all our clients. This comment was posted before this new policy. Johanne Caron director of sales marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    271
    134
    52
    25
See reviews for
157
283
22
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our superior king overlooked the St. Lawrence in the new part of the hotel and couldn't have been nicer! Staff is very helpful and the location is great. Loved the indoor pool for laps. They have some partners that offer 15% discount, including some very good restaurants, for guests. Buy your own wine for the room instead of using the self serve wine bars..not the best and servings are small

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Bonjour mtb5nj, tank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We value our guest's comments and appreciate finding out what our strong and weak points are, from your point of view. We hope you will visit us again. Johanne Caron, director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

So here it is, the first 4 star hotel I've seen without air conditioned rooms and make no mistake, in july we are over 30s/80s in quebec.

Of course theres some romantic story about the fires in the north and the summer festival. But in the end, be prepared to sleep naked.

Seriously, they are facing some kind of power outage, however not all guests are affected, they chosen those with higher rates to get theA/C. Meaning if you like expedia, you better get a fan.

That said this hotel is barely adequate for a 4 star, more european standard than north american, room is clean but really plain. Ammenities are minimal, bathroom stuff minimal as well.

Also theres at least a mile walk to city centre :/

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Bonjour Roberto M,
Thank for your comment, it is unfortunate taht during your stay, we had to manage the energy consumption in the hotel, due to HydroQuébec supply lower than our usual intake. However no specific room section was targeted in relation with the price or provenance. We treat all our guests equal and we can assure that our high-end sector has suffered the same situation. We have lowered the air conditioning in the public space rather that in the guestroom sections. We are very sorry if this has provided you with any inconvenience please accept our sincere apologies. Johanne Caron, director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We made a reservation directly with this hotel in February for a conference in April. Two weeks before the arrival date we called the hotel to cancel the reservation because we found a small boutique hotel (Hotel Champlain) in the old city that met our needs and was closer to the conference. We had a fantastic 6 days in Quebec and the hotel we stayed at was superb, excellent staff and customer relations were a priority. Unfortunately, customer service at Chateau Laurier is abysmal. We found that out when our May Visa statement arrived with a charge from the Chateau Laurier for $148.90 for a "no show". We were shocked. The reservation was cancelled directly by telephone and in the rush to go away we did not notice the hotel did not email us a confirmation of cancellation. Numerous phone calls were made to no avail. Be aware, this is a family run business and there is no Customer Service manager. Despite their knowledge that we did not have any plans to visit Quebec in the near future, we finally received an email from the Revenue Manager, with the "only option" being a certificate for one night (excluding taxes) if we choose to stay at their hotel. In other words, they offered us something they knew we could not use. We sent an email summary on June 19 to the Revenue Manager with the details surrounding these events with two other suggestions for resolution that would be more appropriate and satisfactory, also copied to the owner but there has been no courtesy of a response. However, the hotel seems to respond to Tripadvisor critiques quite regularly and we expect they will try to smooth this critique over as well. After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor carefully, it seems that cancellations and changing reservations at this hotel are problematic, in other words we are not the only ones who have been taken (en francais "on nous a eu"). Save yourself a lot of problems and expense, do not make a reservation at this hotel, there are many other well situated and pleasant hotels in old Quebec that pride themselves on good customer service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Bonjour MT,
We thank you for voicing your opinion regarding your experience with our hotel. We are very sorry that we could not come to an agreement that was to your satisfaction, we always make an honest effort to find an acceptable compromised. However sometime despite our determination to come up with a happy conclusion we simply cannot. We have on site 24/7 directors who care about our guests satisfaction they provide excellent customer service. We reiterate our sadness in your decision in not coming back to your hotel and using your one night stay value. Johanne Caron, director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This Hotel was booked for us by travel agent and is a good location for old Quebec town which is a 10 minute stroll away and charming, particularly in the evenings where there are many boutique shops. Its a good bus or car ride away to a shopping mall where there are several close together. Hotel itself was very good, our room was very large with 2 possibly king size beds. Very much French spoken here but if you try to speak a little, help was available at Reception . Again only a coffee maker in room, but there are small pots of milk available in a fridge located past the reception for those English of us that like a cuppa and you take your travel kettle with you.

Altogether one of the more enjoyable stays on our holiday through Canada.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Bonjour JeanChris39, we are happy to hear that you are satisfied with our hotel during your holiday in Canada. We strive to offer great service consistently. We hope we will see you again.
Johanne Caron director of sales marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A few years ago, when my husband's job had him travelling to Quebec City about once a month and I would accompany him.  Most of the time, his hotel of choice would be this one and it almost became our home away from home.

It is perfectly situated, walking distance from Old Quebec, surrounded by restaurants and pubs, next to a huge park for long walks and early morning jogs, a few kms away from a shopping mall, and has a spa, pool, gym and hot tub.  The rooms were and are clean and the staff is helpful and lovely.

We haven't been back for a few years until recently and since I had such lovely memories, I decided to come along this time.  Not much has changed except that they now charge you $5/hour or $15/day for wifi which is outrageous when you consider that most hotels in the surrounding area does not.  And I had such trouble with it I had to call the front desk twice.  

One of the better things about this hotel is that their washrooms are stocked with shampoo/conditionner/shower gel/body lotion dispensers.  I know many of guests seem to have a problem with this but with a man-made continent of plastic containers floating around in the Pacific ocean killing our nature, I don't know why people can't be more understanding.  For this, Chateau Laurier gets a thumbs up.

Hotels, like hospitals, are getting very convoluted with different elevators taking you to different rooms on different floors and this one is no different...  But it has pretty clear indications throughout so this makes it a bit easier to navigate around.  The older part of the hotel has 5 floors and the ice machine is in the lobby, which is a huge inconvenience.

Room Tip: I heard the rooms in the newer part are very nice but also cost more. Ask for a room facing anywher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Bonjour Moka 1234, we would like to thank you for voicing your opinion regarding your stay at the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec. If we don't know what our guests don't like, we cannot improve. We hope you will visit again, it is great to know that clients are following us and witness our evolution. Johanne Caron, directrice ventes et marketing .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The standard room we wer given only had two double beeds and was very cramped. The Hotel itself is a bit tired - carpets are brown and worn and thebathroom basin was seriously racked. There was no air conditioning, only air circulation which is not great given the extremely high humidity when we were there. However it is clean and has a swimmingpool and 2 spas. The street to the side of the hotel is obviously where the party people go at night, so the noise was pretty bad overnight; we were on the 4th floor so I hate to think what it wouldbe like on the lower floors. However the up side is that there are plenty of eating choices right next door.

Room Tip: Suggest you ask for a room that doesn't face Grande Allee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Bonjour Diane H, our location in the heart of the city, within reach of all activities is our claim to fame. I must admit some time prime location can be busy and noisy, however much fun! Thank you for your constructive comments; we will make sure the room is in perfect functioning order for our next visitor considering that we offer air conditioning in all our rooms. We hope to see you again soon. Johanne Caron Director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Laurier

Address: 1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#20 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#32 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chateau Laurier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Laurier Hotel
Chateau Laurier Quebec City
Hotel Chateau Laurier Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau Laurier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.