We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Walk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau Laurier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chateau Laurier to your Saves list
Hotel Chateau Laurier
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Grande Prairie, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Long Walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It was a really long walk to the room. The hallways are small and the ceiling is low. Lighting in the room was dim. The location however was excellent and overall the experience was good.

Front desk was efficient.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Bonjour Kwonger,
Thank you for your comment, we certainly hope you will visit us again and you will be happy to learn we are planning some remodeling that will provide our guests with an efficient way to reach their room. We look forward to welcome you again. Johanne Caron Director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    247
    128
    52
    25
See reviews for
151
242
19
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here in mid-October for 3-4 days. The location was within walking distance of old Quebec and across from the plains of Abraham on one side and restaurants on the other.

Stayed in an upgraded luxury suite- came with fireplace and jacuzzi hot tub which was a very nice upgrade.

Overall, great location, clean and quiet. Would recommend for anyone wanting to see a bit of everything.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Bonjour, on behalf of the General Manager and the entire team of the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec, we would like to thank you for your wonderful review. Your comments are a source of motivation for us. We hope to see you again soon. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for one night only, pre-cruise, but couldn't have made a better choice. Reasonably priced, and very well-located to wander about exploring the Old Quebec. Lots of restaurants just steps away. No problem storing our luggage for the day while we did some sightseeing, and then returned to the hotel to gather our belongings and taxi to the cruise terminal. All the staff we encountered were very welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Bonjour, we are very pleased that we met your expectations, especially since we take great pride in our work and our client services. Please come back again. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Located a couple of blocks outside the wall of the old city, on a park-like square near Parlement, Starbucks, nice restaurants and the Plains of Abraham. Onsite restaurant was convenient and inexpensive for breakfast. All the hotel staff were pleasant & most helpful, but the concierge desk gets the prize for two of the friendliest, most personable and efficient people we met. They had great suggestions, got us dinner reservations, found us a bus tour on a rainy day and saved us a lot of time. Our rooms were on the fifth floor, very quiet and comfortable. There was on-site parking, not inexpensive, but if you take a car to a big city, what do you expect? The rooms were very reasonable, all things considered. Never waited more than 60 seconds for an elevator - a record. Nice pool, outdoor hot tubs and exercise room, but with walking those hills all day, did not need the latter. You will pay per device per day for wi-fi service and even 3G message reception was funky in the building - we used Starbucks across the street - we were on vacation, it was a nice break from "screens". Do not confuse this with the hotel of the same name in Ottawa, which is a Fairmont. And if you crave the Frontenac and that is the centerpiece of your stay, by all means pop for it and stay there. I will return here, use my resources for other things, walk down the street for a drink in the Fairmont bar, & be comfy and happy at the Laurier.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side overlooking the Plains of Abraham. 5th floor was great views and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Bonjour, Each positive feedback is shared to congratulate our team that attends to our customers every day. Thank you on behalf of the concierge team...comments like yours are a source of pride. We hope to welcome you shortly. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Travelling to Quebec City for a couple of days for business and the venue was booked on my behalf by someone else. Late arriving (read that very late), and happy to find the hotel in Old Quebec City.

Enter the lobby, seems just fine although not opulent by any stretch. Very friendly, fluently bilingual reception staff and I was checked in within minutes. My room was a king sized room in the Les Plains section of the hotel. A quick 1 min walk from reception through well appointed hallways.

Upon entering the room, a lovely modern, business or nice getaway appropriate room. Clean lines, great quality furnishings, and a very modern, yet clean and comfortable bathroom with a sleek new shower stall.

Linens were , clean, comfortable and of high quality. Ample pillows with varying texture, very lovely. Well situated desk, flat screen TV and ample lighting options in the room for light or dark. Very adjustable and good. For you business travellers out there, there are lots of places for device plugin...you can work at the desk or while sitting on the bed, no difficulties. Lots of outlets for charging, working and charging your phone while using it as your wake up call.

Breakfast is either room service with many reasonably priced options (a nice change from usual room service prices) or the breakfast buffet, which is good but oddly located (once you find it, it's all good). Service in the breakfast room was quick and efficient, the food selections were good quality staples. My only gripe is that in room coffee uses one of the small coffee pots, and there was only one pouch of coffee. If there were two of us, not even close to enough. Such a lovely hotel and only one coffee serving?

There is a gym and pool in the hotel. At first glance, the gym seemed very small for the size of the hotel: one elliptical, two treadmills, one recumbent bike and one stationary bike. A universal gym that was adequate. I thought it would be overrun but each morning it was just me and one or two others, when I went by I could only see one or two people ever...so maybe it's big enough.

Service was fantastic and friendly, internet service reliable although downloading occasionally a little tiny bit slow for large files. Wonderful location, close to shopping and some very excellent food and wine; there is an Italian place just around the corner that is really great.

The meeting room we used was large, well appointed and sound proof, audiovisual was excellent. Coffee service with breads and muffins was really good. Prompt refill of coffee urns, etc.

I will book the Chateau Laurier again, it is not a 5 star hotel per se but really a lovely place for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Bonjour and thank you for letting the ‘’community’’ know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Château Laurier Québec. We hope to see you again the next time you pass through Old Québec City. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were travelling as a family of 4 and bad bookings for 2 twin-rooms. When we arrived we were given a twin room (room 295) and a room with a king size bed (room 478) instead of the 2 twin rooms that were mentioned on the booking receipt. These rooms where quite some distance apart which is nog very convenient, travelling as a family. The desk clerk told us that the hotel was fully booked and that it was not possible to get rooms closer to each other. Room 295 was an OK room (apart from the safe deposit box that didn't work). Room 478 was a very small room (no refridgerator, no wardrobe, only some hangers on a rail) with a midget-size bathroom. Referring to the fire escape plan this was one of the smallest room on that floor. Veryfying with the website of the hotel this room was for me not a standard room but an "express room" (which costs less). Since it was impossible to use the bathroom by 2 adults we went back to the front desk the next morning. Immediately we were given another room. Room 291!! which was a twin room, only one door away from our daughters !! This room was completely ready at 10 AM (in my opinion this room would also have been available the night before). As a compensation we got some chocolates and a small bottle of port wine. Nice room but again, the safe deposit box didn't work. When we came back in the afternoon we noticed that the door of room 295 hadn't been locked after cleaning and was still wide open!!! Luckily nothing had been taken from the room. At check out we mentioned all this, pointing out that we were not very pleased with this hotel. After a long argument they agreed to compensate by paying the cost for the parking.
I can only say that for me the rooms and service we got were not worthy of a 4star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Bonjour. I want to thank you on behalf of the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec management for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay. Your comments are very valuable to us and will allow us to improve every aspect of the establishment. I also want to personally apologize for not delivering our promise of exceeding all your guest expectations on this past stay, we strive to provide consistant great service, unfortunatly we do not have 100% and we will not stop our quest. I hope you will visit us again to experience our true style. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Spent Thanksgiving weekend in Quebec City (perfection!!) - we stayed at the Chateau Laurier (our third visit there) - once again we were greeeted in a friendly manner, staff spoke English for our benefit, our rooms were very pretty and very clean - beds were lovely!!! The bathroom was large and posh - it's a perfect location for walking either to the Art Gallery or to Old Quebec. Would not hesitate to return - it's been a reliable choice for us.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room - however the rooms in the old hotel are lovely but the Grand Allee can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Bonjour, it is always gratifying to read such great comments regarding our hotel. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. Hope to welcome you again soon. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Laurier

Address: 1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#39 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chateau Laurier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Laurier Hotel
Chateau Laurier Quebec City
Hotel Chateau Laurier Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau Laurier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.