We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR to your Saves list
TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   395 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 7X4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small and cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was our third time at this hotel and we had fun. We have friends that live 5 minutes away and this is were we stay when we visit. The rooms are small and confortable. The beds are super and we slept like logs.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Responsable réception at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bonjour JulieLapPloc,
We thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the TRYP by Wyndham Hotel PUR. We are delighted to read your comments. We are proud to be your secondary home in Quebec City. We hope you enjoyed your stay and the hotel location.

Thank you once again for your review. We hope to see you in a near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    295
    116
    48
    23
See reviews for
102
293
40
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherbrooke, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is situated in the St-Roch district, just a few blocks from Parliament Hill and Old Quebec. We stayed two nights for a business convention, but were travelling as a couple. The hotel's style is very urban/hip. The rooms are tastefully decorated in this style, which means crisp, stark and mostly black and white. We found it very nice for working and relaxing in between meetings. There is a resto-bar downstairs and the food was A-MA-ZING! We also stepped across the street to a tavern for a plate of nachos and the ambiance of the neighbourhood is really nice, even at night in the winter. :)
The hotel staff was friendly, helpful and spoke good English, not always easy to find in Quebec City, though it's getting easier.
All in all, this hotel represents a very good value and I would definitely stay here again and recommend it again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Responsable réception at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear KDCRAE,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the TRYP by Wyndham Hotel PUR located in Quebec City. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience and that you would like to come back on your next stay in Quebec City. Our decor is pretty unique in town and we are proud of our product. Rooms are minimalist as you noticed and they give a Zen feeling. We really care about our guests opinions. Our Executive Chief, Francois Privé, is delighted to read about your experience in our restaurant. Same as the hotel, the TABLE has his own ambiance. According to what you said, A-M-A-Z-I-N-G is a perfect word to describe it. St-Joseph’s street is plenty of wonders. Bars, restaurants and boutiques are various. ‘’Le Pub du Parvis’’ which is the pub where you ate your nachos is located on this popular street. We are happy to read our staff members help you in your decisions and that they met your expectations about languages. Some of them do speak Spanish too. This is really important for us to assist anyone.

We look forward seeing you soon.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The hotel is very nice, well maintained and located (not in the old part of town, but not far either). Service is good, and there are great restaurants and bars nearby.
The room is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Responsable réception at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, March 21, 2015
Bonjour Hernan G,
We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at the TRYP by Wyndham Hotel PUR. We are glad to read you enjoyed the localisation and we are delighted to know you tried some of the impressive restaurants around the area. The tapas restaurant TABLE which is located in the hotel is really nice. We would like our guests to live an unique experience in our establishment. Comfort, cleanliness and service are primordial for us. Your review proves it. The Old City is about 20 minutes by walking from the hotel. There are a bunch of activities nearby every season. It will be our pleasure to let you know about what is going on when you will come back in Québec City.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The hotel itself was very nice but when I was leaving they charged me $170 for a small little red stain on the bed. They didn't try and clean it they just charged me a stupid amount of money for it. This hotel will try and take as much money from you as possible they are the biggest scam artist ever I would never recommended this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Front Office Manager at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Dear Adam V,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, the hotel itself, its decor and its ambiance. We are really sorry that your opinion is not great as we wish. Obviously, we have a specific policy and a strict process before charging our guests. Our housekeeping manager must try to remove the spot, because we can't charge without any proof. If you were with a group or a tour, the process stays the same. We would be really open to talk with you if you think this situation is unfair.

Don't hesitate to call us. It will be our pleasure to hear from you.
Best Regards,

Vincent Martel
Front office supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Very nice hotel, great location. Rooms are on the small side. One major complaint is the lack of temperature compensating valves in the showers. Watch out when taking a shower!
Underground parking is quite expensive. Overnight parking is available at the library across the street for a fraction of the price, but not as convenient. Didn't really care for the restaurant in the hotel, but many are nearby.

Room Tip: High floors for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Responsable réception at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Dear ZappBrannigansVelour,

We thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read your review on our profile. We are glad to know you enjoyed the localisation which is really close from restaurants and bars, as you noticed. St-Joseph Street is plenty of attractions that you must see during your trip. If you need any advice on your next stay, it will be our pleasure to figure out what you could appreciate. We would like to apologize for the lack of temperature regarding valves in your shower. The maintenance department will fix this issue as soon as possible. The design of our rooms is unique and we know the size could mix opinions. We hope it was enough comfortable for you.
It will be our pleasure to greet you again on your next stay in the Old City.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The good:

Great bed, great shower pressure, lovely style, fantastic dinner, good free coffee in the lobby, nice pool, nice in-room towels.

The bad:

Insufficient staff at the front desk, not great breakfast, shower sprays onto the floor, lobby is a freezer, tv old enough that there are no HDMI inputs to watch stuff from my laptop.

The specific-to-me:

Not a heavy enough blanket, nice white noise from the in-room heater. I had a pretty view but just took whatever room they gave me. The chaise longue is a nice place to sit. Wifi is typical hotel wifi and perfectly adequate. The room has only a shower, not a bath (not a surprise).

The staff were very sympathetic and I will stay there again but go elsewhere for breakfast; there are multiple nice cafes nearby.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Responsable réception at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Bonjour jhhj,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay in our hotel. We are glad to see you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and that you used our services as much as you could. Our coffee machine is an unique service at the hotel and we promote it as an higher coffee quality served to the guests. We hope your perception is the same than ours. We are really disappointed to read about your experience in our restaurant. This is not the kind of service we would like to give to our clients. The Executive Chief will follow up with his employees and look forward about the breakfast menu. Regarding the lobby temperature, we will look if there is any possibility to shut the doors longer and more often than they are right now. We do have sensitive sensors and we will fix them. We are currently working on it. We would like to apologize if our front desk agent didn’t greet you as you wished because he was busy upon your check-in. When guests arrived at the same time, a time frame may be caused. Obviously, we are delighted to know our staff made you live an awesome experience. If you would like to get a bath into your room on your next stay, it will be a pleasure for us to request it in your reservation. Next time, don’t hesitate to let us know if you would like to get a church view or anything else. The view is magnificent and your experience will be awesome.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We went at this hotel on December 24 and 25. We really appreciated the staff, the great room and the free Espresso machine on the main floor. The hotel is close to good restaurants and shopping store. We will return at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Responsable réception at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, February 14, 2015
Bonjour Bob C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the TRYP by Wyndham Québec Hotel PUR. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your experience from the beginning until the end of your stay. It is always a pleasure to know our staff gave you an awesome service. Obviously, we hope they helped you in your decisions regarding activities to do in town or recommendations for restaurants. The Italian coffee machine is pretty unique and gives you a higher quality coffee than usual complimentary coffee inside of rooms. We hope you will try our other services on your next trip.

We wish to be your first choice on your next stay in Quebec City.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR

Address: 395 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 7X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering above downtown Quebec, Hotel PUR's sleek and sophisticated guest rooms are a lesson in savvy design. All guest rooms are outfitted with select amenities appealing to the business and leisure travelers. Guest rooms feature floor to ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the neo-Gothic Saint Roch Church, Saint Lawrence Seaway, and Orleans Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pur Hotel Quebec City
Pur Quebec City
TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.