We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, OK services, good business class hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR to your Saves list
TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   395 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 7X4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Pune
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great location, OK services, good business class hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed an entire week at the TRYP Quebec, hotel PUR.
My stay was a good one, except for a couple of small things they can work on.

Pros-
Fantastic location, Clean rooms, Aveda products in the bathrooms, minimalistic styled rooms hence less clutter.
Good coffee machine in the lobby...

What I didn't like?
The service in the restaurant at Breakfast is very slow and they're often/everyday confused about who ordered what.
I don't know if its just us because we didn't tip them the first 3 days of the stay ( tipping for breakfast is not common in India) but then again, it didn't change even after we tipped during the rest of the stay.
The restaurant has young and sweet people to serve, I only hoped they took their customers seriously and improved on delivery times.

Summary -
This is a old hotel, renovated with the new age design/"can be called Ikea" styled place.
If you are the kinds that's used to certain luxuries and are pressy about services offered, go elsewhere...
If you're going to be out/away for most part of the day and prefer being closer to old Quebec, this is an excellent hotel!
We spent our entire week trying out the many pubs and eateries around Hotel PUR and were very pleased that most of the good places (Yuzu sushi, Edwards pub, Beaurau de Post, Le Circle) were all minutes walk away!!
I will go back to Hotel TRYP when I go next to Quebec, but its mainly because of the Location.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the back side facing the church, or the front facing the city skyline... The sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Responsable réception at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear AmarTheNomad,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay in our hotel. We are glad to read you enjoyed the localisation and tried bunch of impressive restaurants around the area. We are happy to see you have been impressed by them. Our coffee machine is an unique service at the hotel and we promote it as an higher quality of coffee served to the guests. We hope your perception is the same than ours. We are very surprised about the breakfast delivery times. This is not the kind of service we would like to give to our clients. We are pleased to be informed about this situation that occurred in our restaurant. The Food & Beverage Manager will follow up with his employees. We will make sure that situation will not happen twice. All our waiters have experiences and they must care about the guest experience. This is why we chose them. We apologize if you didn’t feel it as well.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    283
    110
    46
    22
See reviews for
100
283
38
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not having traveled to that area before wasn't sure what to expect. Place was nicely located " Quaint" clean staff could not have been any Friendlier and Helpful they surely added to over all
enjoyment of visiting Quebec City.

Sincerely,
Mr. & Mrs. Ed. Yother

Room Tip: Just remember you are the quest and everything else will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Responsable réception at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bonjour MC-Traveler44,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the TRYP by Wyndham Hotel PUR. We are glad to know we made you live an awesome experience. It will be our pleasure to greet you again in the future. Our front desk agents are trained to help you in your decisions. We would like them to show you the most amazing attractions in town that you could do. We are delighted to know our employees did it well during your stay with us and that you have been positively affected by their service.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night as the location was quite convenient. Despite some worry caused by reading the reviews of less satisfied customers, I found this hotel to be a decent stay. Nice room layout and all the expected "nice hotel" amenities!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 16th floor (which was quiet), and although the view is not breathtaking, I found the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Responsable réception at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Bonjour i_got_travel_fever,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the TYRP by Wyndham Hotel PUR. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you used our facilities. We would like to offer the best products to our guests and we are delighted to know your perception about it. Thank you once again for the awesome comment on TripAdvisor. It will be our pleasure to greet you in Quebec City on your next stay.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. Make sure you have enough time for breakfast as it is table service so it can be slow. I had dinner in their restaurant and found the menu had a good variety and reasonably priced. It is more of a business hotel than a weekend away hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Responsable réception at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Bonjour Jackie T,

Thank you for this comment regarding your recent stay in our hotel. At the TRYP by Wyndham Hotel PUR, there is one thing we focus on which is your experience with our staff. We want you to be comfortable with all our employees and we want them to help you in your decisions. We are glad to hear positive comments about it. However, we will make sure the service you received in our restaurant for the breakfast won’t happen twice. We will follow up with the Food & Beverage department to find a solution as fast as we can regarding the waiting time. Your review about the meal has been told to our executive chief. He was pleased of it. Moreover, we are proud that the cleanliness of your room impressed you. It will be our pleasure to see you again in Quebec City.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall, and keeping in mind the price I paid, Pur was a great place to stay. I wanted something modern, and not too far from the Old Port, which is exactly what I got. I must agree with others who mentioned that there is some chipped paint in the halls and whatnot, but really, it did not take away from my experience.

The only thing I found a bit stressful was that everything was white, and I was a bit paranoid about spilling wine or something in the room. The only thing I did not like, was that there was no table to dine at. There was a desk, but I think it would have been preferable for a small table with two chairs so if you want to play cards, or eat, or whatever it would be a bit more comfortable.

I would recommend paying the bit extra for a good view. We stayed on the 12th floor with a view of the church for an extra $10/night. It was beautiful. FYI, the windows are floor to ceiling (people outside could see in technically, but I doubt anyone is actually there to see in, and we drew our curtains at night.)

The Old Port is on a hill, and it is a bit further than it seems on the map. We opted to walk instead of drive, which was a workout, but it's not the hotel's fault it was built on a hill. It is about a 15/20 minute walk, so if you are physically challenged drive or take a cab.

