We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definetly return!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau Laurier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chateau Laurier to your Saves list
Hotel Chateau Laurier
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would definetly return!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Only stayed for one night although enjoyed every minute of it. The location was perfect to go out for supper and drinks in the evening. Also got to take advantage of the luxurious bath and fireplace. A nice way for a couple to spend a night away from home!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Bonjour, please accept our sincere thanks for the information you provided regarding your last visit with us. These comments and recommendations will help future customers.We look forward to your next visit. Johanne Caron, director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    253
    130
    52
    25
See reviews for
152
246
19
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The rooms are small, the hotel parking is expensive (use the free spots on the street, they're easy to find, in the back streets), I had read about this, so that wasn't such a surprise. What surprised me is the customer service we experienced.

At check-in, we have not seen a smile. When the receptionist saw on the screen that we had booked through Expedia, she looked at us weird and said "well, you booked through Expedia, the room you have is not the best, if you want a better room, you'll have to pay more" - at that point, we had not seen the room and therefore, were not complaining at all. Not sure why this comment was made, if felt cheap.

Don't expect toiletries in the room (toothpaste); the shampoo and shower gel are available through a dispenser - which is weird for a quality hotel.

You may wake up with the sound of the vacuum at 9am. Other than that, sleep was good, location is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Bonjour, thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We value our guest's comments and appreciate finding out what our strong and weak points are, from your point of view. We understand your concern about the way your check-in was handled: our customers are always welcome and the source of the reservation should have no influence on the service provided. Please accept our apologies and we will follow up with the director of service. It is customary to offer an upgrade room type for a minimal investment, upon arrival; this practice had no relation with your preferred reservation supplier. In regards to the soap, shampoo, conditioner dispenser found in our shower/bathtub please note this is one a many ecofriendly procedures, we hope that our customers will appreciate our effort to minimize our imprint on future generations. Furthermore this system offers unlimited usage of the products. It’s true several parking options are available: our indoor parking at 20$ per day, a public outdoor next door at a lower price and plenty of parking meters around, we are confident our guests will find easily something that fit their lifestyle. We wish you will return to Quebec. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great hotel and great value. Robes in room salt water indoor pool and amazing sauna. Hot tubs outside a bit difficult to find but very nice once found. Close to great restaurants and Starbucks lobby very inviting with wine dispenser Staff very helpful

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Bonjour P G, thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and especially to our future guests. We hope to welcome you again in our lovely city. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Chauteau Laurier for the last weekend and have some positive and not so positive comments. Room, service, location were all very good, however were told that underground parking was 20$ but after registration and handing the keys to the valet attendant we were told it was 24$/day if we used the valet parking not including the tip. I felt like I was cheated but it was to late to change the arrangement as the car was already being parked
During the weekend we realized that public parking was available at ground level for only 12$/day. So beside parking and 5$/hr for Internet services this hotel offer a good deal with clean and comfy rooms. I would stay there again but would park I the public parking. As for Internet we used our IPhone personnel setting and were able to connect with our IPad so very little charge except some data charges if our monthly package was exceeded.

Room Tip: Park in the grounding pubIic parking for only 12$/ day and use you IPhone and IPad Internet setting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Bonjour Eloi Duguay, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We value our guest's comments and appreciate finding out what our strong and weak points are, from your point of view. In regards to the parking, we are taking note of your remarks since we rather offer all options to our clients. The outdoor public parking is alwys a good alternative. We hope you will visit us again. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Wow the location is incredible...its walking distance from all the clubs in Quebec & hip restaurants. Also, very close to the parliament & old Quebec. The rooms were clean,spacious & reasonably priced. The staff was courteous, organized & helpful. The bed was comfy...I slept like a babe! Although, my stay was more of an in/out type of experience I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Parking is free on the street in the evening...check the meters before paying 20$ for overnight park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Bonjour Sembriaco, our entire staff was certainly pleased to have you as our guest here in the hotel and appreciate the positive comments you provided. We are looking forward to your return. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel was perfect. The staff were attentive. We stayed in the superior room on FL 5 overlooking the courtyard. It was spacious, the beds and pillows were both comfy. Now, we did stay int he new part. I do know the older part has smaller rooms. I suggest the new side.
There are 2 outdoor jacuzzis/ indoor pool/spa /small workout room. This place is in walking distance of old Quebec but is stationed on the Grand Allee. The bar downstairs has excellent food and decor was very modern. Same with the restaurant.

We walked to the Carnival which was right behind the hotel.

The people here are SO NICE! We also had a wine dispenser on our floor which was fantastic! We go there very early and they held our bags until check-in. Our flight was cancelled due to weather and there was no problem staying in our same room that night.

I suggest staying at this hotel. I don't understand the bad reviews. We are seasoned travellers and this place exceeded our expections. Do not hesitate to book here! We will be back :)

Room Tip: 5th floor newer part of the hotel- superior room - excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Bonjour Brookeh68, On behalf of the General Manager and the entire team of the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec, we would like to thank you for your wonderful review. Your comments are a source of motivation for us. We are looking forward to your next visit. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed there in the past and it was nice, but this time the hotel was booked due to conferences, so I took what they had left, a cheaper express room.
It turned out to be the party section of the hotel, with people screaming and running in the corridor until 4AM. I've called the front desk to complain, but it did not change anything.
They should have kick these kids out instead of letting them ruin the other guest's stays.
This section is also less clean.
Oh, and when you put the breakfast order card on your door for the next morning, it never shows up.
Bad experience from the beginning till the end. Too bad.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Bonjour Achamp99, I want to thank you on behalf of the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec staff for taking the time to give the Trip Advisor readers and us some feedback on your stay. Your comments are very valuable to us and will allow us to improve. I want to personally apologize for not delivering a top notch experience. We are very concern that you have been disturbed by young clients, since we have security on site all night to avoid such situation. Furthermore we are careful to keep a good mix of clientele to preserve the quality of the experience. I will share your comment with our housekeeper since the cleanliness of our property is the outmost importance. We hope you will visit us again. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Laurier

Address: 1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#23 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#39 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chateau Laurier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Laurier Hotel
Chateau Laurier Quebec City
Hotel Chateau Laurier Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau Laurier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.