We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never book an "express room" unless you are there to party all night!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau Laurier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chateau Laurier to your Saves list
Hotel Chateau Laurier
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never book an "express room" unless you are there to party all night!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed there in the past and it was nice, but this time the hotel was booked due to conferences, so I took what they had left, a cheaper express room.
It turned out to be the party section of the hotel, with people screaming and running in the corridor until 4AM. I've called the front desk to complain, but it did not change anything.
They should have kick these kids out instead of letting them ruin the other guest's stays.
This section is also less clean.
Oh, and when you put the breakfast order card on your door for the next morning, it never shows up.
Bad experience from the beginning till the end. Too bad.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Bonjour Achamp99, I want to thank you on behalf of the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec staff for taking the time to give the Trip Advisor readers and us some feedback on your stay. Your comments are very valuable to us and will allow us to improve. I want to personally apologize for not delivering a top notch experience. We are very concern that you have been disturbed by young clients, since we have security on site all night to avoid such situation. Furthermore we are careful to keep a good mix of clientele to preserve the quality of the experience. I will share your comment with our housekeeper since the cleanliness of our property is the outmost importance. We hope you will visit us again. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    253
    130
    52
    25
See reviews for
152
245
19
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Chateau Laurier during Carnaval and had an amazing time. We also had our wedding supper there. The hotel is located within walking distance to all Old Quebec attractions and the prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: May want to ask for a room not facing a air conditioning unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Bonjour JPP566, THank you. it's so thoughtful when customers take the time to express their gratitude about their stay at our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon. Johanne Caron Director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Booked a two night stay for our first visit to Quebec and Carnaval. The check-in was prompt. The Concierge was very helpful and recommended an excellent restaurant. When we returned to our room I heard a tapping noise. When I turned on the bathroom light I saw water coming from the ceiling. I called the front desk and Maintenance arrived promptly. They determined that it couldn't be resolved quickly so they called the front desk. The manager came, said he would move us to a new room and arranged for someone to take our luggage. They moved us to a room in the new section. We were given a room upgrade, but I would have been very happy with a new room similar to our original room. The room in the older section of the hotel was small, but more than suitable for two people.

We were extremely pleased with our stay and would definitely come back when we visit Quebec again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Bonjour Jrhoffman75, we are very pleased that we met your expectations, especially since we take great pride in our work and our client services. We cannot control everything however it is wonderful to hear that our service team can react quickly to situation like the one you have experienced. We hope to welcome you again shortly. Johanne Caron, director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here when we went to the Quebec Winter Carnival this year. It is across the street from the festival and a short walk to the historic district. Rooms were huge. Separate shower and tub was nice and big. Even if the festival was not happening you are right on the main strip of bars and restaurants. Great time at a great place.

Room Tip: Get a fireplace if you go during the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Bonjour Wal-Dawg, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you personally for having selected our hotel during your Winter Carnival escape. We hope to see you again. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went there during Carnival of Quebec.
First of all we received a very small room that smelled like a fast-food. It was impossible to stay there with 2 kids so we asked and received another one for an extra 20$ per night. The last one was nice, big enough and placed in the new wing of the hotel.
Kids loved the pool. The spa turned to be a small tube placed on a small exit on the roof...
Every time we interacted with persons from reception seemed they have other more important things to do...
The parking place wasn't included. We paid extra 25$ per day. Even if you are living in the hotel you could have problems to find a place because those guys from the parking let more cars to enter than number of places. Or you can find your car blocked and wait for the parking boy to move that car in front of your car...
Definitely not a 4 stars hotel in terms of services.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing. It's recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Bonjour Bogdan C, we are truly sorry that your stay didn't live up to your expectations. We can assure you that every day; we strive to be the best. In your case, it seems that we didn't succeed. We get so many extremely positive feedbacks about our entire service staff, your comments will help is be more efficient. We are also concern by the fact that our two hot-tubs located in our courtyard did not meet your approval, it is a feature well appreciated by our customers, who take great pleasure of using them year-round. We hope you will visit Quebec City again. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Good things:
Got a great deal on a website for this "four" star hotel - fantastic location adjacent to Place de jardins for Quebec City winter Carnival. Welcome reception was warm and sincere. 15min walk to the old city - doable, even in minus 20 degrees celsius. In retrospect, if no Carnival, better to stay in the old city.

Bad things:
The room was a box - but that's ok, we're not large people.
The killer was that the room overlooked Grand Allee E - a street of discos and clubs.
Friday night, we were tired from the flight and the music stopped at around 0100.
Saturday night - I called reception at 1230 and asked "what time does the music usually stop?"

To my amusement, i was told without hesitation "at 3am. Then - you know the hotel is close to the clubs (implying I should be expecting this) , and it's also carnival time". Luckily they were able to offer us a "quieter room" immediately - which I had pointed out I had requested on my booking (but was ignored probably because of the price point rate we had).

Then, when I asked the porter who came to show us to our new room if the street disco was just for Carnival, he told me NO - it happens every weekend and sometimes even week nights!

How can you run a hotel (for sleeping) when there are outdoor speakers for a club across on the street facing the hotel???

Room Tip: Do not accept a room in Grand Allee wing - it faces the night clubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Visited while attending Winter Carnival - so Vieux-Quebec was hopping! Location is ideal for jaunts into the old city, we walked to the overlook in front of the hotel Frontenac in 15 minutes on a very cold Sunday morning and had a delicious breakfast at a cafe along the way. The carnival entrance was about 2 blocks from the hotel. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and responsive to requests, from the bell hops/parking attendants, front desk staff and the concierge.

Our room in the older part of the building was rather small, but comforable. However, when we went to take a shower, it didn't work. A maintenance worker was dispatched to our room within 10 minutes (this was on a Sunday!) and had the problem fixed (needed a new faucet) in 20 minutes. The front desk gave us free parking (worth $24 US) for our troubles. When we asked for an extra robe, it was brought to our room in minutes.

The only reason for a 4 instead of 5 star rating was the condition of the outdoor spa. Granted it was very cold outside, the ice buildup on the walkway to the spas was unsafe and unattended. Returning into the hotel was complex with a keycard/pushbotton system that was difficult to understand in near dary conditions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Bonjour, please accept our sincere thanks for the information you provided regarding your last visit with us. These comments and recommendations will help us to improve on our customer service. We have shared your comment with the technical team in regards to the maintenance around the outside spas, the security of our guests is a priority. We are so very sad….. we have lost a star in the process. We hope you will be back. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Laurier

Address: 1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#23 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#39 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chateau Laurier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Laurier Hotel
Chateau Laurier Quebec City
Hotel Chateau Laurier Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau Laurier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.