Room Tip: I would recommend paying the bit extra for a good view. We stayed on the 12th floor with a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Responsable réception at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Bonjour Amanda S,

We thank you a lot for taking the time to share your recent experience in our establishment. We would like to apologize for the wall painting. We were not aware about this issue and we will handle the situation as soon as possible. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the view on the church and that you recommend our unique product as well for our future guests. The location of the hotel gives you the opportunity to go to the Old Port which is one of the most interesting parts of the area. We wish you saw cruises and boats. There are nice restaurants around this area and you should try one of them on your next stay, if it is not done yet. We apologize if you didn't like our PUR concept with the white walls and minimalist facilities. We will keep your comments about the room set up in mind and we will follow up about what we could do to change your perception.
Thank you once again for your feedback. It will be our pleasure to greet you in Quebec City on your next stay.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labrador City, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If your into a modern look in your room, you'll like this place. If your more of a traditionalist, go across the street to the Best Western. I got this hotel on a blind buy on Priceline. I was a little mortified at first. But I gave it a shot. I needed to change to two double beds and the called a month ahead. The manager was really nice and did it for half price when I told her it was my first time staying there.
When we arrived, the staff were really friendly. Large underground secure parking. Rooms are pretty much all white but large and comfortable. The hallways are dark but who really cares about the hallways. The gym is pretty good and the pool is awesome, as is the sauna.

The hotel is only 10-15 minute walk up a hill to Old Quebec. I had originally read people say its too far a walk and it's hard. Those people really need to exercise more. It's not that bad at all. And if it's winter and really cold, it's no more that a 5-10 cab ride.

Price was more than reasonable as it was a blind buy but i've looked online since and the prices were still great. The rooms are nice and clean. Beds are comfortable. Staff is great and the free espresso machine in the lobby pretty much got me hooked on the stuff!

Only negative thing is the pool is closed from 12pm to 5 pm.
So if you don't mind the walk to Old Quebec, this is a great hotel. If you rather not have the walk or unfortunately have a health issue, you should stay in Old Quebec.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors. Stay away from the second floor and surrounding floors as thats where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Responsable réception at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Bonjour Steve M,

Thank you for your awesome comments regarding your recent stay at the TRYP by Wyndham Hotel PUR. We are delighted to know you appreciate the modern hotel decor and the comfort of our equipments. We are very proud of our location and we hope you had an incredible view from your room. If you didn’t, you should ask for a Tryp or a Sky room with a view on the church on your next stay with us. This is our most popular room type. We are located in the middle of everything. Twenty minutes from the Old City and twenty minutes from the Upper Town by walking. The way to go to those places shows you old buildings and amazing landscapes depending of your direction. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our services including our Italian coffee machine. Our pool is the biggest hotel pool in town. Obviously, you may be sure that we will forward your comment to the right department about the pool schedule. Something will be made about it. We would like to give an unique experience to our guests by our staff performance. We hope our staff assisted you in your decisions and they gave you advices about restaurants, bars, activities and place you must go in town. The Hotel PUR’s managers are always there for you and we are pleased to read you have seen it.

Thank you once again for your feedback. It will be our pleasure to greet you on your next stay in Quebec City.

PURely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here September 2014 with my wife and my in laws. The available valet parking was very nice in this busy city. We enjoyed the views of the cathedral across from the hotel. There are great views of the region from the upper floors of the hotel. The hotel is clean and modern. The feel was very modern European. The entire room and bathroom were well appointed. I would recommend anyone to stay here. I have stayed in Quebec City many time and enjoyed this hotel. It is a different feel from the old city. I would recommend asking for an upper floor.

We had dinner in the onsite restaurant and it was delicious. I would recommend.

There is plenty of great shopping nearby.

It was a 20 minute walk to the Old City for the Art Walk that we had done that evening. The galleries are open late and had the artists creating.

Room Tip: Upper floor for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Responsable réception at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Bonjour 15Fathoms,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the TRYP by Wyndham Hotel PUR. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Quebec City. As you noticed, we offer valet service in our parking lot on the rate of $26 per night. According to your review, you probably stayed in one of our SKY rooms with a view on the church. We are very proud of our various views and we agree about your advice for the height. Our rooms are minimalist and we are delighted you liked it. We hope you used the mini-bar in your room. The location of the hotel is really appreciated by our guests. We have an amazing chance to get all these stores all around the hotels. Stores give you the opportunity to find out new products. Restaurants are pretty nice and various in the area. However, our restaurant TABLE is unique in Quebec City for its tapas. We are glad to know you tasted bunch of them as well.

Thank you once again for your awesome feedback. It will be our pleasure to greet you on your next stay in Quebec City.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR

Address: 395 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 7X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering above downtown Quebec, Hotel PUR's sleek and sophisticated guest rooms are a lesson in savvy design. All guest rooms are outfitted with select amenities appealing to the business and leisure travelers. Guest rooms feature floor to ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the neo-Gothic Saint Roch Church, Saint Lawrence Seaway, and Orleans Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pur Hotel Quebec City
Pur Quebec City
TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.