We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defines great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Quebec

Save Saved
You added Hilton Quebec to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Quebec
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Rene Levesque East, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P3 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer rates from $139!
Ranked #39 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Defines great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent three night at the Hilton while exploring the old city. If you like to retreat to a refined modern hotel this is the place to stay. Located on the edge of the old city, all destinations are a couple blocks away. Every staffer we encountered defined service and friendliness. The room views... We don't want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    423
    214
    73
    27
See reviews for
240
363
49
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel right in the middle of Old Quebec, this is not the one you should choose. But since it is literally just outside the walls, it is a great location to be in the thick of everything, without being in a tiny room. The views from this hotel are incredible and the facilities themselves are beautiful. The rooms were modern and spacious and the lobby lovely.
My prime reasoning for a 4 instead of a 5 was twofold: the front desk staff were rude and inhospitable, and the wifi did not work as advised. Though I could work around both of these, in a Hilton, I would expect friendlier attendants. The front desk staff - at every juncture except one - were cold and unhelpful. They were often rude and somewhat obnoxious. I understand that, being American, I am the enemy somehow. But you are paid to be considerate and I am paying a premium for your cordiality. Very disappointed.

P.S. If you list crepes on the breakfast buffet for which I am paying over $25, don't slap French toast in the tureen,

Room Tip: Honestly, the views are impeccable from wherever, but I imagine a high floor would be optimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

concierge was friendly the entire staff was friendly and were glad to assist us in anyway they could. room was exceptionally clean, executive lounge was great. the hotel was just outside the gates of old quebec, within walking distance. would definitly return to the same hotel.

Room Tip: higher floors make the exec room closer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose to stay here for our second night in town- it was about half price from the first hotel we stayed at. From the moment we walked in the door- it was awesome! Early checkin (10am) and a free upgrade. We mentioned we were celebrating my birthday in Quebec and appreciated the upgrade. We spent the day in Old Quebec then returned in time to enjoy the hor 'dorves and a drink in the Executive Lounge. Returning to our room to relax and enjoy the wonderful view of the river- we had a message to call Room Service for a missed delivery. They brought a plate of chocolates for my birthday! FREE! Breakfast again was wonderful-- and when we called for our car- they told me it was ready- and told me what vehicle-- without me even telling them the room number or name! I have never had better service! Made the trip to Quebec the best ever vacation I have ever had!! Thank you Hilton!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is located just outside the walls of the old town/fort. It is located right beside the parliment. Very convenient location where you can walk to all the major attractions. We only used the car to go to Montmorency falls. We stayed for four nights and the heck in was quick. Used the valet service. Room was clean and beds are very comfortable. Conceirge was very good and we used their recommendations for places to eat and see. Used the pool which is on the third floor outdoor. While it is showing its age, it was very clean. Buffet breakfeast was limited choices due to the ongoing renevations of the kitchen. Overall a good and convenient location to stay while visiting Quebec.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There was 5 of us, so we reserved two rooms, city view, with two queen beds in each room. The rooms had a mini-fridge where you could store left-overs or drinks, if you wanted. The bathroom was a little small, when sitting on the toilet you could touch the counter or the bathtub, but it sufficed. Two waters were included in the room, along with a little coffee machine, and hair dryer and safe.
The bathroom has a hand-held shower, which is one of the main reasons why we stayed here.
The room was a decent enough size, I mean, couldn't they always be bigger?
The challenges:
The room-service menu was extremely limited (they did not serve breakfast, although at the time of booking we were told it was a limited menu and breakfast could be ordered to the room, when we arrived and called room service, we were told you had to come down to the restaurant to eat). On the website it was advertised that room service was offering a limited menu (but it should have said - no room service for breakfast. no worries, I took a stroll down to Paillard at 7:30 a.m. for early morning croissants, muffins and juice for us all. Also on St-Jean street was a little convenience grocery store which offers quite a few things (bread, milk, toiletries etc) should you need them.
The pool was cold! I have been to a few Hilton's and this was by far, the coldest pool. In addition, there are signs to say you can only take one towel to use (which is ridiculous if you are a large person and need more than one towel, or if you have long hair which you want to squeeze water out of). There should be no limit on the number of towels. Thankfully, locks are provided at the pool desk. On our second day, we went to use the pool and after we swam past the plexi-glass partition, a blast of fire hydrant-like cold water hit you. When I questioned the pool desk attendant, he said that the pool water level had dropped and they were re-filling the pool. But the water they were filling it with was Stone Cold! Surely they could fill the pool after hours (so that paying guests would not be subjected to freezing cold water blasting at you and having to swim in freezing cold water. Overall, the pool was kind of disappointing and too cold to be relaxing.
Pros:
There is a gift shop located in the hotel (which is good if you want a French-only magazine, a map, some scarves or the regular pop, chocolate or chips junk food. We did not try the restaurant but when we complained about the no-breakfast room service the manager himself brought up two to-go breakfast boxes (which included 2 muffins, some croissant, pastries, yogurts, fruit and juice).
If you want fresh air, below the window is two little round levers, which if you pull, releases a flap and it opens to a screen covered open-air vent, which makes for much nicer sleeping, and it wasn't too noisy at all.
So..would I stay here again? It wouldn't be my first choice, especially at 350-400$ night for a weekend stay. It was a sub-par Hilton. We have previously stayed at Hotel 71, which is nice, has hand-held showers, pretty modern though, but includes a delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: The city view room on a higher floor was quiet, and we were located near an ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was there about 3 weeks ago. Was originally hoping to book a hotel inside the wall but no luck. Overall I would definitely recommend it. I think it's my first time staying at a Hilton. My only knock is that I didn't care for the view which I think was looking either north or west since I had specifically requested for a view of the wall city. I stayed at the Clarendon the previous year and because I got it via Hotwire it was a much better deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Quebec

Address: 1100 Rene Levesque East, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P3 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#20 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Quebec 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Hilton Quebec City
Hilton Hotel Quebec City
Hilton Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.